Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Soitanen » Fri May 02, 2014 4:01 am

Tell me, whats wrong with vertical speed mode?
Boeing 737-300. Reworked cockpit, FDM, autopilot and much more. WIP.
Boeing 737-800. WIP. Canvas PFD and ND.
Antonov An-24B. Made from scratch. Very good FDM. 3D model by Adrian. WIP.
Project Russia (some cities, based on OSM with custom objects).
Soitanen
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:50 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Version: git
OS: Linux Mint 17

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Pierre.Mueller » Fri May 02, 2014 1:08 pm

Soitanen: I spoke about the Vspeeds - not the vertical speeds!

Vspeeds are V1, Vr, V2 ....

They actually matched pretty good on the old model. But as the trim stab wasn't simulated it might be now different.
I know some people complained as they had to pull a lot to take off with the old model.

But some video analysis and comparing it with measurements of the real thing I think it was pretty right.
I couldn't completely test again, so I'm not sure if they still right.

Measurement:
Image

comparing it with:

Video of pulling back the yoke at TO:
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PBL13lI4Ce0[/youtube]

Maybe it helps, at least I hope so!

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8U7EzAErFuk[/youtube]
Pierre.Mueller
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:06 pm

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Soitanen » Fri May 02, 2014 2:33 pm

Oh, understand now.

V speeds still the same. But default stabilizer setting (3 units after sim startup) is insufficient for normal take-off. It needs to be adjusted to about 4.25 units (see property tree /fdm/jsbsim/fcs/stabilizer-pos-unit, current 3D model do not allow to do proper visualization of trim wheel setting).
Also I didn't touch animation of control wheel, will check it. Thank you for picture!
Boeing 737-300. Reworked cockpit, FDM, autopilot and much more. WIP.
Boeing 737-800. WIP. Canvas PFD and ND.
Antonov An-24B. Made from scratch. Very good FDM. 3D model by Adrian. WIP.
Project Russia (some cities, based on OSM with custom objects).
Soitanen
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:50 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Version: git
OS: Linux Mint 17

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Lexus » Sat May 10, 2014 7:48 am

Hey guys!
As for 737NG, I'm interested in improving it too. I'm beginner in aircrafts developing but have some experience in programming, so I can try to improve some systems. Just let me know if you need such help.
Lexus
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 4:51 pm
Location: UNOO
Version: FG daily
OS: Ubuntu

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Milo » Mon Jun 23, 2014 4:00 pm

Hi Soitanen,
Can you please faind a way to turn off the landing lights. It would be great to turn them off...
Regards
GVX0250 _ FGFS v.Git _ Win10_ Asus N76V, RAM8GB, CPU: i7 2.4
Milo
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:11 pm
Location: Luxembourg
Callsign: GAX0250
Version: Git
OS: Win8.1

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Soitanen » Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:35 pm

Milo - I can't check it right now, but, if I remember correctly, they can be turned off via menu.
Boeing 737-300. Reworked cockpit, FDM, autopilot and much more. WIP.
Boeing 737-800. WIP. Canvas PFD and ND.
Antonov An-24B. Made from scratch. Very good FDM. 3D model by Adrian. WIP.
Project Russia (some cities, based on OSM with custom objects).
Soitanen
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:50 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Version: git
OS: Linux Mint 17

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby surpii » Tue Jun 24, 2014 4:57 am

I downloaded Project Russia as well and St Peterburg looks wonderful!

Are you working on Moscow as well? I think it would be fun to fly past Red Square in a fighter jet like in a Victory Day Parade.
surpii
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:41 am

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Soitanen » Tue Jun 24, 2014 5:30 am

Surpii, it's offtopic here, so go to viewtopic.php?f=5&t=12771&start=30
Boeing 737-300. Reworked cockpit, FDM, autopilot and much more. WIP.
Boeing 737-800. WIP. Canvas PFD and ND.
Antonov An-24B. Made from scratch. Very good FDM. 3D model by Adrian. WIP.
Project Russia (some cities, based on OSM with custom objects).
Soitanen
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:50 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Version: git
OS: Linux Mint 17

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Soitanen » Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:49 pm

I have found interesting document, where PanAm makes check of their 737-300 flight simulator. There are many graphs, numbers and info, but not raw data. There are test like acceleration, deceleration, control response, phugoid etc... But I found, that Boeing uses 980 sq.ft of wing area for calculation. So I will recalculate all coefficients to new value. By the way, after long reverse engineering of QRH, FCTM, FCOM I have graph for CL for different flaps and slats settings!

I want to see Boeing Document D6-37908, -09, -10, -11 & -12. If I understand correctly, there are raw aerodynamic data for simulator creating, but I can't find this docs on the net.
Boeing 737-300. Reworked cockpit, FDM, autopilot and much more. WIP.
Boeing 737-800. WIP. Canvas PFD and ND.
Antonov An-24B. Made from scratch. Very good FDM. 3D model by Adrian. WIP.
Project Russia (some cities, based on OSM with custom objects).
Soitanen
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:50 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Version: git
OS: Linux Mint 17

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Soitanen » Thu Jul 10, 2014 7:00 pm

Now Go-Around mode is workable. Press 'd' button to initiate Go-Around procedure. Speed bug will automatically move to flap retraction speed. If 'd' is pressed during Go-Around, then engines will give full Go-Around thrust, instead of reduced. If approach was with one autopilot engaged, it will be disengaged and pilot must fly the aircraft manually. If autoland was planned and both autopilot engaged, then go-around maneuver will be done automatically.

Also, I have changed aerodynamics to new wing area value. And new moments of inertia has been found (they are close to real one, data from different fly tests).

Please, test new features and report bugs.
Boeing 737-300. Reworked cockpit, FDM, autopilot and much more. WIP.
Boeing 737-800. WIP. Canvas PFD and ND.
Antonov An-24B. Made from scratch. Very good FDM. 3D model by Adrian. WIP.
Project Russia (some cities, based on OSM with custom objects).
Soitanen
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:50 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Version: git
OS: Linux Mint 17

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Milo » Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:22 pm

Hey Soitanen,
First of all, I want to thank you for making this plane, mostly the most enjoyable aircraft in FGFS.
I always use the updated GIT version of FGFS and the pushback of the 737 is not working.
May you please take a look at it...
Regards
GVX0250 _ FGFS v.Git _ Win10_ Asus N76V, RAM8GB, CPU: i7 2.4
Milo
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:11 pm
Location: Luxembourg
Callsign: GAX0250
Version: Git
OS: Win8.1

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Milo » Sun Jul 13, 2014 5:46 pm

Hey, I also want to report a bug.
I don't know how exactly how to report it but it happens sometimes when i turn on the autopilot.
Here is the message of the console.

Enabling ATI viewport hack
Starting automatic scenery download/synchronization. Using built-in SVN support.
Directory: 'D:/FGear/terrasync'.
environment init
Loading local weather routines...
Help subsystem started
Copilot ready
*** Global Air Virtual Airlines ACARS ... ready!
Nasal runtime error: non-numeric string in numeric context: '08'
at __dlg:weather, line 245
called from: __dlg:weather, line 117
called from: D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/globals.nas, line 119
Starting hard-coded terrain presampling
Terrain presampling analysis results:
total: 977 mean: 0 median: 0 min: 0 alt_20: 0
Presampling done!
Finished setting up tile type METAR in direction 4
0 pa_dspl_thresh
Convective system done!
Cloud placement from array finished!
Starting hard-coded terrain presampling
Terrain presampling analysis results:
total: 987 mean: 0.5065856129685917 median: 0 min: 0 alt_20: 0
Presampling done!
0 Railroad
Finished setting up tile type METAR in direction 4
0 pa_rest
0 Railroad
Convective system done!
Cloud placement from array finished!
Building tile unique index 2 in direction 1
alpha: 130 alpha_test: 130 relangle: 0
Terrain presampling analysis results:
total: 1000 mean: 0 median: 0 min: 0 alt_20: 0
Current tile type: METAR
Finished setting up tile type METAR in direction 1
Convective system done!
Cloud placement from array finished!
Building tile unique index 3 in direction 3
alpha: 130 alpha_test: 130 relangle: 0
Terrain presampling analysis results:
total: 1000 mean: 0 median: 0 min: 0 alt_20: 0
Current tile type: METAR
0 pa_rest
Finished setting up tile type METAR in direction 3
0 pa_dspl_thresh
0 pa_centerline
0 Railroad
Convective system done!
Cloud placement from array finished!
Building tile unique index 4 in direction 5
alpha: 130 alpha_test: 130 relangle: 0
Terrain presampling analysis results:
total: 1000 mean: 0 median: 0 min: 0 alt_20: 0
Current tile type: METAR
Finished setting up tile type METAR in direction 5
Convective system done!
Cloud placement from array finished!
Processing add-cloud calls finished!
Building tile unique index 5 in direction 7
alpha: 130 alpha_test: 130 relangle: 0
Terrain presampling analysis results:
total: 1000 mean: 0 median: 0 min: 0 alt_20: 0
Current tile type: METAR
Finished setting up tile type METAR in direction 7
Convective system done!
Cloud placement from array finished!
Multiplayer mode active!
Entering thermal lift...
strength: 4.807814661097336 radius: 406.3711345546124
Leaving thermal lift...
Entering thermal lift...
strength: 14.57981882499721 radius: 729.8918292658437
Leaving thermal lift...
Nasal getValue: property /fdm[0]/jsbsim[0]/gear[0]/unit[0]/wheel-speed-fps[0] is
NaN
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
at D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/aircraft.nas, line 830
called from: D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/aircraft.nas, line 848
called from: D:/FGear/Aircraft/737-300/Nasal/tyresmoke.nas, line 88
Nasal getValue: property /position[0]/altitude-ft[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /accelerations[0]/pilot[0]/z-accel-fps_sec[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/latitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/longitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /orientation[0]/heading-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
at D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/local_weather/weather_tile_management.nas, line 1131
called from: D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/local_weather/weather_tile_management.nas,
line 1211
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/latitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/longitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/altitude-ft[0] is NaN
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
at D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/geo.nas, line 315
called from: D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/local_weather/local_weather.nas, line 426
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/latitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/longitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/altitude-ft[0] is NaN
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
at D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/geo.nas, line 315
called from: D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/local_weather/local_weather.nas, line 123
called from: D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/local_weather/local_weather.nas, line 242
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/latitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/longitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /velocities[0]/groundspeed-kt[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /velocities[0]/vertical-speed-fps[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /orientation[0]/heading-magnetic-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /orientation[0]/heading-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /velocities[0]/groundspeed-kt[0] is NaN
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
at D:\FGear\fgdata/Nasal/canvas/map/navdisplay.mfd, line 33
called from: D:\FGear\fgdata/Nasal/canvas/map/navdisplay.mfd, line 406
called from: D:\FGear\fgdata/Nasal/canvas/map/navdisplay.mfd, line 476
called from: D:\FGear\fgdata/Nasal/canvas/map/navdisplay.mfd, line 219
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/latitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /position[0]/longitude-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /velocities[0]/groundspeed-kt[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /velocities[0]/vertical-speed-fps[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /orientation[0]/heading-magnetic-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /orientation[0]/heading-deg[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /velocities[0]/groundspeed-kt[0] is NaN
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
at D:\FGear\fgdata/Nasal/canvas/map/navdisplay.mfd, line 33
called from: D:\FGear\fgdata/Nasal/canvas/map/navdisplay.mfd, line 406
called from: D:\FGear\fgdata/Nasal/canvas/map/navdisplay.mfd, line 476
called from: D:\FGear\fgdata/Nasal/canvas/map/navdisplay.mfd, line 219
caught exception processing subsystem:gui
message:position is invalid, NaNs
PT_vs_hpt: ran out of layers for h=-1.#IND
Nasal getprop: property /autopilot[0]/internal[0]/current-vertical-speed-fpm[0]
is NaN
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
at D:/FGear/Aircraft/737-300/Nasal/autopilot.nas, line 702
called from: D:/FGear/fgdata/Nasal/globals.nas, line 119
FGMultiplayMgr::SendMyPosition - Local data is invalid (NaN). Data not transmitt
ed.
Nasal getprop: property /sim[0]/current-view[0]/viewer-x-m[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /sim[0]/current-view[0]/viewer-y-m[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /sim[0]/current-view[0]/viewer-z-m[0] is NaN
Nasal getValue: property /position[0]/altitude-ft[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /accelerations[0]/pilot[0]/z-accel-fps_sec[0] is NaN
Nasal getprop: property /fdm[0]/jsbsim[0]/position[0]/h-agl-ft[0] is NaN
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
at D:/FGear/Aircraft/737-300/Nasal/friction.nas, line 69
GVX0250 _ FGFS v.Git _ Win10_ Asus N76V, RAM8GB, CPU: i7 2.4
Milo
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:11 pm
Location: Luxembourg
Callsign: GAX0250
Version: Git
OS: Win8.1

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Soitanen » Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:24 pm

Milo, I will look tomorrow about pushback.
About second error - could you describe steps, how to repeat your error, or when does it appear? It looks like some variable gets wrong value and whole calculation chain fails. Does it fly after error, or it stuck the sim with black screen?
Boeing 737-300. Reworked cockpit, FDM, autopilot and much more. WIP.
Boeing 737-800. WIP. Canvas PFD and ND.
Antonov An-24B. Made from scratch. Very good FDM. 3D model by Adrian. WIP.
Project Russia (some cities, based on OSM with custom objects).
Soitanen
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:50 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Version: git
OS: Linux Mint 17

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Philosopher » Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:31 pm

The '08' is a recent error caused by a SimGear change, I'll talk to Thomas about it.
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: 737-300 Classic - New and Improved

Postby Soitanen » Mon Jul 14, 2014 5:34 pm

Milo - pushed fix for pushback, try it!
Boeing 737-300. Reworked cockpit, FDM, autopilot and much more. WIP.
Boeing 737-800. WIP. Canvas PFD and ND.
Antonov An-24B. Made from scratch. Very good FDM. 3D model by Adrian. WIP.
Project Russia (some cities, based on OSM with custom objects).
Soitanen
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:50 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Version: git
OS: Linux Mint 17

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DENIS, Google [Bot] and 4 guests