Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue  Topic is solved

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Oct 11, 2021 2:54 am

not less, to a point, but lower resolution... in other words, a general color of the facade on a building might be seen when it is in Rough LOD... when it is within the Detailed LOD the details of the facade would appear and be more and more detailed as you approach the building... in Bare LOD, you might see the building or a rough shape of it...

TL;DR: LOD (supposedly) has more to do with the details seen and not so much the number of objects... although at longer distances, it would appear that there are fewer objects... depending on their size, of course...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9146
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby Volador » Mon Oct 11, 2021 9:08 am

Ok, so digging into this theory - does each aircraft store it's own LOD settings when FG is run or is that a global FG setting. I'm trying to unpick (with my limited knowledge) why the cockpit glass on the 747 is suddenly affecting the LOD.
User avatar
Volador
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:58 pm
Callsign: Volador, G-VLDR
Version: 2020.4
OS: Windows 10, 64 bit

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Oct 11, 2021 9:00 pm

AFAIK there is only the global LOD stuff that you can set/adjust in FG...

perhaps it is not a LOD problem, though... perhaps it is something in the glass material or a shader the glass is using...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9146
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby Volador » Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:53 pm

Not solved but solution for the EC130: Can you turn off the cockpit glass in the code for the 747?

EC130 With glass: (notice visibility range)

Image

EC130 Glass turned off (option) notice we can now see the hills in the background

Image
User avatar
Volador
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:58 pm
Callsign: Volador, G-VLDR
Version: 2020.4
OS: Windows 10, 64 bit

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby TheEagle » Mon Oct 25, 2021 4:08 pm

Volador wrote in Thu Sep 09, 2021 7:48 pm:another case on the C208 propeller...

Image

I have this too, but only inside some hangars.
Cessna 210 (Wiki)
My other aircraft: my wiki profile !
Other: FGTools (GitHub)
World tour: View on SkyVector
Please consider donating $1 / €1 to help me finance a new camera !
User avatar
TheEagle
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 3:27 pm
Location: France
Pronouns: You, he
Callsign: F-EAGLE
IRC name: none
Version: Git next
OS: Ubuntu Studio 22.04

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby dom_vc10 » Tue Oct 26, 2021 9:30 am

I get it around the windows for example on all aircraft when I move the view around.

Image
dom_vc10
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 8:33 am
Location: CZ - LKTB
Version: nightly
OS: Linux Mint 20.2

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue  

Postby Volador » Thu Oct 28, 2021 9:05 am

SOLUTION (PATCH)
Good news for anyone having the same issue on the 747 8i or 8F. Tikibar has kindly sent some code that will remove the glass from the cockpit view.

Tikibar:
It looks like something isn't getting stacked up right in the rendering end of things... ...I do have a fix to get rid of the cockpit windows. Just add this somewhere after line 5 in Models/747-8i.xml or Models/747-8F.xml:

Code: Select all
    <animation>
        <type>select</type>
        <object-name>cockpitshell_0_0</object-name>
        <condition>
                <not>
                        <property>sim/current-view/internal</property>
                </not>
        </condition>
    </animation>


That ought to hide the cockpit window glass from all in-cockpit views.
[edited to display code] :)
Last edited by Volador on Thu Oct 28, 2021 6:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Volador
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:58 pm
Callsign: Volador, G-VLDR
Version: 2020.4
OS: Windows 10, 64 bit

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Oct 28, 2021 3:20 pm

you really should put the code in code tags to preserve the formatting and make reading it easier...
eg:
Code: Select all
[code]
stuff formatted
  in here
    is easier
  to read
[/code]
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9146
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby TheEagle » Thu Oct 28, 2021 3:40 pm

I don't know if any of the aircraft having this issue has implemented rain drops on the windshield, but if it has, you will be hiding them with that fix.
Cessna 210 (Wiki)
My other aircraft: my wiki profile !
Other: FGTools (GitHub)
World tour: View on SkyVector
Please consider donating $1 / €1 to help me finance a new camera !
User avatar
TheEagle
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 3:27 pm
Location: France
Pronouns: You, he
Callsign: F-EAGLE
IRC name: none
Version: Git next
OS: Ubuntu Studio 22.04

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby Volador » Thu Oct 28, 2021 6:47 pm

It's a patch until perhaps the shader stuff is fixed (beyond me - and tikibar also said the shader stuff was not his area either). I'd rather see the scenery beyond 100m than raindrops.
User avatar
Volador
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:58 pm
Callsign: Volador, G-VLDR
Version: 2020.4
OS: Windows 10, 64 bit

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby Volador » Sat Nov 27, 2021 4:10 pm

Well, after a re-install and clean up of the aircraft folders, and re-downloading the 747 again the issue seems to have gone for the windshield, and also the ultra shadows seem to be working again too (all aircraft shadows were previously a huge square shadow that extended around 1000m) but now as reported on the systems thread https://forum.flightgear.org/viewtopic.php?f=66&t=39967&p=395344#p395063, the 747 no longer wants to start up, either manually or automatically :( so I can't fly it

build-id = 4224
build-number = 4224
build-type = Nightly
flightgear = 2020.4.0
hla-support = false
openscenegraph = 3.6.5
revision = aad67cdad90a8c66a66a8e35b21212f6c3ed23ea
simgear = 2020.4.0
User avatar
Volador
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:58 pm
Callsign: Volador, G-VLDR
Version: 2020.4
OS: Windows 10, 64 bit

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby V12 » Sat Nov 27, 2021 5:37 pm

Use stable 2020.3.11.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
V12
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby Volador » Sat Nov 27, 2021 7:54 pm

I know :( but then I won't get nice ortho scenery. Life on the cutting edge eh? I will be patient and cross my fingers that the brains of the dev's will prevail in time :)
User avatar
Volador
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:58 pm
Callsign: Volador, G-VLDR
Version: 2020.4
OS: Windows 10, 64 bit

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby TheEagle » Fri Dec 03, 2021 11:52 pm

I don't know but I think this falls into the same category. Look what a colourful apron I got today at EDDF ! :shock:
Image

It wasn't there when I spawned - there were three important events after I spawned: Another player joined the server, I disabled AI traffic and I changed from ALS to default renderer. I also got wrong textures on some, not all of my instruments - seemed to be completely random:
Image

I saw this before at _any_ airport. The wrong texture of my aircraft's fuselage might be caused by one of the MP aircraft (or could it ?). But the apron …
Cessna 210 (Wiki)
My other aircraft: my wiki profile !
Other: FGTools (GitHub)
World tour: View on SkyVector
Please consider donating $1 / €1 to help me finance a new camera !
User avatar
TheEagle
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sat May 01, 2021 3:27 pm
Location: France
Pronouns: You, he
Callsign: F-EAGLE
IRC name: none
Version: Git next
OS: Ubuntu Studio 22.04

Re: odd cockpit view clipping ranges issue

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Dec 04, 2021 6:30 pm

TheEagle wrote in Fri Dec 03, 2021 11:52 pm:The wrong texture of my aircraft's fuselage might be caused by one of the MP aircraft (or could it ?). But the apron …

yes, it is possible a MP craft might interfere if it is not coded to use the property tree properly... i'm not sure about the apron, though... things like that are generally corrupted indexes pointing to the wrong things... or possibly a hash collision if you're using something like the DDS cache, maybe? i don't know how large the hash space is that is being used...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9146
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

PreviousNext

Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests