Board index FlightGear Support Interfacing

OpenTrack - point tracker offset issue

Connecting two computers, using generic protocol, connecting with Matlab?

OpenTrack - point tracker offset issue

Postby OO-IVO » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:23 pm

Hi all,

This problem is bugging me for a while right now. I'm running flightgear 2016-1-3 on an imac (osx sierra) and have opentrack 2.3.0 RC6 installed. Made a nice cap with infrared leds, set it up with current settings:

input: point tracker 1.1
output: flightgear
filter : accela

Tested this config in opentrack and all works fine....

To interface with filghtgear i've follwed the instructions of the flightgear plugin:

added this file to fgdata/Protocol/

headtracker.xml
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>

<PropertyList>
   <generic>
      <input>
         <binary_mode>true</binary_mode>
         <binary_footer>none</binary_footer>
         <byte_order>host</byte_order>
         <record_length>52</record_length>

         <chunk>
            <name>x</name>
            <type>double</type>
            <node>/sim/current-view/x-offset-m</node>
         </chunk>

         <chunk>
            <name>y</name>
            <type>double</type>
            <node>/sim/current-view/y-offset-m</node>
         </chunk>

         <chunk>
            <name>z</name>
            <type>double</type>
            <node>/sim/current-view/z-offset-m</node>
         </chunk>

         <chunk>
            <name>heading</name>
            <type>double</type>
            <node>/sim/current-view/heading-offset-deg</node>
         </chunk>

         <chunk>
            <name>pitch</name>
            <type>double</type>
            <node>/sim/current-view/pitch-offset-deg</node>
         </chunk>

         <chunk>
            <name>roll</name>
            <type>double</type>
            <node>/sim/current-view/roll-offset-deg</node>
         </chunk>

         <chunk>
            <name>status</name>
            <type>int</type>
            <node>/sim/current-view/headtracker-debug-status</node>
         </chunk>
      </input>
   </generic>
</PropertyList>


And added this rule to the additional options in Filightgear

--generic=socket,in,25,127.0.0.1,5542,udp,headtracker

Now I can startup FG and headtracking seems to work. With the default cessna c172 I'm positioned right in the center of the plane (thus not on the pilot seat). I've tried to adjust the view position with the in-game menu but this doesn't seem to work. I've also tried to adjust the position ( z-offset-m) in the property browser and also no succes. I think the headtracker.xml is overriding the default offset position of the current plane (x-offset-m, y-offset-m and z-offset-m).

So, my question:

Is there some way to add the chosen plane's view offset of each angle (x-offset-m, y-offset-m and z-offset-m) to the headtraker.xml or is there a way to write a nasal script to do this? I'm not that familliar with nasal yet. Please help! Thanks, Ivo.
OO-IVO
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:05 pm

Re: OpenTrack - point tracker offset issue

Postby Steven » Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:13 pm

I tried EDTracker with FlightGear for head tracking with opentrack in between and had the same problem with the camera offset.
What made it work for me was to delete '/x-offset-m', '/y-offset-m' and '/z-offset-m' from the .xml.
Steven
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:49 pm

Re: OpenTrack - point tracker offset issue

Postby Talkless » Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:01 pm

I discovered same issue, camera is in the center of the plane by default. I have to configure Opentrack x/y/z offset for each plane individually...
Here is github issue: https://github.com/opentrack/opentrack/issues/682
Talkless
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:05 pm
Callsign: TLS
IRC name: Talkless
Version: git master
OS: Linux

Re: OpenTrack - point tracker offset issue

Postby xptical » Tue Dec 25, 2018 4:02 pm

This is still an issue with the latest FG and OT. Any fix? Does deleting '/x-offset-m', '/y-offset-m' and '/z-offset-m' from the .xml remove those degrees of freedom from the model?
xptical
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: OpenTrack - point tracker offset issue

Postby GuillaumeD » Tue Feb 02, 2021 10:56 am

Hi

To my knowlegde, the problem is still the same until FG 2020.3. I dug into it and created a merge request that fixes the problem, I hope it will be included in a next version.
Here it is, with all explanation and context : https://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/fl ... uests/239/
GuillaumeD
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2021 7:41 pm


Return to Interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests