Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGRun

Command line option for nav radios (default C172P)  Topic is solved

FGRun is a graphical frontend to run FlightGear.

Command line option for nav radios (default C172P)

Postby mgc » Tue Jun 21, 2016 2:29 am

Hello,

I'm trying to set up the initial nav radio frequency and selected course using the following guidance on the command line options page (http://wiki.flightgear.org/Command_line_options):

Code: Select all
  --nav1=[radial:]frequency    Set the NAV1 radio frequency, optionally
                               preceded by a radial.


Here's an example I'm trying:

Code: Select all
--nav1=[radial:310]110.9


I've also tried:

Code: Select all
--nav1=[310]110.9


and

Code: Select all
--nav1=110.9


to no avail. Is there something else I can try to make this work with the 172P?

Thanks in advance.
mgc
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 10:44 pm

Re: Command line option for nav radios (default C172P)

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:31 pm

the format for both radial and frequency is --nav1=310:110.9... the square brackets only show that the radial and the colon are optional... the frequency must always be used... i just tested this in the latest build of fgfs (pulled the code and built it here) with the ufo... i opened the F12 Radio Stack and NAV1 was set to 110.9 with the deg set to 310 just as desired... does your testing not show the NAV1 radio changed or is there something else you are not seeing that you are looking for??
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4736
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Command line option for nav radios (default C172P)

Postby mgc » Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:36 pm

Thanks for clarifying the format. I just tried your format, and it still does not show the NAV 1 radio changed (I looked at the F12 radio stack as well as the panel). This is with the Cessna 172P. Here is the complete set of start up command line options I'm using:

Code: Select all
  --nav1=310:110.9
  --airport=KBFI
  --offset-distance=5
  --offset-azimuth=270
  --altitude=3000
  --heading=050
  --roll=0
  --vc=90
  --glideslope=0
  --prop:/engines/engine[0]/rpm=3000


Anything else I can try to troubleshoot?

Thanks,

Mike
mgc
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 10:44 pm

Re: Command line option for nav radios (default C172P)  

Postby Harald » Tue Jun 21, 2016 6:46 pm

The aircraft is saving the frequencies in the aircraft-data/c172p.xml
The avionics.nas file configures what should be saved for the avionics.

hj.
Harald
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Strasbourg, France
Version: nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: Command line option for nav radios (default C172P)

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:19 pm

i wonder if there is a way for the craft code to tell if the radios are set from the command line so it won't set the radios to the old settings when newer ones are obviously being requested and set from the command line...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4736
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to FGRun

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron