Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGRun

Very annoying FGRUN problem

FGRun is a graphical frontend to run FlightGear.

Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby it0uchpods » Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:10 pm

Hello.

When I open FGRUN, Windows switches to the Basic Theme (Windows 7 x64, just clean installed recently, did not have this issue on Vista)
Once FGFS is launched, if I quit FGRUN, it goes back to Aero.

Can anyone explain why this happens?
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby PINTO » Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:57 pm

Right click on fgrun, properties, and check the compatibility tab.
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (link to repo) (link to thread)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby it0uchpods » Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:02 pm

Already did.

Also, tried setting it to Windows 7, and Vista compatibility modes.

Also it (and FGFS, but not the --launcher box) always appear on my num2 display... very odd.
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby PINTO » Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:19 pm

Well, FGRun got removed from 2016.4.1, so it's officially officially no longer supported.
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (link to repo) (link to thread)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby it0uchpods » Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:04 am

I use 2016.1.2, so that's irrelevant.

Later version annoy me.

2016.2.1 Terrasync issue (actually don't really care anymore, since I don't use TerraSync anymore)
2016.3.1 No console >:( very hard to develop unless I start from console
2016.4.1 not out yet

The Qt launcher also annoys me, as it doesn't stay open, and the aircraft selection thing is hard to quickly find a plane in my opinion. Which is irritating when working on nasal, and need to restart FGFS frequently.

I'd like to keep using FGRUN as long as able. I think it is much superior.

I guess I'll blame Windows Update, it was fine before the update. I'll check for more updates, maybe a solve.
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby Johan G » Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:34 am

it0uchpods wrote in Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:04 am:[...] the aircraft selection thing is hard to quickly find a plane in my opinion. Which is irritating when working on nasal, and need to restart FGFS frequently.

While I still use an ancient release, I think FGRUN is too slow.* ;) I have worked around that by setting up batch files.

* Though by now most peoples smartphones are equal to or stronger than my machine... :|
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5296
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby it0uchpods » Sat Nov 19, 2016 3:23 pm

But that has another problem
You need to constantly edit the batch file, or setup a thing which asks you for stuff.

But again that is not what the point of this thread is, I am asking if anyone knows why I have this issue.
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby ludomotico » Sat Nov 19, 2016 3:59 pm

It seems to be a known bug of the FLTK library, which Fgrun uses: http://www.fltk.org/str.php?L3119 Apparently, this bug only appears under some specific circumstances related to the video card driver.

The FLTK library is not related to the FlightGear project and this bug seems to affect only Windows 7.

This affects to a no longer maintained application (FGRun) using an old library (FLTK), which has a bug under a specific video driver in a very specific operating system, which is deprecated (Windows 7) I guess there is little you can do to fix this.
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby it0uchpods » Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:26 pm

...

No way at all to fix this ever?
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby PINTO » Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:34 pm

Well, it's open source, so you could learn the code. Or convince someone else to. :)
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (link to repo) (link to thread)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby it0uchpods » Sat Nov 19, 2016 8:20 pm

Do you know where the code is?
I can't open an exe
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby sanhozay » Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:03 pm

sanhozay
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:57 am
Location: EGNM
Callsign: G-SHOZ
Version: Git
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:06 pm

it0uchpods wrote in Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:04 am:Later version annoy me.

2016.2.1 Terrasync issue (actually don't really care anymore, since I don't use TerraSync anymore)
2016.3.1 No console >:( very hard to develop unless I start from console
2016.4.1 not out yet

these problem are all fixed... please remember that flightgear is now on a rolling release schedule... there are planned to be four releases per year... some may be buggy but those bugs will generally be fixed sooner rather than later if people will upgrade and run the new versions... i have not seen any official statement on EOL of older version but i suspect that it would be something like "support for current version and one back" or similar...

it0uchpods wrote in Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:04 am:The Qt launcher also annoys me, as it doesn't stay open, and the aircraft selection thing is hard to quickly find a plane in my opinion. Which is irritating when working on nasal, and need to restart FGFS frequently.

it is not supposed to stay open... why would it need to? as far as finding a craft, type the name in the search... i do it all the time with no problems... we won't mention that the launcher retains the last craft you selected and now even has the ability to select previous craft and starting locations from a list with one or two clicks so there's very little rooting about if one wants that...

as far as restarting flightgear frequently, why not make yourself a bat or script file with your common parameters in it or in a fgfsrc or .fgfsrc file and then just start the sim with --aircraft=foo and be done with it... don't fight the tools, use them to your advantage... the following short script shows the same stuff that fgrun used to do on my system when i used to use it... since i don't change anything generally other than the craft and the airport, i can hard code most everything into the script and pass the aircraft and airport if desired... you can easily see what fgrun sends by enabling that function and then simply copying it and putting it all into a script like below or in a resource file as mentioned above... a child of oh wait... child sold separately...

EG:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash

#set up your environment
cd ~/flightgear-dev/next/install/flightgear/bin
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=../../simgear/lib:../../openscenegraph/lib:../../openrti/lib:../../plib/lib

# execute fgfs with all your desired settings
./fgfs --fg-root=$PWD/../fgdata/ \
  --fg-scenery=/home/myuser/myflightgear/Scenery:/home/myuser/myflightgear/TSScenery \
  --fg-aircraft=/home/myuser/flightgear-dev/fgaddon-ng/Aircraft:/home/myuser/myflightgear/Addons:/home/myuser/myflightgear/Aircraft \
  --terrasync-dir=/home/myuser/myflightgear/TSScenery \
  --config=/home/myuser/myflightgear/Addons/ATCChatter/config.xml \
  --prop:string:/addons/ATCChatter/path=/home/myuser/myflightgear/Addons/ATCChatter \
  --config=/home/wkitty42/myflightgear/Addons/cockpit-view.xml
  --disable-ai-models \
  --disable-ai-traffic \
  --disable-clouds3d \
  --disable-fgcom \
  --disable-random-buildings \
  --disable-random-objects \
  --disable-random-vegetation \
  --disable-terrasync \
  --enable-clouds \
  --enable-distance-attenuation \
  --enable-enhanced-lighting \
  --enable-fuel-freeze \
  --enable-fullscreen \
  --enable-horizon-effect \
  --enable-hud \
  --enable-hud-3d \
  --enable-anti-alias-hud \
  --enable-real-weather-fetch \
  --enable-specular-highlight \
  --aircraft=ufo \
  --airport=KSFO \
  --bpp=32 \
  --fog-disable \
  --geometry=1024x768 \
  --hud-tris \
  --hud-culled \
  --log-level=debug \
  --texture-filtering=16 \
  --visibility=150000 \
  --prop:/local-weather/config/ground-haze-factor=370 \
  --prop:/sim/rendering/max-paged-lod=400 \
  --prop:/sim/rendering/osg-notify-level=fatal \
  --prop:/sim/rendering/shaders/skydome=true
  --prop:double:/sim/rendering/static-lod/ai-detailed=35000 \
  --prop:double:/sim/rendering/static-lod/ai-range-mode-pixel=0 \
  --prop:double:/sim/rendering/static-lod/detailed=1500 \
  --prop:double:/sim/rendering/static-lod/rough=9000 \
  --prop:double:/sim/rendering/static-lod/bare=150000 \
  --prop:/sim/terrasync/http-server=http://flightgear.sourceforge.net/scenery \
  --prop:/sim/time/warp-easing=false

unset OSG_NOTIFY_LEVEL



it0uchpods wrote in Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:04 am:I'd like to keep using FGRUN as long as able. I think it is much superior.

so superior that it is unmaintained and falling further and further out of date...

it0uchpods wrote in Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:04 am:I guess I'll blame Windows Update, it was fine before the update. I'll check for more updates, maybe a solve.

you might find yourself happier in another OS once you learn your way around it and get out of being lead around by the GUIs hiding all the details from you... i left winwhatever specifically because as a trained support agent, it was ridiculous to keep fixing the same problems on the same systems over and over and over... you think you are frustrated? try doing what i did in tech support of winwhatever mess for 10+ years and you'll truly know what frustration and "going postal" means :?

to coin a phrase, "you ain't seen nuttin' yet" :lol:
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5018
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:15 pm

it0uchpods wrote in Sat Nov 19, 2016 3:23 pm:But that has another problem
You need to constantly edit the batch file, or setup a thing which asks you for stuff.

no you don't... you pass those things that change as specific parameters always in the same order so you can code them into the places in the script where they need to be set...

eg:
Code: Select all
@echo off
rem this is myfgrun.bat
set thecraft=%1
set theport=%2

cd \my\fgfs\install\dir
set fg-root=where\ever\fgdata
set fg-scenery=whatever;somewhere;somewhereelse
set fg-aircraft=\myaircraft;somehanger;anotherhanger
fgfs --aircraft=%thecraft --airport=%theport


in the above, you would execute the script as

myfgrun ufo ksfo
or
myfgrun md-80 kmia

you would always specify the craft first and then the airport... if you always fly out of the same airport, hard code it and just specify the craft... use the tools, luke... use the tools ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5018
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Very annoying FGRUN problem

Postby it0uchpods » Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:42 pm

Yes I know, I have a similar thing for ATC-pie
But I want to use FGFUN.

If not, I'll just end up making my own launcher script.

Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3758
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Next

Return to FGRun

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest