Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Menu position with Multi-Screen setup (3 Monitors)

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Menu position with Multi-Screen setup (3 Monitors)

Postby sfr » Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:30 pm

Hi,

my name is Stefan and i discovered flightgear a couple weeks ago, an amazing project i must say.
I'm in the process of setting up a configuration using three monitors, one 32" FHD Monitor (DVD-I-1) for the center and on each side a 23" FHD Monitor (DVI-D-0).
The OS used is Kubuntu 18.04 LTS. All monitors are connected to a Nvidia GTX 750 TI and are aligned horizontally (meaning the _center_ of all screens lays on a horizontal line).

The setup is shown here Image

(atm the screen on the right-hand side is not connected, only the left and center ones).

After some fiddling i came up with the following camera configuration for flightgear:

One window spreading all three (two atm) screens and one camera set up for each screen.

Code: Select all
        <window>
          <name type="string">main</name>
          <host-name type="string"></host-name>
          <display>0</display>
          <screen>0</screen>
          <x>0</x>
          <y>0</y>
          <width>3300</width>
          <height>1080</height>
          <overrideRedirect type = "bool">true</overrideRedirect>
          <decoration type = "bool">false</decoration>
          <fullscreen type = "bool">true</fullscreen>
        </window>


Camera view for Center

Code: Select all
        <camera>
          <name type="string">iiyama</name>
          <window>
            <name>main</name>
          </window>
          <view>
            <heading-deg type = "double">0</heading-deg>
            <roll-deg type = "double">0.0</roll-deg>
            <pitch-deg type = "double">0.0</pitch-deg>
            <x>0.0</x>
            <y>0.0</y>
            <z>0.0</z>
          </view>
          <master-perspective>
            <eye-distance type="double">0.85</eye-distance>
            <y-offset type="double">0.02</y-offset>
          </master-perspective>
          <viewport>
            <x>1380</x>
            <y>0</y>
            <width>1920</width>
            <height>1080</height>
          </viewport>
          <physical-dimensions>
            <width>0.7</width>
            <height>0.39</height>
            <bezel>
              <top>0.014</top>
              <left>0.014</left>
              <bottom>0.014</bottom>
              <right>0.014</right>
            </bezel>
          </physical-dimensions>
        </camera>


Camera view for the left screen

Code: Select all
       <camera>
          <name type="string">dell_l</name>
          <window>
            <name>main</name>
          </window>
          <view>
            <heading-deg type = "double">0</heading-deg>
            <roll-deg type = "double">0.0</roll-deg>
            <pitch-deg type = "double">0.0</pitch-deg>
            <x>0.0</x>
            <y>0.0</y>
            <z>0.0</z>
          </view>
          <left-of-perspective>
            <parent-camera>iiyama</parent-camera>
          </left-of-perspective>
          <viewport>
            <x>0</x>
            <y>0</y>
            <width>1380</width>
            <height>1080</height>
          </viewport>
          <physical-dimensions>
            <width>0.509</width>
            <height>0.286</height>
            <bezel>
              <top>0.012</top>
              <left>0.012</left>
              <bottom>0.02</bottom>
              <right>0.012</right>
            </bezel>
          </physical-dimensions>
        </camera>


Due to the different physical sizes of the center and the left/right screens i had to scale the image on the left/right side with xrandr.
(by applying a xrandr scale/transformation of 0.71875 (32" / 23") in X and Y.

xrandr -q shows:

Code: Select all
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 connected primary 1920x1080+1380+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 700mm x 390mm
   2560x1440     59.95 +
   2048x1152     60.00 
   1920x1200     59.88 
   1920x1080     60.00*
   1680x1050     59.95 
   1600x1200     60.00 
   1600x900      60.00 
   1440x900      59.89 
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02 
   1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00 
   800x600       75.00    72.19    60.32    56.25 
   640x480       75.00    72.81    59.94 
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-D-0 connected 1380x776+0+152 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 509mm x 286mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+  59.94    50.00    60.05    60.00    50.04 
   1600x900      60.00 
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02 
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00 
   1152x864      75.00 
   1024x768      75.03    60.00 
   800x600       75.00    60.32 
   720x576       50.00 
   720x480       59.94 
   640x480       75.00    59.94    59.93 


In Flightgear basically everything is displayed correctly. The only problem is that the Main Menu is shown in the upper left corner of the 'main' window of 3300x1080 pixels.
This corner is on the left 23" monitor but outside the viewable area. Is there any way to move the Main Menu e.g. to the center screen?

I could also align the left/right monitors to the upper edge of the center monitor but then all that's visible is the sky.

I hope i could make myself clear, if not then i'm happy to provide more details :)

Initially i also played with one window definition per screen. But like somebody else wrote in the forum the fps was much lower this way.

Bye, Stefan
sfr
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 5:25 pm

Re: Menu position with Multi-Screen setup (3 Monitors)

Postby wlbragg » Sun Nov 17, 2019 10:17 pm

As far as I know that is the only option unless you define three windows and three cameras, then you could put the GUI in the window of choice.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5596
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests