Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Contact Points for jsbsim

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Contact Points for jsbsim

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:28 pm

Hi,
Now i know how to add contact points for jsbsim, but the problem is how do i get the coordinates....take lightning as an example....the nose gear has the x coordinate as 2.90(in ac3d)...but it is mentioned as 86.19 in the xml....how do i know the correct coordinates(which work in the xml)
Thanks
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Re: Contact Points for jsbsim

Postby AndersG » Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:39 pm

Fahim Dalvi wrote:Hi,
Now i know how to add contact points for jsbsim, but the problem is how do i get the coordinates....take lightning as an example....the nose gear has the x coordinate as 2.90(in ac3d)...but it is mentioned as 86.19 in the xml....how do i know the correct coordinates(which work in the xml)
Thanks


The number in the JSBSim config is almost certainly in inches (check the unit attribute). But there is another catch - the origins of the coordinate systems might not be the same. One way to establish the relation between the two coordinate systems (in case the aircraft creator didn't document it) is to compare the coordinates for some known features, e.g. the landing gears. You could also look at the location of the visual reference point (VRP) in the JSBSim config and check for any offsets in the 3d model XML file. If the VRP is at (0,0,0) and there are no offsets in the 3d model XML file the origins are the same.

Cheers,

Anders
AndersG
 
Posts: 2468
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:55 pm

Thanks Anders,

I have some more doubts,
i figured out that BOGEY is for the landing gear, and STRUCTURE is for solids...what else types of commands are available

Thanks Again
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby HHS » Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:34 pm

So much as I know only those two types. I would use every tip of the fuselage, wings, engines and other structures as contactpoints.

Btw. Did you thought about adding wingflex? The A380 would look much better with this- have a look on the 787 how it is made.

Regards
HHS
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Postby Ampere » Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:20 pm

So how was the wing flex done on the 787?
Ampere
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:09 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby HHS » Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:46 pm

Ampere wrote:So how was the wing flex done on the 787?


Like the rotors of the bo105, ec135 and other helis....and the same technique like in MSFS :D

The wing is splitted up in several parts, and using rotation animation.
Just have a look into the 787!
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:12 pm

HHS wrote:So much as I know only those two types. I would use every tip of the fuselage, wings, engines and other structures as contactpoints.

Btw. Did you thought about adding wingflex? The A380 would look much better with this- have a look on the 787 how it is made.

Regards
HHS


I think that feature is exclusive to the 787..and that too to the 787-800
I dont think the wings react like that in the A380
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby HHS » Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:17 pm

Sure?

Look at airliners.net - there are some wonderfull pics of wingflexing A380's! That's something every modern aircraft has! The same on the NG-737.

Without it is real looking bad.

And in the moment there is no better solution for that - even MSFS FX or X-Plane has the same technic, with mostly the same properties!

Cheers
HHS
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Postby Ampere » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:42 pm

HHS wrote:
Ampere wrote:So how was the wing flex done on the 787?


Like the rotors of the bo105, ec135 and other helis....and the same technique like in MSFS :D

The wing is splitted up in several parts, and using rotation animation.
Just have a look into the 787!


Thought so. :roll:

I think it will be better to wait until someone imlements a flex animation.
Last edited by Ampere on Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ampere
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:09 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:46 pm

ok, sorry i didn't know that.....
so Ampere..are u going to do that affect or should i try to do it....
and i would also want to know how to have reverse thusters in jsbsim...(HHS u said u included the reverse thrusters files from 787...but the reverse thrusters dont work).....
.and one small request to Ampere...if u are doing any change to the aircraft...can u pls tell me...or i would like to finish the aircraft up...Thanks
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby AndersG » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:52 pm

Fahim Dalvi wrote:and i would also want to know how to have reverse thusters in jsbsim...(HHS u said u included the reverse thrusters files from 787...but the reverse thrusters dont work).....


There is probably a better way, but if not one can always cheat and rotate the engines 180 degrees by modifying /fdm/jsbsim/propulsion/engine[?]/yaw-angle-rad . I've used that for an aircraft with reversible engines and fixed pitch propellers.

/Anders
AndersG
 
Posts: 2468
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Postby Ampere » Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:00 pm

Fahim Dalvi wrote:ok, sorry i didn't know that.....
so Ampere..are u going to do that affect or should i try to do it....

If you want to try, you may. But if I were you, I would nominate HHS to write us all a flex animation instead. :mrgreen:

Fahim Dalvi wrote:and one small request to Ampere...if u are doing any change to the aircraft...can u pls tell me...or i would like to finish the aircraft up...Thanks

Not for another six months at least, so do what you think is best and post your progress here.
Ampere
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:09 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby HHS » Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:02 pm

Reverse thruster in jsbsim- well, in v0.9.10 it worked. (F100/70) but then suddenly it was gone.

In the moment I see only the possibility like Anders said.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Postby HHS » Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:03 pm

Ampere wrote:
HHS wrote:
Ampere wrote:So how was the wing flex done on the 787?


Like the rotors of the bo105, ec135 and other helis....and the same technique like in MSFS :D

The wing is splitted up in several parts, and using rotation animation.
Just have a look into the 787!


Thought so. :roll:

I think it will be better to wait until someone imlements a flex animation.


Hope you have time- in the moment I think there will be some other things with more priority. But it is easy and looks not so bad. Better than nothing!
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:30 pm

k...i will try to do it...buzy now due to exams....a380 will surely finish before 6 months...thanks guys
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Next

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests