Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGRun

Today lost alot of aircrafts and many airports  Topic is solved

FGRun is a graphical frontend to run FlightGear.

Re: Today lost alot of aircrafts and many airports

Postby D-MKF1 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 7:43 am

But all the other aircrafts work well with the original path.
So... it can't be the problem :-(
Did you try it with the 707 like this?
User avatar
D-MKF1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:03 pm
Version: Git
OS: GNU/Linux | Mac OS X

Re: Today lost alot of aircrafts and many airports

Postby Mike-G » Thu Jan 16, 2014 7:53 am

well i flew the plane into from marsille to heathrow last night
apparantlyi could be seen ok

on the upside this is good, and i will be happy now to fly this on online meets
only problem i had last night was reverse thrust failed to operate on touchdown but that was my problem/fault

i dont know why it has changed because this was the same plane i downloaded some time ago ( i think )
and 2 weeks ago trying it at home on 2 computers it was not visible from other planes
and i have not changed anything because i never had internet access since then

anyway i am happy now and give my thanks to the builders of this craft
my setup
Asus G73J Laptop
i7 1.6
8GB Ram
ATI HD5870 1GB Vram
running win7
latest FG ( as of 2 weeks ago ) 2.12.1
downloaded 707 from lake of constance web site

Rgds
Mike-G
Mike-G
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:55 pm
Callsign: Mike-G
OS: Windows7/10

Re: Today lost alot of aircrafts and many airports

Postby Necolatis » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:38 am

I did some testing on 2.1.7:

In 707-common.xml line 437

<content include="Aircraft/707/Models/Cockpit/Manual/manual.xml"/>

If I remove Aircraft/707/ in that line, it works even though the 707 is not in the $fgdata/Aircraft folder.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1870
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Today lost alot of aircrafts and many airports

Postby ludomotico » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:47 am

I believe Necolatis really has a point.

In order for "Aircraft/707/something" to work, the 707 has to be in a directory named "Aircraft" (and not any other name! case sensitive!), and the root of this directory included in FG_AIRCRAFT. Hence, if I'm using $HOME/FlightGear/Aircraft as an external directory, FG_AIRCRAFT must be set to $HOME/FlightGear. Since other aircrafts do use relative paths, the complete variable must be set to FG_AIRCRAFT="$HOME/FlightGear:$HOME/FlightGear/Aircraft". This is awkward.

I really think relative paths must be used in the form suggested by Necolatis by removing all references to "Aircraft/707/", but I can't do any test right now.
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Today lost alot of aircrafts and many airports

Postby D-MKF1 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:45 pm

But it doesn't solve the visibility problem for fgrun.
I think its allready what I'm writing since the problem was posted the first time :-)
Marc

25th May 2015
Its fixed now.

https://github.com/D-MKF1/707
Last edited by D-MKF1 on Wed May 27, 2015 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
D-MKF1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:03 pm
Version: Git
OS: GNU/Linux | Mac OS X

Re: Today lost alot of aircrafts and many airports

Postby Alant » Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:53 am

The Short Empire also does not appear in the FGRUN list of aircraft now that it is Fgaddon. (Windows 7)

Perhaps there are more ......


Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Today lost alot of aircrafts and many airports

Postby wlbragg » Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:40 pm

I found the specific file that is causing this behaviour of not showing up in Windows FGRun. It is the way sub-files of Checklists are being included.
See http://forum.flightgear.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=23962&start=30#p238256. Remove the path hierarchy and it works again.
I verified on my system it is the same Checklists.xml.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4116
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Previous

Return to FGRun

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests