Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGRun

Protocol Settings

FGRun is a graphical frontend to run FlightGear.

Protocol Settings

Postby Robertfm » Fri Jun 28, 2019 4:59 pm

I am currently setting up Edtracker with Opentrack which now directly supports FG. I have a simple question is FG's default IP 127.0.0.1 and port 5542 for latest version. That is the setting in Opentrack.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1049
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Protocol Settings

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Jun 28, 2019 5:06 pm

127.0.0.1 is your machine's localhost IP... this IP always exists and every machine has it to refer to itself...

if edtracker or opentrack (never heard of them) use http to interface with FG, then you would start FG with the "--httpd=5542" option in your additional settings file... that causes FG to fire up its built-in web server and any system on your network can attach to it and watch your FG... if they are running on your machine, they could use the 127.0.0.1 localhost address... if they are elsewhere on your network, they would use your (likely) RFC-1918 private LAN address... generally 192.168.x.y... in each case, the browser location bar would have something like
http://127.0.0.1:5542/

an example of this is when my father was alive, i would go to his machine and launch his web browser pointing it to my system and port... then i would switch the Phi display to the map tab and he could watch me flying along seeing what i see on my screen... there was a 5 second delay in screen refreshes but it was good enough for me to show him things in FG...


[edit1] oops! --httpd= not --http=[/edit1]
[edit2] oops! 5542 not 5543... sorry [/edit2]
Last edited by wkitty42 on Sun Jun 30, 2019 4:58 am, edited 2 times in total.
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Protocol Settings

Postby Robertfm » Fri Jun 28, 2019 5:30 pm

So if they have the Port as 5542 it won't work ?. Just to confirm the settings code: --httpd=5543
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1049
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Protocol Settings

Postby wlbragg » Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:26 pm

I think wkitty42 had a simple typo, if they communicate with 5542 then you use --httpd=5542
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Protocol Settings

Postby wlbragg » Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:28 pm

Also if you are unsure of your local computer id, usually localhost will work in place of the numbers.

ie:

http://localhost:5542/
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Protocol Settings

Postby Robertfm » Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:34 pm

Thanks
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1049
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Protocol Settings

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Jun 30, 2019 4:57 am

wlbragg wrote in Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:26 pm:I think wkitty42 had a simple typo,

it was a typo :( i've now corrected it in my original post...

wlbragg wrote in Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:26 pm:if they communicate with 5542 then you use --httpd=5542

and if they allow to choose your own port, select any other one above 1024 and lower than 65534 and set both to use that... just remember that which ever port is used, all http access to FG will be on that same port...

eg: i regularly use the builtin PHI when flying plus i also have a self-written python script that pulls the JSON data for all the AI craft so i can see them listed in text chart format for various reasons... so that's two apps hitting FG on the same port and it seems to work just fine... if i were to start playing with a RPi or Ardunio, it would probably go that way, as well...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Protocol Settings

Postby Robertfm » Sun Jun 30, 2019 3:53 pm

Thanks for your reply. I have left it on 5542. Since the bug fix for opentrack Edtracker is simply recognised i FG. A doddle to set up even for me. Getting curves right was also quite easy.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1049
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm


Return to FGRun

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest