Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

I can't get the fullscreen mode running on the right monitor  Topic is solved

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

I can't get the fullscreen mode running on the right monitor

Postby Gsonz » Thu Aug 13, 2020 7:54 pm

Hello Guys

I am pretty new to this game and I have a problem I couldn't find a solution for. I have a setup with two monitors and FlightGear is opening on my main screen, just as it should. But when I have chosen the airplane etc. and click "fly", the new window opens on the secondary monitor. It starts in windowed mode so I can pull it to the other screen but as soon as I enable fullscreen mode it switches back to the wrong monitor again. I couldn't find a solution for this, the game just won't run on the right monitor when set to fullscreen.

Is there any setting I haven't seen yet or do you have any other ideas? Any help is appreciated :)

Oh, I nearly forgot some more info. I am using FlightGear Version 2020.1.3 on Windows 10 64bit. I have an i7 9700K, 16GB of RAM and a GTX 1080. The main screen has a resolution of 2560x1440, the secondary one is 1920x1080.

Have a nice day :)
Gsonz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2020 4:10 pm
Location: Germany
Callsign: GSZ1702
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: I can't get the fullscreen mode running on the right mon

Postby Johan G » Thu Aug 13, 2020 10:14 pm

Gsonz wrote in Thu Aug 13, 2020 7:54 pm:I have a setup with two monitors and FlightGear is opening on my main screen, just as it should. But when I have chosen the airplane etc. and click "fly", the new window opens on the secondary monitor. It starts in windowed mode so I can pull it to the other screen but as soon as I enable fullscreen mode it switches back to the wrong monitor again. I couldn't find a solution for this, the game just won't run on the right monitor when set to fullscreen.

I can probably not help you much, but do I understand you correctly that you do not want FlightGear to run on both monitors, only the main one?
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 6227
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 2020.3.4
OS: Windows 10, 64 bit

Re: I can't get the fullscreen mode running on the right mon

Postby Gsonz » Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:15 am

do I understand you correctly that you do not want FlightGear to run on both monitors, only the main one?

Yes, I want it to run on the main one only. But when enabling fullscreen, it always switches to the secondary one.
i7 9700K @5GHz | 16GB DDR4 3200 | Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero | GTX 1080 | Samsung 850EVO+Crucial MX500 | Windows 10 64-bit | FlightGear 2020.1.3
Gsonz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2020 4:10 pm
Location: Germany
Callsign: GSZ1702
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: I can't get the fullscreen mode running on the right mon  

Postby ludomotico » Fri Aug 14, 2020 10:00 am

I've got the same problem: when fullscreen is ON, FlightGear always uses the same monitor: the one Windows thinks is the main monitor. Fortunately for me, my front monitor is the main monitor. It seems your main monitor is the secondary one.

If you are OK with changing the main monitor for all the operating system (it might affect other applications): Go to Windows settings->display->select your front display. Last option is "make this my main display"

If you don't want to change your main display or it doesn't work, you can force FlightGear to use any of the displays but this configuration is advanced and not directly available in the launcher.

Save this file as myFlightGearDisplay.xml anywhere in your computer:

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<PropertyList>
  <sim>
    <rendering>
      <draw-mask>
        <aircraft type="bool">true</aircraft>
      </draw-mask>

      <!--multithreading-mode>AutomaticSelection</multithreading-mode-->
      <!--multithreading-mode>SingleThreaded</multithreading-mode-->
      <!-- multithreading-mode>DrawThreadPerContext</multithreading-mode -->
      <!-- multithreading-mode>CullDrawThreadPerContext -->
      <!--multithreading-mode>CullThreadPerCameraDrawThreadPerContext</multithreading-mode-->

      <camera-group>

        <window>
          <name type="string">RightWindow</name>
          <host-name type="string"></host-name>
          <display>0</display>
          <screen>0</screen>
          <fullscreen type = "bool">true</fullscreen>
          <decoration type = "bool">true</decoration>
          <x>0</x>
          <y>0</y>
          <width>1920</width>
          <height>1080</height>
        </window>

        <gui>
          <window>
            <name type="string">RightWindow</name>
          </window>
        </gui>

        <camera>
          <name type="string">FrontCamera</name>
          <window>
           <name>RightWindow</name>
          </window>

          <view>
            <heading-deg type = "double">0.0</heading-deg>
            <roll-deg type = "double">0.0</roll-deg>
            <pitch-deg type = "double">0.0</pitch-deg>
          </view>         

          <viewport>
            <x>0</x>
            <y>0</y>
            <width>1920</width>
            <height>1080</height>
          </viewport>
        </camera>

      </camera-group>
    </rendering>

  </sim>
</PropertyList>


These values are OK for my computer but, in your case, you probably want to change "screen" (not display! unless the monitors have a video card each) to 0 or 1 (I don't know the right value for you) and "width/height" to "2560/1440", or whether or not fullscreen is ON from the beginning.

Then, in the launcher, go to the "settings" tab, "additional settings" and add:

Code: Select all
--config=E:/PATHTOYOURFILE/myFlightGearDisplay.xml


If you ever want to have FlightGear extended to both monitors, you must add a new window and a new camera. Check the forum, there are plenty of examples for this: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=36230

This is my setup: two monitors, an iPad for the instrument panel and a mobile phone for GPS:

Image
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1190
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: I can't get the fullscreen mode running on the right mon

Postby Gsonz » Fri Aug 14, 2020 11:58 am

ludomotico wrote in Fri Aug 14, 2020 10:00 am:It seems your main monitor is the secondary one.

It actually isn't. Of course my main monitor is also configured as main monitor on windows, anything else wouldn't make sense.

However, thank you really much for your reply. I will try your code for the xml-File, it is exactly what I've been searching for. Thank you really much! :)
i7 9700K @5GHz | 16GB DDR4 3200 | Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero | GTX 1080 | Samsung 850EVO+Crucial MX500 | Windows 10 64-bit | FlightGear 2020.1.3
Gsonz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2020 4:10 pm
Location: Germany
Callsign: GSZ1702
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Windows 10 64-bit


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest