Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Erickson S-64 Aircrane anyone?

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrane anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Fri Nov 22, 2019 4:50 pm

OK, I want to fake the startup sequence of the APP using a combination of nasal and/or autopilot and/or prop rules. I need to produce RPM as it winds up to 100%

I have a vague idea how I might approach it but I am wondering if there is already a convenient method available . Any suggestions as to the best approach (keeping in mind YASim as limiting factor)? I see no way to do it through the YASim api so I think I am stuck with nasal. What I don't know is what all may be available with prop rules or autopilot.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5079
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrane anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Sat Dec 07, 2019 4:55 am

I'm trying to reverse helicopter controls for roll and pitch when in the engineer seat. I am using an autopilot filter to multiply the control property by -1.

It appears to work well for pitch but not so good for roll, roll seems to be less responsive to a point it is not controllable.
Is there a better way to do this or am I possibly missing something?

This is YASim.

The control inputs to the CYCLICAIL and CYCLICELE are...

Code: Select all
<control-input control="CYCLICAIL"  axis="/controls/flight/aileron-trim-actual" split="true"/>
<control-input control="CYCLICAIL"  axis="/controls/flight/fcs/roll-actual" src0="-1.0" src1="1.0" dst0="-1.0" dst1="1.0"/>
     
<control-input control="CYCLICELE"  axis="/controls/flight/elevator-trim-actual" split="true"/>
<control-input control="CYCLICELE"  axis="/controls/flight/fcs/pitch-actual" src0="-1.0" src1="1.0" dst0="-1.0" dst1=" 1.0"/>


The filters are...
Code: Select all
    <filter>
        <name>engineer-control-pitch</name>
        <type>gain</type>
        <input>
            <condition>
                <equals>
                    <property>/sim/current-view/view-number</property>
                    <value>9</value>
                </equals>
            </condition>
            <expression>
                <product>
                    <property>/controls/flight/fcs/pitch</property>
                    <value>-1</value>
                </product>
            </expression>
        </input>
        <input>
            <condition>
                <not>
                    <equals>
                        <property>/sim/current-view/view-number</property>
                        <value>9</value>
                    </equals>
                </not>
            </condition>
            <property>/controls/flight/fcs/pitch</property>
        </input>
        <output>
            <property>/controls/flight/fcs/pitch-actual</property>
        </output>
    </filter>

    <filter>
        <name>engineer-control-pitch-trim</name>
        <type>gain</type>
        <input>
            <condition>
                <equals>
                    <property>/sim/current-view/view-number</property>
                    <value>9</value>
                </equals>
            </condition>
            <expression>
                <product>
                    <property>/controls/flight/elevator-trim</property>
                    <value>-1</value>
                </product>
            </expression>
        </input>
        <input>
            <condition>
                <not>
                    <equals>
                        <property>/sim/current-view/view-number</property>
                        <value>9</value>
                    </equals>
                </not>
            </condition>
            <property>/controls/flight/elevator-trim</property>
        </input>
        <output>
            <property>/controls/flight/elevator-trim-actual</property>
        </output>
    </filter>

    <filter>
        <name>engineer-control-roll</name>
        <type>gain</type>
        <input>
            <condition>
                <equals>
                    <property>/sim/current-view/view-number</property>
                    <value>9</value>
                </equals>
            </condition>
            <expression>
                <product>
                    <property>/controls/flight/fcs/roll</property>
                    <value>-1</value>
                </product>
            </expression>
        </input>
        <input>
            <condition>
                <not>
                    <equals>
                        <property>/sim/current-view/view-number</property>
                        <value>9</value>
                    </equals>
                </not>
            </condition>
            <property>/controls/flight/fcs/roll</property>
        </input>
        <output>
            <property>/controls/flight/fcs/roll-actual</property>
        </output>
    </filter>

    <filter>
        <name>engineer-control-roll-trim</name>
        <type>gain</type>
        <input>
            <condition>
                <equals>
                    <property>/sim/current-view/view-number</property>
                    <value>9</value>
                </equals>
            </condition>
            <expression>
                <product>
                    <property>/controls/flight/aileron-trim</property>
                    <value>-1</value>
                </product>
            </expression>
        </input>
        <input>
            <condition>
                <not>
                    <equals>
                        <property>/sim/current-view/view-number</property>
                        <value>9</value>
                    </equals>
                </not>
            </condition>
            <property>/controls/flight/aileron-trim</property>
        </input>
        <output>
            <property>/controls/flight/aileron-trim-actual</property>
        </output>
    </filter>


At first, I tried it without reversing the trim properties and thought maybe that was the issue, but that didn't seem to help.

Also I reasoned the yaw property didn't require reversing?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5079
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrane anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:54 am

I've been working on a few different areas for the AirCrane.
Cleaning up the cargo hauling portion. There were several bugs that crept into the code over the last year or so. It now back to a solid working order. The stacking is working again, cable winch is correct again, no more nasal error when changing airports. It's still to be considered a proof of concept version, but none the less is functional and quite fun to play with.
I've added a joystick helper for autostart and a winch. I can post a js config file for anyone that may want to use it. Among other things, it gives you the ability to capture or detach cargo using a couple buttons on the T.16000, adds autostart and FOV to the TWCS control. Using the joystick and config really enhances the cargo stacking ability as well as simply controlling and flying the AirCrane.
I also pushed a compositor branch to the dev repository.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5079
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrane anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:01 am

I pushed a 24000lb HVAC unit to the cargo hauling capability, cargo 37. It's pushing the limits of the AirCrane hauling capacity. A fun mission is to start at 6N5 in Manhattan, place the HVAC near the heli pad and try to haul it to the top of one of the largest, flat roofed skyscrapers you can see and place it there. The difficult part is doing it gracefully. 24000lbs is a lot of weight. It takes the AirCrane to the edge of its capability. I was using "real weather" the couple times I tried it .I was successful both times, but I am sure I would have been fired if the boss saw how I handled the load.



Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5079
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrane anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:25 am

A new spin on cargo hauling. It took a bit to figure out how to range a self propelled or moving cargo in the cargo code. I am trying to figure out how to seamlessly add any property tree accessible models to the cargo towing capabilities. I think I figured out one fairly graceful way. But it required working around some interesting challenges.

Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5079
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrane anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:31 am

The cargo selection dialog got a facelift so you can scroll and see which model your selecting in advance and also you can now select and position any AI scenario models introduced into the scene using the normal scenario mechanism.
The AirCrane can connect to and haul any of these models as well. It's not perfected yet, I don't have the rope dynamics running outside of the cargo model animation routines yet.
For the AI scenario models to be added to the cargo dialog you need to use the command line switch to introduce their xml code prior to launch. Eventually I plan to add a switch to the cargo gui to refill its model list with any AI scenarios subsequently started by AI scenario gui selection post startup.

I also allow cargo to be dropped when not on the ground so you can move boats a round and set them back down on the water. I still have to create some cargo falling animation algorithms to make it look right. But the AirCrane in RL does have the "emergency" release, so it is an option that needs to be realistically created. I could use what I did in the past and turn the cargo into a submodel and use "ballistics" but that introduces a whole new layer I want to avoid.

I haven't pushed any of this yet. The first repository branch I plan to push this to will be the compositor branch.

Image
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5079
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrane anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Jan 22, 2020 4:52 pm

Warning!

If you pull any new development for any branch of the AirCrane, for now, I suggest you clear the existing aircraft-data cache before running it in the sim for the first time.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5079
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Previous

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests