Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGCom

[SOLVED] change PTT button  Topic is solved

FGCom is a realtime voice communication system specially designed for FlightGear.

[SOLVED] change PTT button

Postby OE-PH1 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:15 am

Dear community!

I bet there is a chance to change the default PTT button <space bar> to another button, right? But searching the forum/wiki didn't bring me forward. So I want to ask you for help:

I use FG 3.5 on Win7. FGCom works fine with default button.
Now, I would prefer one of my joystick (T.16000M) buttons for PTT. When I set this button on mumble, it shows "T.16000M:Taste 0"
Can you please tell me where this setting has to be done in flightgear?

Thank you very much for any help!
Last edited by OE-PH1 on Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I am a member of the A330 dev team
User avatar
OE-PH1
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: LOWI
Callsign: OE-PH1
Version: 2016.4
OS: Win10

Re: change PTT button

Postby mjanicki » Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:29 am

As luck would have it, I just recently changed mine. :)

Have a look at the file: FlightGear/keyboard.xml

In there you will find defintions for various keys, defined by the decimal ASCII character code for that key. Space has decimal ASCII code 32 so find the block beginning with:
Code: Select all
<key n="32">
<name>Space</name>
<desc>PTT - Push To Talk (via FGCom)</desc>
etc.


Just change the "32" to the code for the key you want. For example, I wanted to use my TAB key for PTT since I don't use it for anything else in FG. So my change was to:
Code: Select all
<key n="9">
<name>TAB</name>


I don't think the "name" portion really matters but I changed it for future reference. Additionally, if you use a key that is already defined elsewhere in the keyboard.xml file, then you should comment out or remove the old block so that you're not trying to define the key twice.

Note that all of the built-in key help information will still say that Space is PTT. If you really want to change that, you'll have to modify the files that contain that information. I don't recall offhand which files that woudl be.

Hope that helps.

-- Mike
Happily flying on VATSIM using FlightGear!
VATSIM Pilot P1
mjanicki
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:47 pm
Callsign: N22SF
Version: 3.4
OS: Slackware GNU/Linux

Re: change PTT button  

Postby Saga » Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:36 am

Hi!

For FGCom, you can set this button very easily by using the `Help -> Joystick Configuration` menu. That's a new menu. And by the way, thanks to the commiter of this feature.
But I don't see the link between the fact to set a button for fgcom and for mumble.

Have a nice day!

EDIT: The solution I just gave, will not work for keybord's keys assignment. ;)
Host and maintainer of fgcom.flightgear.org.
Saga
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:52 pm
Location: Loire-Atlantique, France
Callsign: F-G0z
Version: Git next
OS: Win7, ArchLinux x64

Re: change PTT button

Postby OE-PH1 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:21 pm

Thank you mjanicki and Saga for the quick and helpful answers!

@Saga: There is no link between fgcom and mumble - I just wanted to say how the button is named when set on mumble.
I am a member of the A330 dev team
User avatar
OE-PH1
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: LOWI
Callsign: OE-PH1
Version: 2016.4
OS: Win10


Return to FGCom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests