Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Black rectangle on the horizont  Topic is solved

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby V12 » Sat Mar 18, 2017 5:16 pm

When I flying in high altitude over FL500 toward dark side of the Earth , there is black rectangle on the horizont :

Image

This is picture of the flight from KJFK to EGLL with start 17:30 KJFK local time. Is my FG instalation broken, or is it some graphics bug, or nVidia 750GTX linux driver related problem ?
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby Thorsten » Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:06 pm

Can't see your picture, but from the description, I gather you were gifted with a view of the rare '2001 - a Space Oddyssey ' monolith phenomenon (I've been trying to chase this down for years now, it's some numerical issue of the skydome shader, and I thought I had it eliminated a while ago, but it still occurs once in a blue moon).
Last edited by Thorsten on Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10832
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby wlbragg » Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:16 pm

I can see the image and that is what it looks. I haven't seen it in forever.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4809
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby V12 » Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:21 pm

I forgot write FG version - I'm using Linux FGFS 2017.1.2.

Thorsten :
Here is image uploaded to the another server :

Image
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby Thorsten » Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:00 pm

Yep, that's the one. I haven't seen it for a long time either.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10832
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby V12 » Tue May 02, 2017 6:12 am

Ticket on sourceforge created...
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby V12 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 5:13 pm

Not solved half year, this is screenshot from 2017.3.1 :

Image

ZULU 17:10 GPS N54.10 W018.06 FL600

4 minutes later :

Image
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:49 pm

ok, i've recreated the problem... i spawned at EIBT in the UFO and went directly to N50.10 W18.06 FL600 (as noted higher in the topic)... once there, i set the time to Afternoon and then used the time warp option to speed up time... at UTC 16:26:41 the black box appeared above the horizon... reverse the timewarp a little and reset it and the black block will go away and then reappear when the time hits again... the back edge of the block appears to go from 339 degrees (left end) to 131 degrees (right end)... advance the time warp to UTC 17:15:03 and the black block goes away... you can see the ground getting darker as the time advances and the earth's shadow approaches...

now to try to reproduce this elsewhere...

yes, this time i went to KSFO, 60000 feet, 90 degrees azimuth... set the time for Afternoon, use the time warp to advance to UTC 00:22:27 and the black block appears as above... time warp forward to UTC 00:54:46 and the block goes away...

and again in Hawaii... PHNL, 60000 feet, 90 degrees azimuth... same thing at the expected different times...

i also tested against the altitude... if i dropped below 54000 feet, the block went away... hit 54000 and it comes back...

this should be enough information for others to reproduce the problem and see about correcting it...

[EDIT]

i forgot to add that i'm running the latest repo code...
Code: Select all
********** 2017-10-28 14:27:19 **********
********** Total elapsed update and compile time is 0 days 0 hours 5 minutes 19 seconds **********

PLib:    a542b8a03f8de1fe844af6ab4734b64d11e272e9
OSG 3.4: cf044027a7f1f124d7bae7e2d046fa2c05c8c0bc
Simgear: 880c063d0411400cf71a25e20695a17927cac3e9
FGFS:    86aaaf6de9a6e516ce04dd51be2dc011f2d06502
FGData:  f4acff53ee7562952069018dc823ce93d33c5dd2
FGAddon: r3067 | rleibner | 2017-10-28 10:24:06 -0400 (Sat, 28 Oct 2017)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5568
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby V12 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:19 pm

What about Your graphics card ? NVidia or AMD ?
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:22 pm

@V12: if you are talking to me, my graphic card is NVIDIA as shown in my profile... GeForce GT730...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5568
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby V12 » Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:05 am

OK, thanks. I did not checked it in Your profile.
BTW, here is ticket on the BugTracer :
https://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/codetickets/1965
Last edited by V12 on Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:25 pm

i just added to that bug report and pointed to this topic... especially since i was able to post instructions for reproducing it...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5568
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont

Postby Thorsten » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Seems to have been one of those weird numerical issues graphics cards are so fond of as I suspected - hopefully it's gone now.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10832
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Black rectangle on the horizont  

Postby V12 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:37 am

Yes, monolith is gone. Thank You for fix.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests