Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

IDG A32X Development Archive - Closed

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Octal450 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:01 am

Yes, there was a rudder issue which I just fixed today.

NOTE: NOT ALL ILS in FGFS SUPPORTS AUTOLAND! Alot of them turn away or go away at the last second, making autoland impossible.

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby zacarias » Tue Jun 13, 2017 7:31 am

it0uchpods wrote in Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:01 am:Yes, there was a rudder issue which I just fixed today.

NOTE: NOT ALL ILS in FGFS SUPPORTS AUTOLAND! Alot of them turn away or go away at the last second, making autoland impossible.

Kind Regards,
Josh

Yes, I know! But I'm talking about airports where it worked before. I use always the same airports for testing.
FG 2017.3.1
LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon 64-bit
Processor AMD A8-6600K
Graphics Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti
zacarias
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Octal450 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:22 pm

Yes, there was a bug with the rudder. It has been corrected now.

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby zacarias » Tue Jun 13, 2017 7:26 pm

I'm sorry, but it's still doing the same thing: it begins to roll when approaching the runway. When it touches down it's out of control.
FG 2017.3.1
LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon 64-bit
Processor AMD A8-6600K
Graphics Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti
zacarias
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Octal450 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 7:30 pm

Please provide a screenrecording or FGTAPE.

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby zacarias » Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:52 pm

it0uchpods wrote in Tue Jun 13, 2017 7:30 pm:Please provide a screenrecording or FGTAPE.

Kind Regards,
Josh


Actually, I tried to reproduce the scenario twice at LPPR (one of the airports where it failed before) but there was no rolling this time. But, as you can see, the rudder is quite delicate. There was also a problem with the brakes failing after I deactivated the thrust reversers. I ended up at the end of the runway, only after forcing brakes by applying the parking break. Here's the video: https://youtu.be/-wvauUohi3Q
FG 2017.3.1
LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon 64-bit
Processor AMD A8-6600K
Graphics Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti
zacarias
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Octal450 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:05 am

Hi,
I again improved the rudder multiple times today, maybe that is why?

PLEASE: wait for RETARD callout to idle throttle! Autoland will be much smoother! The FMGC calculates the best point for the throttles to be idled, and the calls RETARD when this happens. (8-14ft AGL)!!! if you got to slow, that may cause the rolling also, as all protections are disabled when AP is on (AP will disconnect under low IAS soon).

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby zacarias » Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:11 am

Yes, myabe that's what happened before.
Last edited by Johan G on Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please do not quote the entire preceding post; it is already just above yours.
FG 2017.3.1
LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon 64-bit
Processor AMD A8-6600K
Graphics Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti
zacarias
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Jun 14, 2017 3:14 pm

Just changed the PFD colours:
Image

And here is a "proof-of-concept" for the overhead panel markings: this is a font closer to the real overhead panel font.
Image
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7776
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby swm » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:54 pm

zacarias wrote in Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:11 am:
it0uchpods wrote in Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:05 am:Hi,
I again improved the rudder multiple times today, maybe that is why?

PLEASE: wait for RETARD callout to idle throttle! Autoland will be much smoother! The FMGC calculates the best point for the throttles to be idled, and the calls RETARD when this happens. (8-14ft AGL)!!! if you got to slow, that may cause the rolling also, as all protections are disabled when AP is on (AP will disconnect under low IAS soon).

Kind Regards,
Josh


Yes, myabe that's what happened before.


I tried autoland 3 times using a build from yesterday morning (GMT). I ran into trouble all times, two times veering of the runway.
Looking at the replay I could see that the autopilot commanded max rudder deflections first right then left just around "flare" The impact of a max deflection at flare is well beyond my capability as a pilot :oops: I will try the latest version soon
swm
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 11:00 am

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby zacarias » Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:53 pm

In the last version(s) there were some changes in the way you have to click on the knobs to activate the different AP modes. Which ones? I already found some, but probably not all.
FG 2017.3.1
LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon 64-bit
Processor AMD A8-6600K
Graphics Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti
zacarias
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Octal450 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:05 pm

@swm @zacarias
I just tested the autoland at some more airports -- YES IT IS WRONG! I am working on the fix now!

@swm
That is not possible, the rudder VOR/LOC trk is limited to 0.2 each way -- full rudder 1.0 each way.

@zacarias
No, they work the same.

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby zacarias » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:27 pm

it0uchpods wrote in Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:05 pm:@swm @zacarias
@zacarias
No, they work the same.


Please, double-check it if you can, especially the vertical modes (when clicking on the altitude knob).
Also, there's something wrong with the rudder. When applying breaks it begins turning completely left. At least after landing. I'm not sure if it does the same before take-off.
FG 2017.3.1
LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon 64-bit
Processor AMD A8-6600K
Graphics Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti
zacarias
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Octal450 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:17 pm

PUSH ALT KNB: CLB/DES (Managed), PULL ALT KNB: OP CLB/OP DES

If you do not set up routemanager, it will use OP CLB and OP DES no matterwhat.

There is a known issue with the nose wheel not be effective enough. That might be why. In your video, only one reverser opened. THAT IS STRANGE???????

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby zacarias » Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:41 pm

it0uchpods wrote in Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:17 pm:
There is a known issue with the nose wheel not be effective enough. That might be why.

Josh


I don't think so. In previous versions the problem didn't exist. Now it clearly and completely shifts to the left side if we apply brakes.
FG 2017.3.1
LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon 64-bit
Processor AMD A8-6600K
Graphics Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti
zacarias
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:06 am

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Applebot [Bot], Google [Bot] and 3 guests