Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Off Field piper cub

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Off Field piper cub

Postby skypup » Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:37 am

Hi, I'm new to the forums. I've been messing around with Flightgear for a couple months now.
One thing I have noticed, and would like to work on, is off field with the piper cub. The cub has been one of the great off field airplanes, and it seems rather strange that in flightgear, if it gets off field, it sticks tighter than bubblegum to a hot sidewalk.
I have been doing a lot of off field with the dragonfly with no trouble. My first thought was to find the dragonfly's ground reaction code and duplicate it with the cub.
It was no problem finding it in the Dragonfly file, but there seems to be nothing like it in the Pup file.
I am left with no idea where to start.
Has anyone else taken this on? I would love to hear what you did. I would really like to do some bush flying with the pup, but sticking tight and nosing over on touchdown is getting old.
Hoping to hear from someone who has had better luck than I with this.
Is it nap time yet? And where are the doughnuts?
skypup

Postby skypup » Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:42 am

I guess there isn't as much interest in this as I thought there might be. Oh well.
skypup

Postby AndersG » Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:56 am

I suspect it is a feature and not a bug. The Cub is a YASim aircraft and YASim models the properties of unprepared (and prepared) ground. Your off field field is probably much more uneven than it looks :)
For JSBSim everything is a runway (unless the aircraft designer spent extra effort to mimick the effects).

/Anders
AndersG

Callsign: SE-AG

Postby HeliFlyer » Sun Mar 16, 2008 3:27 am

Hi skypub,

I believe it is more your problem than one of the aircraft.

Although I am not taildragger experienced it was pretty simple to takeoff and land the Cub on grass/farmland.