Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGRun

Command Line:

FGRun is a graphical frontend to run FlightGear.

Re: Command Line:

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 12:25 am

ok, that's a good way... i was thinking that you might not have been exiting cleanly and the setting not being saved...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Command Line:

Postby Robertfm » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:34 am

Thanks for the response, when I originally had the issue I finally discovered it was the Avionics slider in Sound set up. I put it on and everything has been working fine for weeks, then after being fine all morning yesterday it just switched itself off. I switched it back on then fine again. I've always used the File Menu method of switching off.

I wondered if there was a short code to put into settings making default on.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Command Line:

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:32 am

there possibly is... i've used property settings so my sim would init with specific volume settings... let me see if i still have one of those detailed .rc files floating around...

[time passes]

ahh, here we go... i think this might be what you are looking for... especially the avionics section... the volume properties are 0 to 1 range for the volume setting... these are set for how i wanted them on my system but are easily adjusted for your's...

Code: Select all
# turn on/off the talking voices for tutorials etc
--prop:/sim/sound/voices/enabled=true

# master volume
--prop:/sim/sound/enabled=true
--prop:float:/sim/sound/volume=0.50000000
# aimodels sound settings
--prop:/sim/sound/aimodels/enabled=true
--prop:float:/sim/sound/aimodels/volume=1.00000000
# AIATC sound settings
--prop:/sim/sound/atc/enabled=true
--prop:/sim/sound/atc/external-view=true
--prop:float:/sim/sound/atc/volume=1.00000000
# avionics sound settings
--prop:/sim/sound/avionics/enabled=true
--prop:/sim/sound/avionics/external-view=true
--prop:float:/sim/sound/avionics/volume=1.00000000
# effects sound settings
--prop:/sim/sound/effects/enabled=true
--prop:float:/sim/sound/effects/volume=1.00000000
# chatter sound settings
--prop:/sim/sound/chatter/enabled=false
--prop:float:/sim/sound/chatter/volume=0.60000000
# scene sound settings
--prop:/sim/sound/scene/enabled=true
--prop:float:/sim/sound/scene/volume=0.60000000
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Command Line:

Postby Robertfm » Wed Jun 19, 2019 11:04 am

So if I put --prop:/sim/sound/enabled=true in Settings that should do the trick
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Command Line:

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:52 pm

that's the master switch to enable all sim sounds... you mentioned avionics specifically... did you scroll the code box and see the avionics section? ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Command Line:

Postby Robertfm » Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:21 pm

--prop:/sim/sound/avionics/enabled=true
--prop:/sim/sound/avionics/external-view=true

These are correct in Properties Browser. So is the Master Switch code setting Avionics as well as other Sound effects.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Command Line:

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:16 pm

each sound channel has a switch to turn it on or off... they also have volume sliders... all of the sound channels are ultimately routed through the master volume and switch... if it is off, no sounds are played... if the master volume is low, all sounds are low in the final output...

so i'm wondering if you were asking about the master switch instead of the avionics switch... when you start the sim and you don't hear any sounds, look in the property tree and compare the switches with the ones i listed... if you find one that is off that should be on, set it on and then (for now) add it to your additional settings box in the launcher... there have been some changes to the radios and stuff that could be affecting this but you should only see them if you are running the nightly generated beta code...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Command Line:

Postby Robertfm » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:31 pm

Sorry I probably confused you. It was the avionics slider that turned itself off. As I said according Prop it was set to true when I checked it. If it goes again I will work through the list.

Thanks once again. I am becoming more and more familiar with things now. Still a lot to learn about the coding and where to look for things. Thanks to help I'm getting there.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Command Line:

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:19 pm

Robertfm wrote in Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:31 pm:Sorry I probably confused you. It was the avionics slider that turned itself off. As I said according Prop it was set to true when I checked it. If it goes again I will work through the list.

the avionics slider? that's the volume control for it... the "X"es in the boxes are the switches...

Robertfm wrote in Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:31 pm:Thanks once again. I am becoming more and more familiar with things now. Still a lot to learn about the coding and where to look for things. Thanks to help I'm getting there.

i'm glad to help when i can... i'm still learning FG and i've been here on these forums since 2015 Feb after having installed FG maybe a month or two earlier... i don't use the available packages any more but instead run a script to build FG from the actual source code... easy to do on linux but not quite so easy on winwhatever... keep asking those questions! when i go to help someone with a question i don't already know the answer to, i generally learn something else about FG, too :)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Command Line:

Postby Robertfm » Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:18 pm

Thank you for pointing out the difference, although I was meaning it has a sliding motion rather than a twisting motion but I get the point. It seems to be all about terminology in many of the questions and answers.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Command Line:

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Jun 21, 2019 2:45 pm

yes, using the proper terminology is a GoodThing<tm>

especially when you have a bunch of literal and highly technical folks like we have here in FG :mrgreen:

kinda like the joke:
my wife is mad at me because i brought home twelve loaves of bread.
she told me, "go to the store and get a loaf of bread. if they have any eggs, get a dozen." so i did.
Last edited by wkitty42 on Fri Jun 21, 2019 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Command Line:

Postby Robertfm » Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:10 pm

Boom, boom.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Command Line:

Postby Robertfm » Sat Jun 22, 2019 4:04 pm

Well it did it again today. When I've finished flying I will upload those codes in settings and see what happens. Most odd. No other sounds are lost, not even NDB's when I set one. Some even activate without setting.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Command Line:

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:34 pm

You can adjust the sliders etc runtime in the sound config menu to restore sound, if that helps solve the symptoms if not the cause ;)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7007
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Command Line:

Postby Robertfm » Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:49 pm

It is the slider in Avionics Sound config that turns itself off.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

PreviousNext

Return to FGRun

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests