Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby someguy » Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:36 pm

Erik, are you ready to share your model with the rest of us yet? URL, please?
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby Thorsten » Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:40 pm

You're probably trying to use it in ALS where bumpspec isn't defined - it's deprecated. You should be using model-combined-deferred.eff instead (which is what we use for models in all rendering frameworks) and activate the normal mapping - see

Docs/model-combined.eff/README.model-combined.eff

for the documentation.

(I can do it if you don't want to bother - I assume the normal maps etc. are pushed?)

Erik, are you ready to share your model with the rest of us yet? URL, please?


Just check it out from the FGAddon repository.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10587
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby bugman » Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:42 pm

Like all of Erik's awesome work, you can find it directly in FGAddon. You'll find it under trunk/Aircraft/Pterosaur. To download, see the wiki link FGAddon#Obtaining_aircraft.

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby erik » Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:43 pm

Thorsten wrote in Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:40 pm:You're probably trying to use it in ALS where bumpspec isn't defined - it's deprecated. You should be using model-combined-deferred.eff instead (which is what we use for models in all rendering frameworks) and activate the normal mapping - see

Docs/model-combined.eff/README.model-combined.eff

for the documentation.

I'm already using model-combined-deferred.eff based on the c172p example.

(I can do it if you don't want to bother - I assume the normal maps etc. are pushed?)

That would be nice, I'm kind of stuck. The normal map is pushed as body_normal.png

Erik
erik
 
Posts: 1516
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:41 pm

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:27 pm

erik, unless Thorsten has already fixed it, it looks like your bumpmap working to me.

Image
Image
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby Thorsten » Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:52 pm

You were pretty much there - except you actually do need the tangent and binormal generation part for a normal map.

To download, see the wiki link FGAddon#Obtaining_aircraft.


Though, make sure you run a current FGData - all the wing flap effect is actually realized there since I think it is potentially more general than just this model. So you need current FG 3.7 to see the model do anything.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10587
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:57 pm

For those that haven't grabbed everything necessary to see this incredible work,
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:21 pm

Absolutely AMAZING. I'm scared. All it needs is a reverse-afterburner to act as flames!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6631
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby bugman » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:29 pm

Try the f key. Thorsten's already modelled some dragon fire. The question is though, how do you model dragon fire damage in other aircraft?

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby Thorsten » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:35 pm

The question is though, how do you model dragon fire damage in other aircraft?


Not sure. I think I do know how to make it start a wildfire though... :-)

@wlbragg: Try 'f' for some flame - or 'w' to sweep wings back for a steep dive for the next movie. I actually took it off from Grand Canyon and made it dive down towards the Colorado - it's incredible good fun/
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10587
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:38 pm

Righto!
Just seeing if git svn clone works.
I must say this is one amazing thing :D

(I have it from FGMEMBERS, but it does not seem to be updated to the latest FGADDON status yet).

Sounds good fun, Thorsten :D
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6631
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby bugman » Wed Nov 11, 2015 5:11 pm

Just replace svn co with git svn clone in the instructions at FGAddon#Download for obtaining aircraft.

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 11, 2015 5:32 pm

This is the coolest thing. I can't even imagine where it goes from here.

Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby MIG29pilot » Wed Nov 11, 2015 5:40 pm

That is stunning. Just pity it wasn't in time for FSWeekend.
User avatar
MIG29pilot
 
Posts: 1454
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: 6 feet under Snow
Callsign: MIG29pilot
Version: 3.7nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby Thorsten » Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:07 pm

I don't think people would readily appreciate that this runs on real flight dynamics and isn't just an arcade mode... So hardly an impact on FSWeekend...
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10587
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests