Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Clouds LOD

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby V12 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 3:47 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Sat May 18, 2019 1:24 pm:Hi,

I sometimes get things like this:
Image

Then, when I zoom in, I get this:
Image

I believe there is some property that you can adjust to fix this. It doesn't seem to be cloud visibility range in view > rendering, and advanced weather visibility just increases visiblity of the rainshowers, but not clouds. Can anyone remember what property I should be using?


Did You solved this anomaly ? In FG2019.1.2 exists too.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby Robertfm » Fri Oct 25, 2019 3:53 pm

See comment at end of page 1.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby V12 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:03 pm

FXAA ?
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby Robertfm » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:08 pm

It is a setting in the graphics card. Fast Approximate Anti-Aliasing
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby V12 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:14 pm

I do not use this feature.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby Robertfm » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:28 pm

The Anti-Aliasing I switched off to solve my problem is in FG start page settings. My problem was the look of 'trees'.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby V12 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:48 pm

I played with FXAA and other Nvidia settings, but I can't obtain rainy clouds over precipitation visualization like on lego's image. And this one :
Image
doesn't work too.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby Robertfm » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:51 pm

Sorry I can't assist any further you are getting in to the tech stuff I have difficulty with. Hope someone else picks it up.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby V12 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:59 pm

I found solution - turn off DDS texture cache. Somewhere in code for DDS textures is fatal bug.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:03 pm

That's correct, albeit not quite a fatal bug - the DDS doesn't like the cloud images (as I recall something to do with transparency).
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7673
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby Robertfm » Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:10 pm

So where is this DDS cache found
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:36 pm

in the data area... there's an option inside the sim on whether to use DDS or not... turn it off and you should be OK...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby enrogue » Fri Oct 25, 2019 7:15 pm

View->Rendering Options

Left Hand Column, tick boxes at the top, bottom one should be 'Use disk space for faster loading (DDS Texture Cache)'
User avatar
enrogue
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 6:40 pm
Location: London (UK)
Callsign: enrogue
OS: OS X, Ubuntu

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby V12 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 7:31 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:03 pm:That's correct, albeit not quite a fatal bug - the DDS doesn't like the cloud images (as I recall something to do with transparency).

This is not only cloud problem. On Concorde I had some .PNG textures in grayscale subformat. All faces with that textures was not displayed. After conversion to RGB PNG, all is OK. I found, that some .PNG clouds textures are in grayscale too. Tomorow I will convert it to RGB and make some tests. It is possible that this problem is only on nVidia graphics...
If is my theory correct, then we will need convert all non RGB pngs to RGB format for all transparent textures.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Clouds LOD

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 7:54 pm

V12 wrote in Fri Oct 25, 2019 7:31 pm:It is possible that this problem is only on nVidia graphics...

FWIW: i think that is doubtful... more likely is that DDS doesn't do grey-scale like it doesn't like/do a few other things ;)

converting to RGB is probably an alright thing to do anyway... perhaps you might bring it up on the mailing list and see what results of conversation about it there? i think they would know...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

PreviousNext

Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest