Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby 07-BUT » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:30 am

skyop wrote in Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:13 am:Alright then. I'll just download the latest version of this bird and see what you've done. ;)

Can you give me a summary of all your changes? That way I can make sure I don't forget anything.

As for the private jets; no, I don't think I'll be building anything new for FG for a long time. You're welcome to embark on this yourself, using any components from the CRJ if you want. :)


The changelog contains a summary of what I did
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7679353/tmp/CHANGELOG.txt (you can also find it in the package of course)
All the files I modified contain a "07-BUT" comment so you can do a search
If you need something more detailed, let me know
07-BUT
07-BUT
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 3:09 pm
Callsign: 07-BUT
OS: OS X

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby skyop » Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:20 pm

Okay, looks good! Some comments on the bugs listed in that changelog:

  • TIRE SMOKE PROBLEM - Not sure what's going on here, I thought that tire smoke on landing only was the intended effect :?: The 777 does implement its own brake temperature system, that might have something to do with it.
  • LANDING LIGHTS PROBLEM - Fixed in Rembrandt. :) See http://imagebin.org/216586 . Landing lights still bleed into the cockpit/cabin though. Still trying to fix that problem.
  • CRJ1000 LOGO LIGHT PROBLEM - No such bug on my copy :?:
  • YAW DAMPER PROBLEM - Won't fix until somebody tells me how to program a real yaw damper. :(

EDIT: A few more things:

  • Git version (from my repo) now has crew models, thanks to the new generic pilot models in Git.
  • Autopilot now passes waypoints and VOR's with ease. I programmed it to stop calculating a target roll within 1 nm of the next waypoint/VOR.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby omega95 » Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:50 am

skyop wrote in Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:20 pm:Landing lights still bleed into the cockpit/cabin though. Still trying to fix that problem.


There's a very simple way to fix that. Create separate Rembrandt Light Spheres... I've done this on the A330-200 and -300 series and it works pretty well. I used point lighting and an elongated sphere for the landing lights hitting the fuselage and a spot light source with a cone model for the light that hits the ground. the cone starts under hte aircraft, where it's about to touch the ground but it shouldn't hit the fuselage. And then the elongated sphere should touch the fuselage but it's small, so it won't reach the cockpit. :D

Image

And that turns out something like this.. :)

Image
Merlion Virtual Airlines - the experience of a flight time...
Get high quality aircraft, airports, video tutorials or development tools from my hangar.
omega95
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:59 am
Location: -unknown-
Callsign: MIA0001, OM-EGA
IRC name: omega95
Version: 2.12 git
OS: Ubuntu 13.04

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby 07-BUT » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:47 am

skyop wrote in Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:20 pm:Okay, looks good! Some comments on the bugs listed in that changelog:
  • TIRE SMOKE PROBLEM - Not sure what's going on here, I thought that tire smoke on landing only was the intended effect :?: The 777 does implement its own brake temperature system, that might have something to do with it.


TIRE SMOKE PROBLEM
Uncommented the smoke and spray signals in CRJ700-flight-recorder.xml
Reverted back to default code in tiresmoke.nas
It now works but problems still persist:
1. In fact gear/gear[0]/tyre-smoke, gear/gear[1]/tyre-smoke and gear/gear[2]/tyre-smoke properties don't switch to TRUE when doing a good and smooth landing.
=> This implies to redefine conditions in the effect XMLs
2. As we have 10 different models with different weights, using gear/gear[x]/compression-m as a condition for smoke is a headache

Anyway, here is my first try. It works and replays:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7679353/tmp/CRJ-tiresmoke.png
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7679353/tmp/CR ... esmoke.zip
Last edited by 07-BUT on Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:41 pm, edited 3 times in total.
07-BUT
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 3:09 pm
Callsign: 07-BUT
OS: OS X

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby 07-BUT » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:58 am

skyop wrote in Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:20 pm:Okay, looks good! Some comments on the bugs listed in that changelog:

  • CRJ1000 LOGO LIGHT PROBLEM - No such bug on my copy :?:


Take a look a that picture https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7679353/tmp/CR ... -light.png
No tail logo, no light.
07-BUT
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 3:09 pm
Callsign: 07-BUT
OS: OS X

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby skyop » Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:02 am

Actually, come to think of it, it could have been a glitch in the exported CRJ1000 model (it's always the last one I export, so there's bound to be some mistake, lol). Well, it's fixed now.

07-BUT, I have committed your changes to the master repository with a couple minor changes. I will look into SP-LEC's version soon - namely, his stick shaker and warning system. :)
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby Quix0r » Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:05 pm

I have problems bringing up the RPM to maximum, as the sounds (resulted by a bug (?) in engine code) did stutter. I can only reach ~170-180kts with this bug. Can you please take a look at this?
Admin of mpserver08: mpserver08.flightgear.org:5000 running latest GIT version: v0.13.3 - User:Quix0r
Quix0r
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Krefeld
Callsign: D-Quix0r
Version: next
OS: Debian

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby islandsword » Wed May 15, 2013 3:26 am

I wonder if anyone has got the latest CRJ700-family 1.1.0 working on 2.10. I have other aircrafts coming with the flightgear core package working alright, but can't get any CRJ to launch. It always crashes with the log complaining "Warning: Could not find plugin to read objects from file "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Aircraft/CRJ700-family/Models/CRJ700-Blank.dds"" and "osgDB ac3d reader: could not read texture".

I'm on mac osx 10.8.
islandsword
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 3:18 am

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby Johan G » Wed May 15, 2013 9:20 pm

Sounds like the Mac build of 2.10 can't read dds textures (more or less a proprietary texture compression format by nvidia). :(

It unfortunately seems to be an old problem Re: DDS textures. :(
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5782
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby ctesc356 » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:33 pm

Hello,
I discovered this wonderful aircraft.

I like using the navigation instruments, but ADF indications on the PFD and MFD are wrong.

The solution: remove the lines 1602 - 1603 in "mfd.xml" and 1564 - 1565 in "pfd.xml"
Code: Select all
   <object-name>ADF1Ptr</object-name>
   <object-name>ADF2Ptr</object-name> 
ctesc356
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:20 am

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby ctesc356 » Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:53 am

There is also a problem in the functioning of the VOR indicators.
below you will find the files "... / Instruments / MFD / mfd.xml" and "...Instruments / PFD / pfd.xml" modified.
These files also contain corrections to the ADF described above.

It may not be the final solution, but it makes the instruments useable.
I left the corrections visible, developers can judge whether it is fit to be included in their work.

http://www.partage-facile.com/XBHPARWNA ... ar.gz.html
ctesc356
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:20 am

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby f-nico » Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:24 pm

Using FG 2.12 (Win64), I try to create a route in the CRJ 700 CDU using the "GEN ROUTE" command available in the CDU, available from the "LEGS-2" page, after selecting the destination to create the route to.

But this does not seem to work, it just adds some strange waypoint at the end of the route.
For instance, if I select KSFO as depart, KLAX as dest, then I go to the LEGS page, select KLAX, and in the LEGS-2 page, select GEN ROUTE. It will add an "ATIS" (?) waypoint just after KLAX.

As I'm curious, I just took a look at the files, the GEN ROUTE pushes a "@route1" action to route manager, but this does not have the expected effect to generate a route, like the Route manager GUI's "Route" button.

So looking at FG's route-manager.xml file, it turns out that the "Route" button has a specific code, not an @route command, which I tested into the CRJ's Nasal/cdu.nas file, replacing the route function at line 533:

Code: Select all
   route: func(i)
   {
      #RouteManager.input("route" ~ i);   This does not work in my FG2.12
      var fp = flightplan();
      var from = fp.getWP(i - 1);
      var to = fp.getWP(i);
               
      if ((from  != nil ) and (to != nil)) {
         var route = airwaysRoute(from, to);
         fp.insertWaypoints(route, i);
      }
   },


Now the GEN ROUTE action works fine and creates the same route as Route-manager GUI's one. :)

But could it be due to FG 2.12-Win64, which does not seem to accept the "@route" command sent to the route-manager ?

Did the CDU "GEN ROUTE" action worked fine in previous FG versions ?
f-nico
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:21 pm

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:41 pm

I took off today and that autopilot put me to full max trim. The result- a loop, stall, and crash.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7675
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby 747sp » Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:31 pm

How fast was your aircraft going when it happened?
User avatar
747sp
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:35 pm
Callsign: OMS120

Re: Bombardier CRJ700 series/CRJ900 replacement

Postby flyingfisch » Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:57 pm

Is it just me or does the CRJ 1000 always give an error on startup?
Beechcraft A35 Bonanza
Wiki Page
GitHub Repo
Improving the 737-300
Forum Thread
All my projects
User avatar
flyingfisch
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 1:11 pm
IRC name: ffisch
Version: 3.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests