Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Aspect ratio

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Aspect ratio

Postby santosdumont » Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:49 pm

FG 1:2018.2.2
GTX 650 graphics card

I'm using a 31" tv as a monitor, it can switch between 4:3 and 16:9 aspect ratios. In 4:3 FGFS is in proportion but of course doesn't use the entire screen, in 16:9 the image fills the screen but only because it's stretched. I've tried experimenting with the resolution settings in Launch Control but can't find anything that works. Checking 'View/Rendering options/Compensate field of view for wider screens' makes no difference. Is it possible to use the 16:9 option?
santosdumont
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:20 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:03 pm

what is "Launch Control"? the launcher?
what resolution is your video card set to use?
how are you connecting the computer to the TV?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5137
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby santosdumont » Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:08 pm

FlightGear launch control
, as named in menu.
1024 x 768 (4:3) default
1360 x 768 (16:9) is an option but image still appears as stretched.
VGA cable


As the same problem applies to any image from the PC then logic dictates that the problem lies with the graphics card and/or OS (Linux Mint) rather than FG itself.
santosdumont
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:20 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:05 am

that's where i was headed... can you use HDMI to connect between the card and the TV? that might give you full resolution at 16:9 with the compensate for wide screens option enabled...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5137
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby santosdumont » Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:48 pm

Unfortunately can't get HDMI to work on the old tv so guess I'm stuck with 4:3. Thanks anyway.
santosdumont
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:20 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby Dave B » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:13 pm

Hi santosdumont,

Which version of Linux Mint are you using 18.x, 19.x, other, and which DE, Cinnamon, MATE, Xfce?
Are you using the proprietary NVIDIA driver, or Nouveau?
What's the TVs native resolution?
Is the VGA cable plugged directly from PC to TV, or using some adaptor?

If only offered 2 resolution options in Mints Display settings, it sounds like either a GPU driver, or VGA cable connection issue.
Dave B
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 3:19 pm


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests