Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGRun

Newbie question

FGRun is a no-longer maintained graphical frontend to run FlightGear.

Newbie question

Postby cvj » Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:53 am

I am new to FsFlightgear and still trying to figure this excellent flight simulator out.

Somehow, I always end up with the "default" scenario wit the Cessna 172 on the runway in KSFO. If I change airports to e.g. KSEA, that change has to be done again the next time I start up.

What I want to ask is if there is a simple (not Command line) way to start up where I left off?

I also noticed, that if I try to change aircraft from the Cessna to say the B737, the small "Run" bottom in the lower right corner becomes grayed out and does not respond. Again, is there a simple way to fix that?

I realize that a lot of users are into programming, but I am just a novice used to a GUI interface like FS 2002 (ancient)!
cvj

Re: Newbie question

Postby Parnikkapore » Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:37 am

Note: It sounds like you are running an old version of FlightGear. What version are you using, and are you considering updating?

Strange... The launcher should remember where you last started unless you picked something else!
There are free alternatives to (almost) every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore

Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next

Postby cvj » Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:49 pm

No, I am running FlightGear 2017.1.3 downloaded yesterday and installed on a new Windows 10 laptop.

I have uninstalled/reinstalled the program today - still with the same disappointing result.

I have also searched the files for the "QT Launcher" and "fgrun.exe" - and neither is there.

So the only way I can start FSFG is to click on the Windows desktop icon..

Also noted, that even though I selected terrasync that does not update the scenery "on the fly", so I manually downloaded and installed a bunch of tar.gz files in the scenery folder and that worked..