Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Cabine performances

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Cabine performances

Postby Gijs » Tue Feb 26, 2008 7:24 pm

Hi,

I was wondering if an modelled cabin effects the performances dramaticly? I mean: seats, tv's and windows etc. in the cabin where you could walk through. Ofcourse it will have some effect, but is the plane really getting slower (not the airspeed :P )?

And is there an option to let it only be showed when you're in the cabin? So when you're outside the plane or in the cockpit the cabin is empty and when you're in the cabine the cockpit is empty... That would make it a bit faster/smoother I think.

Thanks,
Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9429
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Postby HHS » Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:18 pm

Hi,

I did this to my 737-300 update - a complete passengers cabin with all the seats. On older pc-systems there is an impact due to the high vertices.

On modern systems there should be no problem. A bigger problem is mp. Here would be a impact for other users when the aircraft comes up on mp, but the interior isn't needed here.

Regards
HHS
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Postby ajm » Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:06 pm

That's only a problem if you don't create an AI version of your aircraft (which you should do as a matter of course, if you've produced a detailed cockpit / interior).

This can be as simple as creating a cut down version of your model.xml file (see for example the Bocian or Lightning in AI/Aircraft ).
ajm
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:05 pm

Postby fgfs_fanatic » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:44 am

It's a great idea to have the full interior of the aircraft :D . I think It might affect performance if it has see through windows, because the interior to would have to be rendered. :roll:
fgfs_fanatic
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Postby Kailingkazak » Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:43 am

you should have a look at the star trek aircrafts (like the bluebird, or others, the link is somewhere on the forum i think in new features...) they're pretty nicely made, you can walk around, have enormous speeds...
Kailingkazak
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:48 am
Location: Switzerland
Version: 2
OS: Mac OS 10.6.6

Postby HHS » Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:51 pm

fgfs_fanatic wrote:It's a great idea to have the full interior of the aircraft :D . I think It might affect performance if it has see through windows, because the interior to would have to be rendered. :roll:


Even you uses alpha textures for the windows, the impact is really small- even on old pc-systems!

But it is not easy to get a good interior with good textures- as I know GFS was working too on that for the 787, and it looked pretty nice!
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Postby Gijs » Thu Feb 28, 2008 4:32 pm

Nice to hear. Thanks for your answers all!
I'll try to do the best I can.
In a couple of months you'll see the results...
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9429
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Postby HHS » Thu Feb 28, 2008 4:42 pm

Gijs wrote:Nice to hear. Thanks for your answers all!
I'll try to do the best I can.
In a couple of months you'll see the results...


which aircrafts? note that the improved 737-300 is not far away from a first commit for CVS
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Postby Gijs » Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:03 pm

No, it's not that plane, but the plane should be a suprise, so I can't tell you anything.. Soryy :)

btw: i've got some paintings for the 737, do you want them? They're somewhere in this forum...
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9429
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Postby HHS » Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:51 pm

Gijs wrote:No, it's not that plane, but the plane should be a suprise, so I can't tell you anything.. Soryy :)


btw: i've got some paintings for the 737, do you want them? They're somewhere in this forum...


Fine, so I'm looking forward!
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Postby Gijs » Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:04 pm

Kailingkazak wrote:you should have a look at the star trek aircrafts (like the bluebird, or others, the link is somewhere on the forum i think in new features...) they're pretty nicely made, you can walk around, have enormous speeds...

Where can I find the code for this?
In what file?
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9429
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Postby Kailingkazak » Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:39 am

i know there's one of the download site on flightgear.org
here the links on the cvs
http://cvs.flightgear.org/cgi-bin/viewvc/viewvc.cgi/data/Aircraft/bluebird/
her's another link where they all are (4-5 airships)
http://www.geocities.com/sandreas41/flightgear_aircraft.html

enjoy flying around, they're pretty cool to fly snow and precisely...
Kailingkazak
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:48 am
Location: Switzerland
Version: 2
OS: Mac OS 10.6.6

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:42 pm

ajm wrote:That's only a problem if you don't create an AI version of your aircraft (which you should do as a matter of course, if you've produced a detailed cockpit / interior).

This can be as simple as creating a cut down version of your model.xml file (see for example the Bocian or Lightning in AI/Aircraft ).


I dont find any lightning or bocian file in the folder....
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby ajm » Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:45 pm

Fahim Dalvi wrote:I dont find any lightning or bocian file in the folder....


They're definitely in there...

http://cvs.flightgear.org/cgi-bin/viewvc/viewvc.cgi/data/AI/Aircraft/

The AI Lightning has been untouched for 7 months, so should definitely be in the last release, and the AI Bocian was too...
ajm
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:05 pm

???

Postby hidnshadows » Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:48 pm

Kailingkazak wrote:you should have a look at the star trek aircrafts (like the bluebird, or others, the link is somewhere on the forum i think in new features...) they're pretty nicely made, you can walk around, have enormous speeds...

how the heck do you walk around? i mean get out of the pilot seat???
hidnshadows
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:01 pm

Next

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests