Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby tdammers » Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:17 pm

Maybe I can dig in and see if I can figure it out...
tdammers
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:35 am
Callsign: NL256
IRC name: nl256

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby Oswald » Wed Sep 05, 2018 8:47 pm

I can confirm tdammers' experience with the two canvas windows. The way I deal with it is making my choices, closing the window and pushing the remaining empty window in the lower left edge of the screen where it nearly vanishes for good. That is before your corrections, D-ECHO, haven't tried out the changes.

Oswald
Oswald
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:29 pm

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby it0uchpods » Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:53 am

HI guys,
I'm looking into it, will let you know.

Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3567
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby massima » Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:01 pm

I get this:

Code: Select all
........
Cannot find property-rule configuration file 'Aircraft/Q400/Systems/pfd.xml'.
Cannot find property-rule configuration file 'Aircraft/Q400/Systems/MFD.xml'.
Cannot find property-rule configuration file 'Aircraft/Q400/Systems/model.xml'.
FGPropertyManager::GetNode() No node found for /velocities/groundspeed-kt

In file /media/attila/back_up/flightgear/Q400-jsb/Systems/q400-fcs.xml: line 345

  [b]IndependentVar property, /velocities/groundspeed-kt in Table definition is not defined. [/b]                       
                                                         

Aircraft system element has problems in file Path "/media/attila/back_up/flightgear/Q400-jsb/q400-jsb.xml"
Unknown exception in the main loop. Aborting...
Possible cause: File o directory non esistente
Errore di segmentazione

User avatar
massima
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 6:48 pm
Location: Italy
Callsign: M-AXX
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: debian testing

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:04 pm

The folder should be named Q400 - not Q400-jsb.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 5815
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby D-ECHO » Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:28 pm

Yup... this may be the problem
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby tdammers » Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:02 pm

It probably is. The Q400 has all sorts of references to files that include the `Aircraft/Q400` directory; if you change that, it goes wrong. It gets even more hilarious when you have the original Q400 (as found in FGADDON) installed via the launcher; then the new Q400 will take some of its files from the old one, and of course that goes spectacularly wrong.

Ideally, aircraft shouldn't need to do this, and I've seen more subtle bugs caused by this, like an aircraft originally derived from something else, and still retaining paths to the old directory, and as long as you have the right versions of both installed, everything works, but then when you remove the other aircraft, the one that accidentally depends on it breaks.
tdammers
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:35 am
Callsign: NL256
IRC name: nl256

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby massima » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:11 pm

Thanks, the name was the problem.
User avatar
massima
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 6:48 pm
Location: Italy
Callsign: M-AXX
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: debian testing

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby it0uchpods » Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:36 pm

Hello Oswald, and others.

Sorry for the so long delay. I made HUGE improvements to aerodynamics, now you should be able to takeoff/land at proper speeds... I had the wrong impression of the speeds when I designed it before.. sorry for that.

Best Regards,
Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3567
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby Oswald » Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:16 pm

Hi Josh,

there is certainly no reason whatsoever to apologize for any delay, at least I had many good hours with the aircraft. The more I am looking forward to the new development, just downloading :) Thank you and D-ECHO for carrying on with development!

Oswald


... a few minutes later: Having said that, unfortunately the fuel and payload dialogue fails me: It opens as a single window and can neither be changed nor closed. What to do?
I had not downloaded the last changes dealing with fuel and payload as the old version had worked for me.
Oswald
Oswald
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:29 pm

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby Oswald » Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:53 pm

Hi,

I simply took the "new" Q400 and exchanged the gui/dialogs bit to that of the old one and everything worked fine. Smooth start, landing with adequate speed and AoA, no unsuspected stalling.

Thank you!
Oswald
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:29 pm

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby it0uchpods » Sat Sep 29, 2018 2:07 am

Sounds great!

Thanks,
Josh

PS: We continue to look into the weird dialogs.
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3567
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby tdammers » Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:21 pm

Just a quick heads-up; I'm still experiencing problems with the "Fuel and Payload" dialog; just pulled the latest version from D-ECHO and compiled the latest version of the 2018.3 branch of both FG and SimGear, also pulled in the corresponding FGDATA. The dialog opens fine, but remains completely unresponsive, none of the widget works, and I cannot close it. The log says that "_widget" doesn't exist.
tdammers
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:35 am
Callsign: NL256
IRC name: nl256

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby Oswald » Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:33 pm

Back to my posting from Sep 05: In the previous version of the gui/dialogs bit I was able to make my choices and plunged the remaining nasal window in a far corner where I can hardly see it. After the recent updates of FDM I rechanged the gui/dialogs to the previous version and it works as before.
I did have the same problem with the last update of the payload dialog, so maybe it might be a good idea to undo the latest update of this.
Oswald
Oswald
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:29 pm

Re: Bombardier Q400 v1.0

Postby it0uchpods » Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:04 am

I'm going to put the old one back for now. It's too far messed up at the moment.

Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3567
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Previous

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests