Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Contact Points for jsbsim

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Postby Ampere » Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:24 am

If I may make a suggestion Fahim -- an area that is very important and in need of attention is the cockpit. The flight displays that give the pilots the most important information about the aircraft were never implemented due to time constrain. So, if you could animate the flight displays first, that would be very helpful.
Ampere
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:09 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:41 am

yes...ofcourse...i am working on the eicas right now...i'll do the flightdisplay soon...but i dont think much progress will be there for one month now(Exams.........
BTW: can u tell me whether the TO/GA sign is shown on the Eicas? and also what other signs appear in the place of TO/GA...like CL(climb)
(pls also tell me the throttle value for each of them...like TO/GA appears when the throttle is full, i suppose
And a question for Anders about the contact points...i just copied the three BOGEY contact points and pasted them below, changed BOGEY to STRUCTURE and reduced some inches of depth...after taking in the gears...the points shoul react and the plane should crash....but nothing as such happens(and does the name of the point affect anything???)

Thanks Again Guys
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby Ampere » Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:47 pm

Fahim Dalvi wrote:BTW: can u tell me whether the TO/GA sign is shown on the Eicas?

I think so. Look at page 293 of http://www.smartcockpit.com/pdf/plane/a ... misc/0002/ . I think 'TO/GA' would appear where it says 'FLEX'.

Fahim Dalvi wrote:and also what other signs appear in the place of TO/GA...like CL(climb)

I'm not sure, possibly 'IDLE', thrust levers angle, 'CL', and 'FLEX', though I think they would only appear when autothrust is engaged.

Fahim Dalvi wrote:(pls also tell me the throttle value for each of them...like TO/GA appears when the throttle is full, i suppose

Take a guess. I would say 50% for 'CL', 75% for 'FLEX' and 100% for 'TO/GA'.
Ampere
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:09 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:14 am

Thanks for that pdf...it has loads of info...
and the problem that i asked anders is solved..........
great thanks to u guys...

BTW: can we do something so that the gps looks better like...show the coastline...water appear blue and land brown....

Thanks Again
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby Ampere » Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:21 pm

Are you talking about the terrain elevation information on the flight display?
Ampere
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:09 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby air_alex » Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:10 pm

Fahim Dalvi wrote:(pls also tell me the throttle value for each of them...like TO/GA appears when the throttle is full, i suppose

This depends on autopilot mode TO/GA means "TakeOff/GoAround" - this phrase can display not only in throttle position...

Best regards,
AirAlex.
air_alex
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 10:45 pm

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Fri Feb 29, 2008 5:10 pm

Ampere wrote:Are you talking about the terrain elevation information on the flight display?


Yes....the GPS next to the PFD...

Thanks Air Alex....now i know that we can control the throttle only till CL(climb)....so is that 100% throttle?
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby air_alex » Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:25 pm

Fahim Dalvi wrote:Thanks Air Alex....now i know that we can control the throttle only till CL(climb)....so is that 100% throttle?

Not always. Depends on autopilot algorithm. It maybe stabilize airspeed or vertical speed. Of course, it may be 100% throttle. But usually autopilot in CLIMB mode stabilize safe airspeed.
air_alex
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 10:45 pm

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:37 pm

Thanks
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby Ampere » Sat Mar 01, 2008 3:13 am

Fahim Dalvi wrote:
Ampere wrote:Are you talking about the terrain elevation information on the flight display?


Yes....the GPS next to the PFD...


That's not a GPS, but a navigation display. The navigation display shows the pilots positions of relevent airports and navaids, as well as the flight path input into the FMS before flight. The specific function you are talking about retrieves terrain elevation data stored aboard the aircraft, color codes the terrain according to their altitude with respect to the aircraft, and show the topographical profile being overflown. It's not as simple as the terrain being brown and water being blue.

I do not know whether it is doable though.
Ampere
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:09 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Sat Mar 01, 2008 3:33 pm

Thats what i meant....it can be of any colour..but something like that...or atleast the radar whether???
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby Ampere » Sat Mar 01, 2008 6:09 pm

No, it can't be of any color. For the A330/A340, the color codes are:
red >2000 ft
2000 ft > orange > 1000 ft
1000 ft > yellow > -500 ft when gear up
1000 ft > yellow > -250 ft when gear down
-500 ft > dark green > -1000 ft
-1000 ft > light green > -2000 ft

The A380 should have similar color codes.
Ampere
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:09 pm
Location: Toronto

Previous

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests