Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Low Framerate

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Low Framerate

Postby MrSefaa » Wed Aug 21, 2019 3:07 am

I don't know what else to tell you guys, but I am running on the "Performance" preset of the settings inside the game. Yet, I am getting literally 0 fps while I can play Triple-A games at 60+ fps. I honestly don't know what else to do but ask help here :P

Specs:
CPU: Ryzen 5 1600
GPU: AMD Rx 580
RAM: 16 GB
(that should be enough for the specs)

ples help <3
MrSefaa
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:59 am

Re: Low Framerate

Postby V12 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:44 am

Are You running FGFS on Windows, or Linux ? If Linux, it should be driver related problem. But prehistoric core of this sim doesn't support new multicore CPUs.
Try download gputest from https://www.geeks3d.com/gputest/download, run Furmark and Piano on fullscreen and write score.
If You are on Linux, try install glmark2 and paste here full console output of this test.

Small thing - I upgraded from nVidia GTX750 (glmark score almost 9000 points) with nVidia GTX 060 6GB (glmark score almost 19000), but in FGFS no significant fps gain :(

Check viewtopic.php?f=37&t=35661 for more infos.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Low Framerate

Postby Thorsten » Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:14 am

Contrary what V12 (who seems to have a bad config somewhere on his side and generally seems intent in bad-mouthing FG) claims, the 'prehistoric' core of FG is very fast on a modern high-end system - I get a solid 60 fps with all graphical goodies enabled.

Without more info, there's various possibilities:

* the GPU driver may not recognize FG as application needing attention and starts in power-saving mode
* on a two-GPU system, the low performance GPU may be used
* there may be a virus protection/ monitoring software draining performance
* ...

Generally the idea would be to start from a

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Minimal_Startup_Profile

and see what the performance is then. If that is poor, look for a systems-side reason why the OS does not allocate resources to FG, if that is okay, gradually enable graphical goodies and see where the problem occurs.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11136
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Low Framerate

Postby MrSefaa » Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:51 am

Honestly it says 0 fps...
Last edited by Johan G on Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please, dont quote the entire preceding post, it is right above your post.
MrSefaa
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:59 am

Re: Low Framerate

Postby Thorsten » Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:56 am

Well, that doesn't bring us any closer to an answer as to why it comes out that way for you.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11136
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Low Framerate

Postby MrSefaa » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:05 am

V12 wrote in Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:44 am:Are You running FGFS on Windows, or Linux ? If Linux, it should be driver related problem. But prehistoric core of this sim doesn't support new multicore CPUs.
Try download gputest from https://www.geeks3d.com/gputest/download, run Furmark and Piano on fullscreen and write score.
If You are on Linux, try install glmark2 and paste here full console output of this test.

Small thing - I upgraded from nVidia GTX750 (glmark score almost 9000 points) with nVidia GTX 060 6GB (glmark score almost 19000), but in FGFS no significant fps gain :(

Check viewtopic.php?f=37&t=35661 for more infos.


Furmark 5978 points
Piano 1726
MrSefaa
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:59 am

Re: Low Framerate

Postby MrSefaa » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:07 am

Thorsten wrote in Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:56 am:Well, that doesn't bring us any closer to an answer as to why it comes out that way for you.


It honestly doesn't lol. I already reinstalled it multiple times too. Honestly wouldn't know what else to do.
MrSefaa
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:59 am

Re: Low Framerate

Postby Thorsten » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:14 am

Well - what does the minimal startup profile do?
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11136
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Low Framerate

Postby MrSefaa » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:27 am

Thorsten wrote in Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:14 am:Well - what does the minimal startup profile do?


I don't know what you mean. I mean I started it up with it, and it was just a blank screen. But showed 0 fps for some odd reason.
MrSefaa
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:59 am

Re: Low Framerate

Postby Thorsten » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:31 am

If you have 0 fps in the minimal startup profile, the OS isn't giving FG any resources (the point of the minimal profile is that it runs on ancient, 15 year old HW with a good 60 fps or more) - this isn't related to any FG-side problem then.

So you need to check driver settings, anti-virus software, these kinds of things - probably some Windows-savvy person can help you in that department.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11136
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Low Framerate

Postby wlbragg » Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:05 am

Blank screen, 0 fps appears to be unrelated to the performance and instead a failed installation of some sort or major configuration problems.
It might help if we knew what version of OS and FlightGear your using as well as how it was installed.
My son just upgraded to a new Ryzen and I replaced my i3 with his i5. I went from an average of 10 fps to 50. The Ryzen should out perform the i5.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4930
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Low Framerate

Postby V12 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:09 am

Thorsten wrote in Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:14 am:Contrary what V12 (who seems to have a bad config somewhere on his side and generally seems intent in bad-mouthing FG)

Strange. In all my 3D apps on Win (in FSX ofcourse too) and Linux I have significant fps gain after GPU upgrade. Only in FG not.
Very strange.

MrSefaa :
I will check my furmark and piano scores evening and will report.

In my case, the bottleneck is weak CPU (running on only 30%) . Reason :
LOWI airport, rwy 08, FOV 81 degs, all shaders sliders on right side, FPS 28-30, when I move all shaders sliders to the left side, FPS is still 28-30, I observed GPU load drop from 30-40% to 10-15%. And special overlay shader is very heavy, with old GTX750 was large difference in FPS with overlay shader off and on.
Last edited by V12 on Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Low Framerate

Postby CaptB » Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:04 am

On my ancient i5 2500K (OC 4.4) and an RX580 I have between 30 and 40 fps with the IDG A320 and up to +100 on some others like the MiG21 depending on the complexity of the scenery. Turning on multithreading sure helped in regard of stutters and smoothness.
CaptB
 
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:36 pm
Callsign: EKCH_AP
IRC name: CAPTB
Version: 2018.1
OS: Xubuntu, Win7 64

Re: Low Framerate

Postby V12 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:09 am

I have i5 2550K @ 3.5 GHz, on EDDF (terragit version without Project4000 objects) and almost 20 fps with IDG A320. With Concorde the fps is slightly better, around 25 fps in clear sky day. That FPS is not problem, FG is perfectly flyable. But stuttering and lagging is very annoying.
Last edited by V12 on Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Low Framerate

Postby Thorsten » Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:10 am

In my case, the bottleneck is weak CPU (running on only 30%) .


Wow - you manage to contradict yourself in a single, bold-face statement.

If the CPU is the bottleneck - why is it not running at 100%? Is your OS not getting the message that more computing power is needed???

It's kind of the definition of a bottleneck that some resource is exhausted at 100% - so no more resources are available.

FYI - FG is completely incapable of knowing how much CPU utilization you have - that's an OS task. If the OS decides to not allocate more, either the OS is malfunctioning or you don't actually need it because some other bottleneck is present.
Last edited by Thorsten on Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11136
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Next

Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest