Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Octal450 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 4:32 am

Finally after 3 monthes of hard work, I am proud to present IT-AUTOFLIGHT: AUTOLAND

Here it is on the KC-137R:

Don't mind my jittery joystick when I engage the reversers
Thanks to GabrielYV for helping with testing, moral support, etc

Of course, it's not perfect, I will continue to tweak it in the future.

My MD-88, MD-90, and the A340s have also been fitted with autolanding. The KC-137R does it the best, probably since Mark made an extremely realistic FDM (its a slightly modified 707 one)

Best of luck to all,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby berkut » Sun Oct 16, 2016 7:49 am

After seeing this,i have decided to leave FG. I'm aware that some planes will never reach this level.

Regards.
A winner is a dreamer who never gives up...
berkut
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:58 pm
Location: Banja Luka,Republic of Srpska.
Callsign: Berkut
Version: 2017 3 1
OS: Windows 7

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Thorsten » Sun Oct 16, 2016 8:41 am

Sounds like quite an achievement :-)
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11747
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Octal450 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 1:10 pm

@berkut
Why?
The reason my planes can now autoland and be this complex etc is because I work on them at least 2 hours almost every day for the last 7 months

With enough time and work, anything can become this advanced.

@Thorsten
It is yeah, but I'm happy its done.
Time for rollout work.

Also you may notice the VNAV and CWS buttons are present but disabled. Thats next.
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Thorsten » Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:36 pm

Out of curiosity - how is it done technically? Nasal script writing directly into the control properties? The video shows the controls moving a lot - so does it require you to not touch anything?

Does it deal with crosswinds as well?
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11747
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Octal450 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 7:05 pm

The controls only move alot when I took over when the gears touch down.

The yoke moved alot because my joystick was not calibrated properly, and is slightly damaged.

It basically works like this:

50ft most G/S stops working good, so at that alt gear-agl-ft, I use a special V/S controller (separate from normal V/S) which takes the command from an internal prop, that is not accessible to the pilot.
It is set to -500, and the plane maintains that through out the align phase.

On 50ft, the target touchdown rate is -150fpm, the V/S controller has been setup to have a slow steady correcting curve, which happens when the autothrottle (or in case of the A340, the pilot) retards the throttle to idle. If the throttle is left in, the flare happens around 10-5ft due to I don't know. But it works.

Notice how the annunciator changed: THRUST changed to RETARD when the A/THR goes to IDLE, and G/S changes to FLARE when the V/S curve starts. I have improved it to make the landing smoother, now it goes from G/S to LAND first, so Land mode is engaged first, and holds the V/S longer, to keep the aircraft more stable for the pitch mode, and then to FLARE when the custom V/S takes over. I also made the A/THR wait before disengaging until the gears touch down, so that a pilot input (or joystick issue) won't break autoland.

As for the roll, it doesn't work with crosswinds yet. I only touched Pitch and Thrust modes. I am currently working on a system that will at 50ft, level the wings, and use the rudder to stay on LOC. Right now it just follows the LOC down with ailerons.

I waited to add in the rudder system because it is tied to the rollout phase, which is separate, and not finished yet. it's still a WIP.

Because it's designed to work on many aircrafts, I didn't set a pitch directly, since it's different for different aircraft, landing weights, conditions, etc. So I use a target touchdown V/S.

EDIT: See these two files:
https://github.com/it0uchpods/IT-AUTOFL ... flight.xml
https://github.com/it0uchpods/IT-AUTOFL ... flight.nas

Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Upkeep » Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:37 pm

This sounds great. I downloaded the KC-137R and tried it out. The problem I had was getting LNAV to follow the route. It kept following the heading setting despite NAV being engaged. Thought it might be a flight planning problem and tried the route out in another aircraft and it followed route ok. Not sure what I am doing wrong. Had AP and FD on. Clearly I am missing something. Would be grateful for some advice. Thanks a lot. All the best. Upkeep
Upkeep
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Octal450 » Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:11 pm

Yes.
You are the 4th person whose today told me of this bug. I'm checking it out as we speak.

EDIT: Found the issue. I'll let you know when the push is out.
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Upkeep » Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:15 pm

Thank you very much for letting me know. I am relieved it was not just me. Thanks again. All the best. Upkeep
Upkeep
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Octal450 » Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:25 pm

OK, It should be fixed. I've pushed the lot of planes. Do you mind to try it now?

Planning to port IT-AUTOFLIGHT: AUTOLAND to the tikibar's MD-11 AP system soon.

Best,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Upkeep » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:47 am

Works fine now. Thank you very much for sorting this out so quickly. All the best Upkeep.
Upkeep
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Octal450 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:00 pm

@Upkeep
No problem, thanks for the bug report.

Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby berkut » Tue Oct 18, 2016 5:59 pm

A340-300...LNAV doesn't work...
A winner is a dreamer who never gives up...
berkut
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:58 pm
Location: Banja Luka,Republic of Srpska.
Callsign: Berkut
Version: 2017 3 1
OS: Windows 7

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby Octal450 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:21 pm

Already fixed it. 23hrs ago.
Redownload.
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Full autoland in action!

Postby berkut » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:01 pm

downloaded just a few hours a go.
A winner is a dreamer who never gives up...
berkut
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:58 pm
Location: Banja Luka,Republic of Srpska.
Callsign: Berkut
Version: 2017 3 1
OS: Windows 7

Next

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests