Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Piper Archer CX

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby D-ABBA » Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:50 am

Hi onox,
Hi zlsa,

Have renamed the piper archer-folder. Pulled with the result "Already up-to-date".
The same problem as described above. Using OS windows7 (wizzard to startup FGFS) and version git 3.5.0.

Thank you for your help. :? Oooh.... I read other user has the same problem :?:

D-ABBA

Piper Archer, C172p detailed, Extra 500
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby abassign » Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:29 pm

Also I have tried to rename the folder, but not visible from fgrun on Linux Ubuntu. I can not understand where the problem lies!
abassign
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: Italy (living 5 Km from airport LIME)
Callsign: I-BASSY
Version: 2018.3
OS: Linux Mint 19. x

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby zlsa » Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:59 pm

I'm not sure what would cause this -- if the directory structure looks like this:

Aircraft > piper-archer > piper-archer-cx-set.xml

then it should work properly.
zlsa
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:29 am
Callsign: N275A
Version: 3.5 git
OS: Linux

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby abassign » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:19 am

Image

As you look, the folder is complete, I think that the problem is different, but I do not know how fgrum recognize the data to insert the tag in the airplane selection list :(
abassign
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: Italy (living 5 Km from airport LIME)
Callsign: I-BASSY
Version: 2018.3
OS: Linux Mint 19. x

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby wlbragg » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:31 am

While I didn't go through the entire set.xml file, I did look at the beginning of it for obvious errors. My guess is that somewhere in the set.xml there is a tag pair problem or some other error that is keeping it from being read by fgrun. Someone probably needs to go through the set.xml with a fine toothed comb.

OK, I narowed it down to the call to include="piper-archer-common.xml", as soon as you remove that line it shows up. So it must be something in piper-archer-common.xml. Really narrows it down eh?

OK, found it.

It is <checklists include="Checklists/checklists.xml"/> in piper-archer-common.xml which is killing it.

the specific problem is in checklists.xml, remove Checklists/ from the path to before-start.xml as in

<checklist include="before-start.xml"></checklist>
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5643
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby D-ABBA » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:53 am

Hi zlsa,

Unfortunately, I'm unable to continue. Even in the version 3.4.0 the same problem.
I'm glad the previous version (piper-archer-cx) still works. Do I use this now. Please give me a message when the problem is solved.

Looking forward to it.

D-ABBA

(you made a good job) :D
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby wlbragg » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:55 am

D-ABBA, see the post prior to your last post.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5643
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby D-ABBA » Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:18 am

Hi wlbragg, Hi zlsa.

Top. I have commented out in piper-archer-common.xml the line:

<!-- <Checklists include = "Checklists / checklists.xml" /> -->

The fact is -> piper-archer is visible in the wizzard.

Thanks for your support :D

D-ABBA
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby zlsa » Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:53 pm

It works perfectly here with that tag either present or commented out. I've commented it out and pushed to master and packed a new release; if those work, please reply here.
zlsa
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:29 am
Callsign: N275A
Version: 3.5 git
OS: Linux

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby abassign » Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:47 pm

Image

@D-ABBA

Remove <Checklists include = "Checklists / checklists.xml" /> is ok solution, I think now would be necessary to include the amendment or better fix it;). However, it is a really well-made plane, the flight is very realistic and JSBSim allows a beautiful simulation. Great 3D rendering, which shows that with the current video cards, you can get much more smooth surfaces and therefore more realistic. I would like the same solution was adopted for the C172 and many other aircraft. The plane has few gauges, for its category, but are well made.
abassign
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: Italy (living 5 Km from airport LIME)
Callsign: I-BASSY
Version: 2018.3
OS: Linux Mint 19. x

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby IAHM-COL » Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:50 pm

I confirm with ZLSA

System here as follows:

FG GIT 3.5 (compiled locally)
FGRUN LAUNCHER (version 1.7)
Piper-Archer fetched with FGDATA next with submodules,
piper-archer over last commit: ed25282ec1982ab1f985b0a664bfb3f0d07f219d
Operating System: Linux x64 (opensuse)

Not a problem

The archer comes perfectly fine in the selectable aircraft in the launcher

Image

With identical configuration the launcher fgx, version 2.10 also has no problem identifying the archer

Image
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall
User avatar
IAHM-COL
Retired
 
Posts: 4064
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Callsign: HK-424D or ICAO4243
Version: 3.7-git
OS: Linux

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby IAHM-COL » Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:10 pm

abassign wrote in Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:47 pm:
Remove <Checklists include = "Checklists / checklists.xml" /> is ok solution, I think now would be necessary to include the amendment or better fix it;).


Hi abassign

I think ZLSA already implemented your previous code by adding commenting out to the line
https://github.com/FGMEMBERS/piper-arch ... f0d07f219d

Best,
IHCOL
If we gave everybody in the World free software today, but we failed to teach them about the four freedoms, five years from now, would they still have it? Probably not, because if they don’t recognise their freedoms, they’ll let their freedoms fall
User avatar
IAHM-COL
Retired
 
Posts: 4064
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Homey, NV (KXTA) - U.S.A
Callsign: HK-424D or ICAO4243
Version: 3.7-git
OS: Linux

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby wlbragg » Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:42 pm

You don't need to comment out the entire line, just remove Checklists/ from the path so it reads <checklist include="before-start.xml"></checklist> in file checklists.xml.
This path error only appears to be a problem in windows. A backslash instead of a forward slash may work as well, if you want to keep the full recursive path. I haven't verified that though.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5643
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby zlsa » Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:46 pm

Oh, that's the problem? I'll fix that then. (BTW, checklists work for me with the full path; i.e. "Checklists/before-start.xml".)
zlsa
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:29 am
Callsign: N275A
Version: 3.5 git
OS: Linux

Re: Piper Archer CX

Postby D-ABBA » Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:23 am

Hi zlsa

Perfect. The new Version works well.
Looking forward to the piper-archer-tx. It gets a glass cockpit. Good idea.

Many happy Landings
D-ABBA
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests