Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby John Taillor » Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:20 pm

Hi !
I was making Garuda Indonesia one, but I have a question about unwrapping :
Image

Where is the piece in blue (the nose) located on the texture file ?
Cause the tail is blue but the nose is white on this livery.
I have painted the whole right part (tails + winglets..) of the livery in blue, and the nose had become painted also.
Thank you for your help
JOIN MY VIRTUAL AIRLINE :
swanair.tk

My liveries
Mega user : mega.co.nz
Thanks to toile-libre.org for image hosting.
User avatar
John Taillor
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: France/LFST
Callsign: jota
Version: FG 3.0
OS: Arch (Manjaro) 3.12

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby jormapaappa1235 » Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:24 pm

I am quite sure there is uv-map included in the paintkit by default...

Oh, btw, download my newest push from github and say if throttle levers are black or not
jormapaappa1235
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby J Maverick 16 » Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:56 pm

Was looking on Wikipedia about the MD-11 and other great liveries of this aircraft could be:
> AA,
> Delta,
> FedEx,
> Lufthansa,
> KLM,
> Air Canada
> and UPS as example.
What do you think? :idea:
Regards,
Maverick

PS: I downloaded the paintkit of it, but I cannot use it because my PC can't read it. :(
Could you publish the paintkit in an other format like .zip, .tgz, .rar, or .7z ?
Breakin' the sound barrier every day!

Scenery designer, basic livery maker, aircraft developer (current projects: F-16, UH-60).
Using Thrustmaster FCS Flight Pack.
Follow me also on Instagram & Twitter @j_maverick16 and YouTube.
User avatar
J Maverick 16
 
Posts: 760
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 6:26 pm
Location: Northern Italy
Callsign: J-Mav16, REBEL84
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: macOS 10.12

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby jormapaappa1235 » Sun Mar 09, 2014 6:07 pm

Download Gimp and you'll be able to open the paintkit ;)

Feel free to make any liveries you want, but notice that I've already made KLM :D
jormapaappa1235
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby J Maverick 16 » Sun Mar 09, 2014 6:13 pm

Roger, the list I made was only a proposal. :)
Regards,
Maverick
Breakin' the sound barrier every day!

Scenery designer, basic livery maker, aircraft developer (current projects: F-16, UH-60).
Using Thrustmaster FCS Flight Pack.
Follow me also on Instagram & Twitter @j_maverick16 and YouTube.
User avatar
J Maverick 16
 
Posts: 760
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 6:26 pm
Location: Northern Italy
Callsign: J-Mav16, REBEL84
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: macOS 10.12

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby jormapaappa1235 » Sun Mar 09, 2014 11:31 pm

Just to let you know: I'm going to make the FedEx livery
jormapaappa1235
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby flyingfisch » Mon Mar 10, 2014 3:13 pm

The yoke and throttle are white for me, I used the download link in the first post...

EDIT:
Just got the latest commit, and now my panel looks like this:
Image
Beechcraft A35 Bonanza
Wiki Page
GitHub Repo
Improving the 737-300
Forum Thread
All my projects
User avatar
flyingfisch
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 1:11 pm
IRC name: ffisch
Version: 3.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby jormapaappa1235 » Mon Mar 10, 2014 3:39 pm

Thanks for feedback. Never get familiar with git...

Got any error messages on console?
jormapaappa1235
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby John Taillor » Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:05 pm

Ok, well...
First, there's no throttle anymore :?
Thinking, that's a way to solve the problem :lol:
Anyway, now looks like this :
Image

Get this interesting in the console :
Code: Select all
Failed to load submodel: not well-formed (invalid token)
 at /usr/share/flightgear/data/Aircraft/MD-11/Models/cockpit/cockpit.xml,
line 17, column 1
   from:SimGear XML Parser
Could not find at least one of the following objects for animation: 'Cockpit'
environment init


Then, the livery, nice that you do a cargo one, cause the windws are...always here ?
About the garuda one, the nose is not on the uv map (that's why I asked you, cause I didn't find it). Now the blue is only where needed, but still this fu*king blue nose :twisted:

Anyway happy flying
John
JOIN MY VIRTUAL AIRLINE :
swanair.tk

My liveries
Mega user : mega.co.nz
Thanks to toile-libre.org for image hosting.
User avatar
John Taillor
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: France/LFST
Callsign: jota
Version: FG 3.0
OS: Arch (Manjaro) 3.12

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby jormapaappa1235 » Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:24 pm

Please give it a try now. For me it works fine.

I know FedEx is a cargo plane, and there was a reason why I picked it... ;)

Image
jormapaappa1235
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby John Taillor » Mon Mar 10, 2014 7:58 pm

Finally the Garuda (found where the nose was !)

Image

Image

GET IT !

Now making Delta one. That's nice.
John

PS : Nice your FedEx. How to proceed to remove the windows ? Thx
-----EDIT-----
Ok, understood by looking in the XML. Nice !
JOIN MY VIRTUAL AIRLINE :
swanair.tk

My liveries
Mega user : mega.co.nz
Thanks to toile-libre.org for image hosting.
User avatar
John Taillor
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: France/LFST
Callsign: jota
Version: FG 3.0
OS: Arch (Manjaro) 3.12

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby jormapaappa1235 » Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:10 pm

Yeah, value 0 is for Finnair window configuration, 1 for KLM, 2 for all windows visible and 3 is "cargo mode"

Is the cockpit working now?
jormapaappa1235
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby John Taillor » Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:13 pm

Tested with the new version :

- First you have to adjust the position; at launch it looks like this (too much in the back)

Image

- Second still a problem with the panel. But the throttle are black !

Image

:? Happy texturing !

Also the About Flightgear tab (for graphics):

Code: Select all
OpenGL Vendor:NVIDIA Corporation
gl-version:3.3.0 NVIDIA 331.49
gl-renderer:GeForce 9600M GT/PCIe/SSE2
gl-shading-language-version:3.30 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
Last edited by John Taillor on Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JOIN MY VIRTUAL AIRLINE :
swanair.tk

My liveries
Mega user : mega.co.nz
Thanks to toile-libre.org for image hosting.
User avatar
John Taillor
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: France/LFST
Callsign: jota
Version: FG 3.0
OS: Arch (Manjaro) 3.12

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby jormapaappa1235 » Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:18 pm

Okay, sounds good. The throttle levers were just a test, now I can change all the others.
jormapaappa1235
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby John Taillor » Tue Mar 11, 2014 9:10 pm

Delta.

Image

Image

GET IT.

Have a nice evenning

Flying and flying, that's really a wonderful aircraft ... :oops:
JOIN MY VIRTUAL AIRLINE :
swanair.tk

My liveries
Mega user : mega.co.nz
Thanks to toile-libre.org for image hosting.
User avatar
John Taillor
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: France/LFST
Callsign: jota
Version: FG 3.0
OS: Arch (Manjaro) 3.12

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests