Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby L0NE_PH4NT0M » Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:01 am

Hi!

I just installed FlightGear 2017.2.1 yesterday. I really want to try it out, but I have a pretty annoying graphics glitch that happens whenever I'm in the loading/startup "splash" screen and in the cockpit. I'm using a vanilla version, with the default Cessna plane without any special weather conditions. I am also just launching at the Boston Airport. Please help me. I am quite new to the Flight Simulation world, and I may not understand some of your terms. I've also already checked the Wiki and I couldn't really find anything related to my problem.

Here's a link to the Imgur Gallery: http://imgur.com/a/j7XGh

My specs are as follows:

AMD Quadcore FX-4300 3.8 Ghz Processor

AMD Radeon RX470 GPU w/ 4GB of VRAM

Windows 10 Home

8 GB of RAM

1 TB HDD


Thanks!
L0NE_PH4NT0M
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:31 am

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:44 am

does this only happen at the splash screen? if the sim loads and clears up, can you please use the F10 menu and select Help->about... then take a screen shot of that and post it, please...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby L0NE_PH4NT0M » Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:45 am

No, it stays the same. Did you see the second pic in the Imgur gallery? That's what's happening when I load into the sim.
L0NE_PH4NT0M
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:31 am

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby V12 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 7:14 pm

What graphics driver are you using ? Default Windows, or original AMD ?
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1500
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:19 pm

L0NE_PH4NT0M wrote in Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:45 am:No, it stays the same. Did you see the second pic in the Imgur gallery? That's what's happening when I load into the sim.

i didn't see it before but i do now... from that screen, you should be able to open the F10 menu and select Help->about on the right hand end of it... then take your screen shot and post it...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby L0NE_PH4NT0M » Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:05 am

wkitty42 wrote in Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:19 pm:
L0NE_PH4NT0M wrote in Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:45 am:No, it stays the same. Did you see the second pic in the Imgur gallery? That's what's happening when I load into the sim.

i didn't see it before but i do now... from that screen, you should be able to open the F10 menu and select Help->about on the right hand end of it... then take your screen shot and post it...


Image

That's what the About menu is saying. Sorry about the picture, the screenshot function didn't work.

What graphics driver are you using ? Default Windows, or original AMD ?


For my drivers, I'm using the AMD Radeon drivers from their website.
L0NE_PH4NT0M
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:31 am

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby V12 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:18 am

Try default WIndows AMD driver.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1500
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby L0NE_PH4NT0M » Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:36 am

Excuse me, but how would I go about doing this?
Last edited by bugman on Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please do not quote the entire previous post.
L0NE_PH4NT0M
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:31 am

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:27 pm

L0NE_PH4NT0M wrote in Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:05 am:Image

no permission to access that image :(

L0NE_PH4NT0M wrote in Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:05 am:That's what the About menu is saying. Sorry about the picture, the screenshot function didn't work.

i just use my system's print screen button and save that as a picture... on my linux system, it brings up a screen shot app but on others we generally open a new image in some image editor and then simply paste and save it for upload and sharing...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby L0NE_PH4NT0M » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:06 am

Sorry. Here's an Imgur link http://imgur.com/a/2d1Up
Last edited by bugman on Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please do not quote the entire previous post.
L0NE_PH4NT0M
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:31 am

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 12:07 pm

ARGH! imgur! i just spent 3 hours clicking... :oops:

ok, at least we can see the driver info as FG sees it...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby bugman » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:05 pm

If you use [img] tags using a direct link to the image (not the HTML page), you can see the image like this:

Image

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby Hooray » Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:46 pm

Is this using the new splash screen code ?
If so, have you tried using --disable-splash ?

BTW: We actually came up with patches that use the Canvas system for rendering splash screens in a more portable/better unified way: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Initializing_Nasal_early
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11329
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:21 pm

@Hooray: i think it is likely related to a bug in that ATI Radeon driver... ATI's Radeon driver crew needs to look into this and see what the deal is... if it is their problem, they can fix it... if it is something else, they can let the reporting person know to look elsewhere...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Weird Loading Screen + Cockpit Texture Glitch

Postby L0NE_PH4NT0M » Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:21 pm

Sooo... can my problem be fixed? I really want to play FlightGear ;-;
L0NE_PH4NT0M
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:31 am

Next

Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest