Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Bush planes

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Bush planes

Postby LesterBoffo » Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:02 am

No you definitely want to be doctoring the YAsim .xml. the -set file does nothing about ground contacts and LG bogey contacts. I'd be looking at anything in the fuselage dimensions that might be 'dragging' on the ground.
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2129
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win10 Pro

Re: Bush planes

Postby MountainFlyerN22 » Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:08 am

OK.... I see.....

Will look for that too.
Thanks for the pointer.
User avatar
MountainFlyerN22
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:17 pm
Callsign: N22
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7 Pro.

Re: Bush planes

Postby MountainFlyerN22 » Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:13 am

I fixed it in a earlier attempt at fixing it,just don't remember what I did.
So now I have to figure it out again.
User avatar
MountainFlyerN22
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:17 pm
Callsign: N22
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7 Pro.

Re: Bush planes

Postby wlbragg » Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:21 am

@MountainFlyerN22,

Sorry, that was a typo on my part. I was referring to kodiak.xml, not kodiak-set.xml. The gear locations are in kodiak.xml, however they don't look correct according to Blender positions after I imported it.

I briefly tried to adjust them but wasn't able to take enough time to figure out exactly what was wrong.

One thing I noticed that took more time to debug, it seems like the debug/reload aircraft model doesn't reset YASIM gear positions like JSBSIM does. I had to restart FG each time I mad a simple adjustment.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Bush planes

Postby LesterBoffo » Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:24 pm

Whenever I set up an aircraft for FG I go through the initial FDM by opening the FDM.xml in Notepad++ and the FG model in AC3D to make a good check on where the model's parts match the FDM's. IIRC you can also do this in Blender.
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2129
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win10 Pro

Re: Bush planes

Postby MountainFlyerN22 » Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:54 pm

Fixed it! Thanks! :D
Would help me if I change the z numbers not the the x one :oops: :oops:

Updated the download file.
User avatar
MountainFlyerN22
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:17 pm
Callsign: N22
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7 Pro.

Re: Bush planes

Postby MountainFlyerN22 » Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:34 pm

Added Directional Gyro to Kodiak.
User avatar
MountainFlyerN22
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:17 pm
Callsign: N22
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7 Pro.

Re: Bush planes

Postby wlbragg » Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:18 pm

Good news, we have similar likes when it comes to aircraft types.

Don't be to :oops: by mixing up the coords. I did the same thing when i first attempted to troubleshoot the Kodiak.

Was it just the z, x were OK?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Bush planes

Postby MountainFlyerN22 » Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:32 pm

Yep, it was the Z coords,the X was fine.
User avatar
MountainFlyerN22
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:17 pm
Callsign: N22
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7 Pro.

Re: Bush planes

Postby MountainFlyerN22 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 2:26 am

Added a 4x4 Suzuki.
User avatar
MountainFlyerN22
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:17 pm
Callsign: N22
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7 Pro.

Re: Bush planes

Postby ausdkunst » Wed Sep 02, 2015 10:54 am

The wheels do not rotate when the car moves.
Last edited by Johan G on Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No useless quoting please. There is no need to quote the entire preceding post.
BULLDOG RS (The No.1 place for Flightgear automobile): https://bulldogrs.wordpress.com/
User avatar
ausdkunst
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:47 am
Callsign: bulldog
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Bush planes

Postby MountainFlyerN22 » Thu Sep 03, 2015 3:32 am

That's because when I increased the tire size,the point the tires rotate on changed,and until I get it right I disabled the spin. Otherwise the tires are on a eccentric.https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eccentric_%28mechanism%29
User avatar
MountainFlyerN22
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:17 pm
Callsign: N22
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7 Pro.

Re: Bush planes

Postby SP-K79 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 3:01 pm

wow you did a great job.

I've been waiting for such aircraft for a long time, as have other I believe.

Thank you. : )
Hue Peter Coal
JAFVA, Vice President
"Never fly where you have not flown in your mind, five minutes age."
User avatar
SP-K79
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:23 pm
Callsign: SP-K79
Version: 3.2.0

Re: Bush planes

Postby SP-K79 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:38 pm

Again great job guys.

I have a problem of a square grey tile under the aircraft. It goes away when Rembrandt is enabled however, I can not run Rembrandt due to hardware limitations as FG becomes choppy to the point of not being usable even when all the options are off in Rembrandt menu. This is an issue for me with both the Bush Cub and the Turbo Cub. In the Bush Cub all the windows are greyed out as well, due to Rembrandt I think. Could these two issues on these planes be fixed for us users not able to run Rembrandt (I know it's not only me).

PA 20 for some reason has no instruments in the dash or engine sound. Similarly to the Turbo 170 has no engine sound and the six engine instruments are all not functioning.

And last but not least, I am unable to launch the C170BW. I have tried changing the directory name from "c170 2" to "c170BW" but with no luck.

I am very sorry to be such a nuisance. Bush planes are my favourite especially the CUB and PA20/22. Please help. :?
Hue Peter Coal
JAFVA, Vice President
"Never fly where you have not flown in your mind, five minutes age."
User avatar
SP-K79
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:23 pm
Callsign: SP-K79
Version: 3.2.0

Re: Bush planes

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 7:46 pm

@SP-K79are you (still?) using FGFS 3.2 as your profile indicates?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5993
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests