Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons  Topic is solved

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby ScottBouch » Tue May 24, 2022 9:50 pm

I just implemented the xml alias instead of Nasal, works fine, thanks.

I am yet to try this on a VORATC, It will be interesting to see how it goes, maybe tomorrow when I get a minute.

Thanks again, this help is excellent!
User avatar
ScottBouch
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:14 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
OS: Linux Mint

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby TheEagle » Tue May 24, 2022 11:23 pm

If it works on a VORTAC but not on a TACAN, you can try to use a DME instead of a NAV for the tacan-morse-gen instead - in instrumentation.xml just replace <name>nav</name> with <name>dme></name>. (And you can also try this if VORTAC's DON'T work)
Cessna 210 (Wiki)
My other aircraft: my wiki profile !
Other: FGTools (GitHub)
World tour: View on SkyVector
Please consider donating $1 / €1 to help me finance a new camera !
User avatar
TheEagle
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 3:27 pm
Location: France
Pronouns: You, he
Callsign: F-EAGLE
IRC name: none
Version: Git next
OS: Ubuntu Studio 22.04

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby ScottBouch » Wed May 25, 2022 6:39 pm

Did a little testing on Frankfurt VORTAC, and it was a success! TACAN Navigation AND Morse tones!

I will now try <name>dme></name> as you suggested and feed back the results.

Cheers, Scott.
User avatar
ScottBouch
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:14 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
OS: Linux Mint

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby ScottBouch » Wed May 25, 2022 6:45 pm

TheEagle wrote in Tue May 24, 2022 11:23 pm:in instrumentation.xml just replace <name>nav</name> with <name>dme></name>


Sorry, this must sound stupid.. in trying to implement this change regarding <name>nav</name>, I'm a bit confused...

In the generic instrumentation xml, I have found:
Code: Select all
  <nav-radio>
    <name>nav</name>
    <number>0</number>
  </nav-radio>

  <nav-radio>
    <name>nav</name>
    <number>1</number>
  </nav-radio>


But the section we worked on is:

Code: Select all
  <nav-radio>
    <name>tacan-morse-gen</name>
    <number>0</number>
    <power-supply>systems/electrical/outputs/tacan</power-supply>
  </nav-radio>


Which should I be changing?
User avatar
ScottBouch
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:14 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
OS: Linux Mint

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby TheEagle » Wed May 25, 2022 6:49 pm

Ah, sorry if I wasn't clear enough - I meant the second snippet in your last post.
Cessna 210 (Wiki)
My other aircraft: my wiki profile !
Other: FGTools (GitHub)
World tour: View on SkyVector
Please consider donating $1 / €1 to help me finance a new camera !
User avatar
TheEagle
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 3:27 pm
Location: France
Pronouns: You, he
Callsign: F-EAGLE
IRC name: none
Version: Git next
OS: Ubuntu Studio 22.04

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby ScottBouch » Thu May 26, 2022 1:37 pm

Had time for a small amount of testing:

Test 1:

-set.xml:
Code: Select all
      <tacan-morse-gen>
         <frequencies>
            <selected-mhz alias="/instrumentation/tacan/frequencies/selected-mhz"/>
         </frequencies>
         <serviceable type="bool" alias="/systems/electrical/outputs/tacan"/>
         <volume type="string" alias="/systems/vol1b-s9-c1-tacan/control-unit-9273a/volume-norm"/>
      </tacan-morse-gen>



generic-instrumentation.xml:
Code: Select all
  <nav-radio>
    <name>tacan-morse-gen</name>
    <number>0</number>
    <power-supply>systems/electrical/outputs/tacan</power-supply>
  </nav-radio>


Results:
    TACAN (VYL 21X) - Morse: No | TACAN Nav data: Yes
    VOR (BCN 121Y) - Morse: Yes | TACAN Nav data: No
    DVORTAC (FFM 89X) - Morse: Yes | TACAN Nav data: Yes

Test 2:

Strange issue here, when set to DME, every few seconds the properties in /instrumentation/tacan would get overwritten, causing lots of spurious glitches in the TACAN nav data. (This did not happen with tacan-morse-gen used in test 1).

-set.xml:
Code: Select all
      <dme>
         <frequencies>
            <selected-mhz alias="/instrumentation/tacan/frequencies/selected-mhz"/>
         </frequencies>
         <serviceable type="bool" alias="/systems/electrical/outputs/tacan"/>
         <volume type="string" alias="/systems/vol1b-s9-c1-tacan/control-unit-9273a/volume-norm"/>
      </dme>


generic-instrumentation.xml:
Code: Select all
  <nav-radio>
    <name>dme</name>
    <number>0</number>
    <power-supply>systems/electrical/outputs/tacan</power-supply>
  </nav-radio>

    TACAN (VYL 21X) - Morse: No | TACAN Nav data: Yes (with spurious over-writing issues)
    VOR (BCN 121Y) - Morse: Yes | TACAN Nav data: No
    DVORTAC (FFM 89X) - Morse: Yes | TACAN Nav data: Yes (with spurious over-writing issues)
Last edited by ScottBouch on Thu May 26, 2022 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ScottBouch
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:14 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
OS: Linux Mint

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby TheEagle » Thu May 26, 2022 3:04 pm

Sorry - I guess I should have gone to bed sooner when I wrote that message …

These are the codes you need:

generic-instrumentation.xml:
Code: Select all
  <dme>
    <name>tacan-morse-gen</name>
    <number>0</number>
    <power-supply>systems/electrical/outputs/tacan</power-supply>
  </dme>


-set.xml:
Code: Select all
      <tacan-morse-gen>
         <frequencies>
            <selected-mhz alias="/instrumentation/tacan/frequencies/selected-mhz"/>
         </frequencies>
         <serviceable type="bool" alias="/instrumentation/tacan/serviceable"/>
         <volume type="double" alias="/systems/vol1b-s9-c1-tacan/control-unit-9273a/volume-norm"/>
      </tacan-morse-gen>


The serviceable prop is for the system / equipment failures dialog - since the tacan-morse-gen would normally be part of the TACAN device, they should both use /instrumentation/tacan/serviceable.
Cessna 210 (Wiki)
My other aircraft: my wiki profile !
Other: FGTools (GitHub)
World tour: View on SkyVector
Please consider donating $1 / €1 to help me finance a new camera !
User avatar
TheEagle
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 3:27 pm
Location: France
Pronouns: You, he
Callsign: F-EAGLE
IRC name: none
Version: Git next
OS: Ubuntu Studio 22.04

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby ScottBouch » Thu May 26, 2022 3:37 pm

Woohoo!

That works great!! thanks!!

Now have Morse for VYL TACAN!!! And Frankfurt VORTAC! Thanks!!!

It is producing Morse tones when the TACAN is out of range (ie: the tacan-morse-gen nav radio unit has a bigger range), so I will disable/enable it using either the serviceable or power property based on TACAN being in range or not.

The Volume is working nicely form my control unit's potentiometer (via Arduino) too!! Great to see a real piece of 60's cockpit hardware working again!!

Utterly brilliant, thank you! - I now can't wait to hook up my intercom amplifier and try it through a headset!
User avatar
ScottBouch
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:14 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
OS: Linux Mint

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby TheEagle » Thu May 26, 2022 4:08 pm

You can try adding
Code: Select all
    <in-range type="bool" alias="/instrumentation/tacan/in-range"/>

in the <tacan-morse-gen section in the -set.xml file, though I'm not sure if it will work (or if the TACAN has that property at all)
Cessna 210 (Wiki)
My other aircraft: my wiki profile !
Other: FGTools (GitHub)
World tour: View on SkyVector
Please consider donating $1 / €1 to help me finance a new camera !
User avatar
TheEagle
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 3:27 pm
Location: France
Pronouns: You, he
Callsign: F-EAGLE
IRC name: none
Version: Git next
OS: Ubuntu Studio 22.04

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby ScottBouch » Thu May 26, 2022 4:28 pm

RESULT! that works perfectly!!

Many thanks indeed!!!

Thanks for your teaching, it's much appreciated, and now I'll be happier to tackle xml configs.

Great, thanks again!
User avatar
ScottBouch
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:14 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
OS: Linux Mint

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons  

Postby TheEagle » Thu May 26, 2022 5:19 pm

Cool ! It's always great to hear that something works, but that it works even when I thought it wouldn't is even better ! :mrgreen: Now that everything is working, please don't forget to mark the topic as solved ! :wink:
Cessna 210 (Wiki)
My other aircraft: my wiki profile !
Other: FGTools (GitHub)
World tour: View on SkyVector
Please consider donating $1 / €1 to help me finance a new camera !
User avatar
TheEagle
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 3:27 pm
Location: France
Pronouns: You, he
Callsign: F-EAGLE
IRC name: none
Version: Git next
OS: Ubuntu Studio 22.04

Re: Morse Code audio tones for TACAN beacons

Postby ScottBouch » Thu May 26, 2022 6:19 pm

Will do, thank you again for all of the guidance!!
User avatar
ScottBouch
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:14 pm
Location: Midlands, UK
OS: Linux Mint

Previous

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Octal450 and 22 guests