Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby SurferTim » Thu Sep 21, 2023 12:55 pm

With the FGAddon code, the course line will only move 1 line left or right indicating full deflection on a VOR station.
Is it not moving, or only moving one line left and right? The VOR deflection will move only 1/5 of the localizer deflection.

When I change frequencies, the course indicator gets disoriented.
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby polly » Thu Sep 21, 2023 1:04 pm

I'm not seeing the same:
Image

That's with the plane loaded from fgaddon at OP's first post, located --airport=EGPC (Wick ) . The VOR deviation looks to be full scale.
I don't know if the release level is affecting this, I'm running 2020-4 at the moment.
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 3:45 pm

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Sep 21, 2023 3:42 pm

polly wrote in Thu Sep 21, 2023 1:04 pm:I don't know if the release level is affecting this, I'm running 2020-4 at the moment.

that may very well be the difference... the power code in next got some attention a few months ago... ISTR that a few craft were also updated... i'm not sure which SVN branch those updates were put in, though... so it is possible that there're at least two versions of the craft in question being looked at for this problem...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 8952
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby wlbragg » Thu Sep 21, 2023 5:30 pm

I'm not sure what it means and I didn't dig into the code very far but in OP's posted image it shows power-btn = false and also operable = false. Not so with my flight using the same parameters as the OP's. The radio code has no power-btn logic that I saw. Also in the prop tree, changing power-btn to false in my test did not shut down the radio. But it did set operable to false.

@cookf try setting power-btn to true.
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i7/GeForce RTX 2070/Max-Q
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 7394
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:31 am
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/RTX 2070

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby polly » Thu Sep 21, 2023 6:32 pm

I don't think there's been any update to the power circuitry in e.g the model's Nasal or Instrumentation.xml.

It may well be that a workaround for the power getting messed up was back-ported to a recent version of 2020-3 ( because a ticket was raised for this issue ) which would explain why neither 'next' nor '2020-3' show the issue here, while OP's 2020-3 is an earlier version.

The numeric digits for the KI155 appear to depend on:
Code: Select all
   <condition>
      <property alias="../../../params/comm-serviceable"/>
      <property alias="../../../params/nav-serviceable"/>
      <property alias="../../../params/power"/>
      <property alias="../../../params/nav-electrical"/>
   </condition>

<params>
   <comm-serviceable>instrumentation/comm[0]/serviceable</comm-serviceable>
   <nav-serviceable>instrumentation/nav[0]/serviceable</nav-serviceable>
   <power>instrumentation/comm[0]/power-btn</power>




Does that mean the property alant mentioned, if not set, will disable the NAV while the power-btn has allow the Nav radio digits to illuminate ?
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 3:45 pm

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby wlbragg » Thu Sep 21, 2023 7:07 pm

I pulled 2019.1 337 and it does not work same as OP until you set the power-btn to true for whatever nav radio your using. So that is the issue.

Easiest is to add
instrumentation/nav/power-btn = 1;
instrumentation/nav[1]/power-btn = 1;
to the code.

Or for OP to download the 2020.3 version. It should work fine.
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i7/GeForce RTX 2070/Max-Q
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 7394
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:31 am
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/RTX 2070

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby cookf » Thu Sep 21, 2023 8:17 pm

I finally got it working. Auto start made no change. After tuning nav1 and nav2 to 2 VOR beacons, I went to debug - browse internal properties/instrumentation/nav/ and ctrl + click to toggle power. Values immediately change. Repeat for nav2.
Very odd that I appear to have this and it works for others.
Now flying over Iceland from VOR to VOR. Iceland = country, not Iceland = Uk frozen stuff shop.
cookf
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2023 12:29 pm
Location: UK
Pronouns: Mr
Version: 2020.3.17
OS: Window10

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby wlbragg » Thu Sep 21, 2023 8:29 pm

Very odd that I appear to have this and it works for others.


No, not at all. You need a more recent version of the aircraft as I suggested in my prior post.
2020.3 version

I think the aircraft you are using reads the following in the .set file.

Code: Select all
<aircraft-version>v20170106</aircraft-version>

No minimum tag.

The one you want should read...
Code: Select all
<aircraft-version>v20170106</aircraft-version>
<minimum-fg-version>2018.2.0</minimum-fg-version>


Kind of funny the aircraft versions are the same and were never updated.
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i7/GeForce RTX 2070/Max-Q
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 7394
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:31 am
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/RTX 2070

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby SurferTim » Thu Sep 21, 2023 10:01 pm

If polly's version is ok, then it must be a version problem. I'm on FG2020.4.0 compiled version.
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby wlbragg » Thu Sep 21, 2023 10:15 pm

Am I missing something? I think it is the version of aircraft, not of FSFG.
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i7/GeForce RTX 2070/Max-Q
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 7394
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:31 am
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/RTX 2070

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby SurferTim » Thu Sep 21, 2023 10:23 pm

I got mine from FGAddon. I believe FG2020.4.0 uses a different set of aircraft files.
How did polly get the one that works?
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby wlbragg » Thu Sep 21, 2023 10:34 pm

My FGFS is next 2020.4 and the 337's that work are from fgaddon next down to 2020.3.
Where the aircraft stops working is fgaddon 2019.1.
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i7/GeForce RTX 2070/Max-Q
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 7394
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:31 am
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/RTX 2070

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby SurferTim » Thu Sep 21, 2023 11:14 pm

It's working with most VORs. I was testing with Crestview VOR 115.9, and apparently it is one that doesn't work.
Inverness works. St. Maarten works. ??
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby polly » Fri Sep 22, 2023 9:56 am

I do
svn checkout http://svn.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fga ... rcraft/xxx
for Aircraft and git pull - build from the source trees. " Is that wrong " ?
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 3:45 pm

Re: Cessna 337 Nav needle not working

Postby wlbragg » Fri Sep 22, 2023 10:10 am

No, not wrong. I think that your getting your aircraft from "trunk" root which is the cutting edge aircraft.
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i7/GeForce RTX 2070/Max-Q
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 7394
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:31 am
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/RTX 2070

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests