Board index FlightGear Support Interfacing

[SOLVED] debug serial connection Arduino uno  Topic is solved

Connecting two computers, using generic protocol, connecting with Matlab?

[SOLVED] debug serial connection Arduino uno  

Postby rooman » Sun Sep 04, 2022 4:55 pm

Hi there, I'm new to Arduino but trying hard.
I've wired up the Uno and copied all code according to the example n°2 here https://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Use_Arduino_with_FlightGear
The serial monitor shows correct readings in the IDE so all is ok, but FG does not seem to react.
The xml file is in
/usr/share/games/flightgear/Protocol

How can I debug this problem?
Last edited by rooman on Sun Sep 04, 2022 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Grew up with Dr Who then discovered Monty Python and Middle Earth. The world was never the same.
rooman

Callsign: HB-ROO
Version: Next + LTS

Re: debug serial connection Arduino uno

Postby ludomotico » Sun Sep 04, 2022 5:43 pm

Hello rooman

The I/O interface in FlightGear is not the most error resistant nor debuggable. Lots of things can go wrong, and no messages will be shown anywhere. Check:

- All cable connections are working OK in the Arduino.
- There could be an error in the XML file. Please, check the FG console for errors.
- The I/O interface is only started when FG begins: plug in the Arduino and then run FlightGear. You cannot plug the Arduino while FG is running. You must restart FG if you change anything in the Arduino.
- The wiki page lists /dev/ttyACM0 as the device of the Arduino, but it might be different in your system. Double check this is the device assigned in your system to the Arduino. I would say that /dev/ttyS0 or /dev/ttyUSB0 (or other numbers) are more common device names.
- If you are using Windows, keep in mind you cannot use the Arduino serial monitor and FlightGear at the same time! It is much harder to debug without the serial monitor, I know.