Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Black panels in cockpit  Topic is solved

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Black panels in cockpit

Postby zeppelin » Mon May 04, 2020 11:49 pm

Hi everyone

I've been trawling these forums and Googled for the issue but had no luck.

The background panel in the cockpit always shows as black, as if the background texture is missing. I've tried all three rendering options (Default, Rembrandt and ALS) and the same effect occurs. Below is how my Cessna 172p cockpit looks vs the sample screenshot of what it's meant to look like:

Sample: Image

Mine: Image

I've tried all the lighting conditions and various rendering options, but I have had no luck fixing this issue. Has anyone else resolved something like this?

I'm running Linux Mint 19.3 on a custom laptop with an Nvidia GTX 1070 graphics card, v440.82 driver. It's an Intel I7 processor. Running v 2018.1.1.

Many thanks

Zep
Last edited by zeppelin on Tue May 05, 2020 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
zeppelin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 11:33 pm

Re: Black panels in cockpit  

Postby wlbragg » Tue May 05, 2020 12:04 am

That is not a bug but a feature. Change the livery under "Cessna C172P/Select Livery" in the menu.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Black panels in cockpit

Postby zeppelin » Tue May 05, 2020 12:09 am

wlbragg wrote in Tue May 05, 2020 12:04 am:That is not a bug but a feature. Change the livery under "Cessna C172P/Select Livery" in the menu.


Ah ok, I didn't even notice that! Yup, that looks awesome.

Many thanks for the quick reply wlbragg.

Zep
zeppelin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 11:33 pm


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests