Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby abassign » Tue Sep 07, 2021 8:50 pm

merspieler wrote in Tue Sep 07, 2021 2:21 pm:I've got julia version issues again... I've got 1.5.3 but it says, it wants me to install 1.5.0 which is a lower version.


This is a typical case of installing from some Linux distribution. As I wrote in the manual it is likely that you need to have at least version 1.5.4. However, it is always advisable to try first, if the problem does not start is of version, in this case follow the instructions that are found here: https://medium.com/coffee-in-a-klein-bottle/install-julia-1-5-on-ubuntu-bb8be4b2571d
However if you have any difficulties write me and tell me the OS and version you are using.
Developer of the program https://wiki.flightgear.org/Julia_photoscenery_generator
FDM developer of the G91R1B aircraft https://wiki.flightgear.org/FIAT_G91R1B
JSBSim collaborator
abassign
 
Posts: 949
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: Italy (living 5 Km from airport LIME)
Callsign: I-BASSY
Version: 2020.4
OS: Ubuntu 20.10

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby abassign » Mon Sep 13, 2021 2:05 pm

I just updated the repository with version 0.3.10 of the program, the update brings some improvements that I list below:

Autimatic rebuild of the airports.jdb file
Upon a user recommendation, I have inserted the automatic rebuild of the airports.jdb database file if found corrupt. The database file takes the data from the airports.csv file always present in the directory that contains the photoscenary.ij program.

Pkg.build("CodecZlib")
The CodecZlib module is sometimes problematic in version management if highly complex packages are installed. The only practical solution is to require the module to be recompiled with the Pkg.build function. Not being able to know the actual installation status of the files, I found it much more convenient to run this command anyway even if the CodecZlib module was well installed.

Here is the manual that explains the --route parameter:
https://wiki.flightgear.org/Julia_photo ... by_--route

Here is version 0.3.10 of the GIT program
https://github.com/abassign/Photoscenary
Developer of the program https://wiki.flightgear.org/Julia_photoscenery_generator
FDM developer of the G91R1B aircraft https://wiki.flightgear.org/FIAT_G91R1B
JSBSim collaborator
abassign
 
Posts: 949
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: Italy (living 5 Km from airport LIME)
Callsign: I-BASSY
Version: 2020.4
OS: Ubuntu 20.10

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby Simworld2020 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 1:50 am

My route file is named KJAX_KMIA.xml
on command: julia photoscenary.jl --route KJAX_KMIA.xml -s 0
the program will process, but
on command: julia photoscenary.jl --route kjax_kmia.xml -s 0
I get two errors:

Error: loadRoute in the route file: kjax_kmia.xml
Error: processing will stop! The LAT or LON is invalid (Exit code 405)

It seems that the file names are case sensitive, but the error codes don't mention that.
If I'm correct, a better error message would be "Error: file not found; file names are case sensitive."
Flying DHC-6, MD-11 and A320-family
FG 2020.3.11 / 2020.4.0 nightly
Lenovo Thinkpad W540
Windows 10 Pro vers. 21H2 - 64 bit
Intel core i7-4800MQ @ 2.7 GHz
24 Gb DDR3 RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K2100M/2Gb RAM
Simworld2020
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 11:59 pm

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby merspieler » Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:19 am

Well... it is common (except for windows) that file names are case sensetive and hence shouldn't need mentioning.
Also imo the error is clear enough, that the file "kjax_kmia.xml" isn't found, if the file is named "KJAX_KMIA.xml"
Nia (you&, she/her)

Please use gender neutral terms when referring to a group of people!

Be the change you wish to see in the world, be an ally to all!

Join the official matrix space
merspieler
 
Posts: 2298
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Pronouns: you&, she/her
Callsign: you&, she/her
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: NixOS

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby Simworld2020 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 12:03 am

merspieler wrote in Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:19 am:Well... it is common (except for windows) that file names are case sensetive and hence shouldn't need mentioning.
Also imo the error is clear enough, that the file "kjax_kmia.xml" isn't found, if the file is named "KJAX_KMIA.xml"


Hi merspieler, thank you for the reply. I think sometimes it is not so intuitive, especially for those of us not used to working in a terminal with a command line environment. I just learned that while the file names are case sensitive, the image directory path is not; for that path, "D:\Photoscenery" works as well as "d:\photoscenery".

When I read the error messages about the file not loading and that there were LON and LAT errors, I started thinking (and checking) whether the flight plans were correct, whether there was a problem with .gpx vs .xml, etc. In fact, the problem was much simpler as we now know. IMO the more explicit the error message, the less time wasted trying to determine the root cause, and less need to post in the forum or contact the program author for clarification.

This program is so very impressive, I will try to post an image here, -s 2 at 10000 feet MSL heading east over Long Island, New York from KJFK to KACK.

Image
Flying DHC-6, MD-11 and A320-family
FG 2020.3.11 / 2020.4.0 nightly
Lenovo Thinkpad W540
Windows 10 Pro vers. 21H2 - 64 bit
Intel core i7-4800MQ @ 2.7 GHz
24 Gb DDR3 RAM
NVIDIA Quadro K2100M/2Gb RAM
Simworld2020
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 11:59 pm

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby Delta5142 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 4:10 am

Just a quick question, can you use photoscenery on 2020.3.11 or do you need the latest nightly?

Thanks,
Delta
Delta5142
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 4:18 pm
Location: Northern California
Callsign: DAL5142
Version: next
OS: Mac OS X

Re: New Aircraft - Promecc_Freccia

Postby SDeAstis » Thu Sep 16, 2021 7:09 pm

Some post were moved here from New Aircraft - Promecc_Freccia. One additional quote added for context.


Delta5142 wrote in Sat Sep 11, 2021 4:38 pm:Orthophotos can make a considerable improvement to your scenery. Check it out: https://wiki.flightgear.org/Julia_photo ... _generator
merspieler wrote in Sat Sep 11, 2021 6:12 pm:Yes, get ortho scenery, with your GPU, and rather low altitude, I'd recommend using 16k resolution. If you need help with it, feel free to drop me a pm.

As for recording, use obs and for publishing I'd propose using peertube as it's an open source platform and supports federation.

I did the integration of the orthophoto... here the result:
Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

I'm not 100% happy! Coastline is poor... let's say a bit ugly! looking for landmarks is not easy as well. I could not find local airfiled "Fondone" https://goo.gl/maps/LtQ97VZCHpetLkK19

The DTED is also poor... can the fidelty of the terrain elevation be improoved?

I can live with this anyway! My goal at moment is to focus on the development of the aircraft!
Last edited by Johan G on Sat Sep 18, 2021 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Some post were moved here from "New Aircraft - Promecc_Freccia". One additional quote added for context.
SDeAstis
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 6:37 am

Re: New Aircraft - Promecc_Freccia

Postby merspieler » Thu Sep 16, 2021 8:11 pm

Setting the water effects to the lowest settings doesn extend the texture over the water (at least on next branch) which makes bad coastlines way less noticable.

As far as I can see, the Fondone Airfiled (ICAO: LINK) isn't in flightgear.

For increasing the fidelity of the terrain there are two issues: a) finding a better data source (especially, if you want to publish it as you are then limited to some copy left licenses) and b) can be quite an effort to rebuild the scenery using that data... depending on how big the area is. (also border of the new and old scenery has some issues)

EDIT: Your pictures don't even show the ortho scenery, is that intended?
Nia (you&, she/her)

Please use gender neutral terms when referring to a group of people!

Be the change you wish to see in the world, be an ally to all!

Join the official matrix space
merspieler
 
Posts: 2298
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Pronouns: you&, she/her
Callsign: you&, she/her
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: NixOS

Re: New Aircraft - Promecc_Freccia

Postby Delta5142 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 8:48 pm

Yeah, that’s not photoscenery in your screenshots. It looks like the traditional WS.2.0 scenery.

Delta5142
Delta5142
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 4:18 pm
Location: Northern California
Callsign: DAL5142
Version: next
OS: Mac OS X

Re: New Aircraft - Promecc_Freccia

Postby SDeAstis » Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:03 pm

Ok...then I'm doing something wrong! I generated the DDS files with the julia stuff in 16k... but FGFS is not pointing there... what shall I do to use the orthophotos?
SDeAstis
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 6:37 am

Re: New Aircraft - Promecc_Freccia

Postby merspieler » Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:52 pm

In the launcher, under Add-ons, add another entry under "Additional scenery folders".
You've got to point it to the directory that contains Orthophotos directory.
Nia (you&, she/her)

Please use gender neutral terms when referring to a group of people!

Be the change you wish to see in the world, be an ally to all!

Join the official matrix space
merspieler
 
Posts: 2298
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Pronouns: you&, she/her
Callsign: you&, she/her
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: NixOS

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby V12 » Fri Sep 17, 2021 4:34 am

I tested 16k photoscenery on the customer's machine i9-10900 with 24GB RTX Titan and observed big lags while FG loaded that images from .M2 SATA drive. How user can avoid this lag ? It is hardly usable :(
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
V12
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Photoscenery generator for Julia compiler

Postby merspieler » Fri Sep 17, 2021 8:24 am

You can by improving to code to load the images in the background...
... or maybe by implementing a LOD for orthoscenery... dds can have prerendered mipmaps
Nia (you&, she/her)

Please use gender neutral terms when referring to a group of people!

Be the change you wish to see in the world, be an ally to all!

Join the official matrix space
merspieler
 
Posts: 2298
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Pronouns: you&, she/her
Callsign: you&, she/her
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: NixOS

Re: New Aircraft - Promecc_Freccia

Postby SDeAstis » Fri Sep 17, 2021 8:59 am

Hi,
I did that, but is not using the DDS files at 16k from my Orthophoto directory.
SDeAstis
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 6:37 am

Re: New Aircraft - Promecc_Freccia

Postby merspieler » Fri Sep 17, 2021 9:49 am

Is your GPU able to handle 16k textures?

In the sim go in the Menu to Help -> About there you can see the Max Texture Size, if it's 16384 or higher, that isn't the problem... if it's lower, you need to use a lower resolution.
Nia (you&, she/her)

Please use gender neutral terms when referring to a group of people!

Be the change you wish to see in the world, be an ally to all!

Join the official matrix space
merspieler
 
Posts: 2298
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Pronouns: you&, she/her
Callsign: you&, she/her
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: NixOS

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests