Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby ja sam niko » Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:17 pm

Personally,I don't want the aircraft which will be difficult to slow down for touchdown,which after all these years of flying ,should be around 135 for something as big as this.

That ,I think should be quite OK speed. The worst thing to have is the aircraft which will be either ,hard to slow down or hard to keep in the air,or even worse,both. Like the FGBR MD-11. Which is really difficult to land. Too slow/fast ..too high/low.... so ,the main thing is to avoid that.

Like I said,little bit of work on the FDM...not much.

Does MD-11 have any kind of FBW? I'm asking cause ,777s had some sort of it. (The real ones of course)


The take off speed is even more strange,around 120 to 130 kts. Even 777 needs more then that to lift off. I will try to put more weight to the nose to see what will happen. :p

For the time being ,I will not change anything regarding approach speed.

Cheers
The worst floods in the Balkans ever,follow these links to learn more how to help. Thank you.
http://www.google.org/crisisresponse/2014-balkans-floods

http://www.mvp.gov.ba/HTML/eng-help.pdf
ja sam niko
Retired
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:52 pm
Location: LQBK
Callsign: ex FGRS,now UAV001
Version: 2.8
OS: WinXP

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby ja sam niko » Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:50 pm

Off topic,

I saw on your Git Hub,that you are working on the A350..what is going on with that plane?

'Night.
The worst floods in the Balkans ever,follow these links to learn more how to help. Thank you.
http://www.google.org/crisisresponse/2014-balkans-floods

http://www.mvp.gov.ba/HTML/eng-help.pdf
ja sam niko
Retired
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:52 pm
Location: LQBK
Callsign: ex FGRS,now UAV001
Version: 2.8
OS: WinXP

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby jormapaappa1235 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:23 am

Nah, after making the A350 model from the base I haven't touched the plane at all. I have just forgotten the whole repository.
jormapaappa1235
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby ja sam niko » Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:44 pm

I'm on test flying the MD-11 now. With quite a lot of weight ,the take off speed is around 150 ,which is much better.

Getting used on it's AP slowly. Which brings me to here.

While flying without RM,everything works without a hitch,but right after you put some way-points and enable the RM,something goes off.

I will post all errors here,so you can take a look at it.

Cheers.
Last edited by ja sam niko on Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The worst floods in the Balkans ever,follow these links to learn more how to help. Thank you.
http://www.google.org/crisisresponse/2014-balkans-floods

http://www.mvp.gov.ba/HTML/eng-help.pdf
ja sam niko
Retired
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:52 pm
Location: LQBK
Callsign: ex FGRS,now UAV001
Version: 2.8
OS: WinXP

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby ja sam niko » Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:52 pm

Not bad aircraft.....not bad.

Here are the errors.

http://pastebin.com/hZzgC9zp

I was not able to post it here. I was getting some errors.....


Cheers
The worst floods in the Balkans ever,follow these links to learn more how to help. Thank you.
http://www.google.org/crisisresponse/2014-balkans-floods

http://www.mvp.gov.ba/HTML/eng-help.pdf
ja sam niko
Retired
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:52 pm
Location: LQBK
Callsign: ex FGRS,now UAV001
Version: 2.8
OS: WinXP

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:32 pm

Okay. I see the problem. That's part of the course calculator for the FMC. It looks like that isn't supported in FG2.8. It's FG2.10+ for route manager in the MD-11, then. Incidentally, that's probably the same problem you were having in the 747-8 and the 757-200. All three have the same course calculator.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby ja sam niko » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:54 pm

I didn't have time to properly test the 747 and 757,so I can't tell if they will act the same way. But ,just by following the development of both aircraft,I was aware of that.

Anyway,I will use the MD-11 without RM .

I'm glad that I was able to point out a possible problem for other FG 2.8 users.


Have a nice day everyone. :D
The worst floods in the Balkans ever,follow these links to learn more how to help. Thank you.
http://www.google.org/crisisresponse/2014-balkans-floods

http://www.mvp.gov.ba/HTML/eng-help.pdf
ja sam niko
Retired
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:52 pm
Location: LQBK
Callsign: ex FGRS,now UAV001
Version: 2.8
OS: WinXP

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby jormapaappa1235 » Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:30 am

Ja sam niko, tikibar made a pdf of autopilot usage ;) Download from Github.

Yup, I tested the navigation system and there were no problems. :) The ap disconnected as it should and the plane flew to the destination steady. This made me think: why hasn't anybody evolved the cdu when we have that good route manager? I don't know, would it be that hard to convert working route manager to cdu to make it realistic?
jormapaappa1235
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby ja sam niko » Tue Jun 03, 2014 1:43 pm

Will someone explain this to me:

I was preparing the Md for the flight,and loaded LH and RH wing tanks almost full,central 40% and aux around 30%. In the yesterday's test flight ,the aircraft was using fuel from the aux tank during climb out,so i was planing that fuel to be burned today ,the same way.

MD somehow,moved all the fuel from that aux tank,into the central tank,without any command or anything from me. What the hell is that? It was working normaly yesterday.
The worst floods in the Balkans ever,follow these links to learn more how to help. Thank you.
http://www.google.org/crisisresponse/2014-balkans-floods

http://www.mvp.gov.ba/HTML/eng-help.pdf
ja sam niko
Retired
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:52 pm
Location: LQBK
Callsign: ex FGRS,now UAV001
Version: 2.8
OS: WinXP

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:14 pm

It has an automatic fuel management system that distributes and consumes the fuel on a programmed schedule. If you use the autostart, the AFS is automatically activated. If you would prefer to manage it yourself, click the button in the upper right of the fuel panel (it should say SELECT and MANUAL, and it should be dark). You would then have to use a combination of transfer pumps and fill valves to get the fuel into the main tanks which then feed the engines. My recommendation is to leave it in auto mode and let the computer do it for you, as it is programmed to do a good job of it.

The schedule works like this:
-Fuel in the aux tanks is transferred to the tail after takeoff and flap retraction to assist in trimming. Up to 6% of the total fuel weight will go tailward.
-Fuel transfers from the aux tanks to the mains keeping them equal until the wing tanks are full, then filling the center main until it is full.
-Mains are maintained full until aux is empty.
-Wing tanks are fed from center main until all three mains are equal, then they are consumed equally.
-Tail tank will periodically move fuel forward to maintain 6% total fuel weight in the tail.
-On descent, tail tank transfers all fuel forward below FL265.

It is working normally.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Johannes » Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:05 pm

Good work on this nice aircraft, thank you!

After making some flights with it, I have some remarks:
- In FGFS v 3.1 (git) the navigation display don't work. This can be an error of FlightGear, but of course also of the aircraft.
- In 3.1 the spoken ATIS don't work, because there were big changes in the system; see this for instructions how to get it work: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=22997
- Above the right cockpit window, there is something blacks that shouldn't be there.
- Could maybe some smoke/contrails added?
- And of course it would be nice when the (take off) speeds were realistic...
- Is the mCDU actually currently fully functional?

But nevertheless, I like this aircraft, and I hope that it will be developed further!
Johannes
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:41 am
OS: Arch Linux

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby fsi » Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:41 pm

fsi
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 3:56 pm
Version: 2016.1
OS: Ubuntu / Win10

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby yangqiming_ » Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:49 am

hi,now i am on a test flight of the md-11, here are my results of KSFO takeoff-FL430(MD-11 operating celling)-EHAM:
-Controls feels nice, flutter test shows that A/P can cope with turbulence quite well.
-Fuel Transfer is awesome when it comes to takeoff,climb and cruise. Fuel dumping is also a nice work.
-VR speed seemed to be too low... 120 knots? A MD-11 needs around 160 Knots to takeoff! even a 777 needs 150 Knots.
-shadow needs improvement(it seems to be pretty weird
-landing speed, 150 Knots became 120 Knots, unbelievable, even a 777 needs 140 knots to land!
-liveries: great paints, especially as the last KLM MD-11 retires makes it better (still, I'll try and paint one with 95 years special livery {PH-KCE})
-Oh, and IT IS VERY LAGGY!!! when I switch to outside view, it dropped to 1fps... when in cockpit, goes up to as well as 60fps!
-Animations,Great. thanks a lot to all of you for making such good animations!(However, I still cannot see any contrails like the DC-10 or 777 has)
-cockpit,Please, make more buttons/switched clickable and the ND display on my MD-11 is blank black.
For reference of my FG operating status:
OS:Mac OS X
FG Version:2.10
Current:MD-11 FL430 EHAM(Amsterdam Schipol)-WSSS(Singapore Changi)
yangqiming_
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:08 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: KL9799
Version: 2.10
OS: Mac OS X,Windows 10

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby lomar » Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:22 pm

i want to ask a thing, when i use this aircraft, the simulator starts to demand a lot of RAM(up to 4GB)! even with other complete aircraft like the 777 seattle it usually never demands more than 2,7GB. is it normal, have u seen this before or does it only happened to me?
lomar
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:38 am
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby yangqiming_ » Wed Dec 17, 2014 8:57 am

It does, because when I start up this md-11 at ksfo, it occupied all the way to 1fps, which is pretty bad on my fast computer. On cruise at fl410, in cockpit works just fine. Compared to the 777 Seattle, this is a far more complex aircraft which people puts on a lot more work than the 777. By the way, if you wonder, this aircraft is still under development and has not been completed yet. So expect more features and compacting space as you had just said! Lomar!
Cheers
yangqiming_
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:08 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: KL9799
Version: 2.10
OS: Mac OS X,Windows 10

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests