Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGCom

[SOLVED] positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!  Topic is solved

FGCom is a realtime voice communication system specially designed for FlightGear.

[SOLVED] positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby kuifje09 » Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:00 pm

I am running in a strange problem. and seem to be the first with this...
Loaded file [/.../fgcom/share/fgcom/special_frequencies.txt].
Reading airports [/.../fgcom/share/fgcom/positions.txt]... ERROR during reading airports!

File is there and readable
"
00C,122.800,00.53782300,109.74049800,CTAF/UNICOM,Animas Air Park
00C,122.805,00.53782300,109.74049800,CTAF/UNICOM,Animas Air Park
00CA,122.900,33.44141400,-088.59244500,CTAF,GOLDSTONE GTS
00CA,122.905,33.44141400,-088.59244500,CTAF,GOLDSTONE GTS
00F,122.900,51.38340554,-002.72797581,CTAF,BROADUS AIRPORT
00F,122.905,51.38340554,-002.72797581,CTAF,BROADUS AIRPORT
...
"

I try to start fgcom using fgcomgui.
Any help is welcome.
Last edited by kuifje09 on Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kuifje09
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby F-JJTH » Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:06 pm

It seems you are trying to use FGCom 3.0, please read the documentation associtated with FGCom 3.0 and you will have no problem: http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGCom_3.0

Regards,
Clément
User avatar
F-JJTH
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:02 am

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby kuifje09 » Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:09 pm

No , version 2,X

Version 2.12.0 compiled Jan 24 2014, at 15:43:45
kuifje09
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby F-JJTH » Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:14 pm

Where have you downloaded FGCom ? Which documentation have you read ? what is your operating system ? What is your FG version ?

Really if you want to have a working FGCom quickly you should read the documentation: http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGCom_3.0
Reading the documentation should take less than 5 minutes and at the end you have a working FGCom

Regards,
Clément
User avatar
F-JJTH
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:02 am

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby kuifje09 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:26 pm

(@!%) sorry.

Download_and_Compile on linux. But also Download_and_compile has several versions...
The one I use is : VERSION="1.9-13"

EDIT: I see there is a new versioen 1.9.-14 will try that version now.

EDIT: Doen't look good, until now all builds end with some error like :
" fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly"
I will try later again, then not all together ( test )
Now, instead of several version I have nothing.
kuifje09
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby kuifje09 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:25 pm

I found there is a kind of limit problem in the positions.txt !
The generated file contains 46927 entries .

Ive cut the file to 500 entries and then it works fine !

What might that limit be ? I searched the source for, but cannot fined it.

Tested some more... max is somewhere between 4000 and 5000 !
kuifje09
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby F-JJTH » Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:55 pm

hmm you shouldn't touch at the positions.txt file. With only 500 entries your FGCom won't be able to connect to thousand of frequencies...
There is no limit about this file, we have hundreds of people who are using FGCom without problems even with more entries in this file.

Your problem is to locate the positions.txt file.

Because you are using download_and_compile.sh script I guess you are using FG 3.1.0 (GIT), right ? why don't use FGCom builtin ?
If you need of FGCom standalone (e.g because you want to use OpenRadar) you can do
Code: Select all
cd /home/kuifje09/yourFGfolder/install/fgfs/bin
./fgcom


Another solution is to read the documentation as I've already said.


Regards,
Clément
User avatar
F-JJTH
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:02 am

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby kuifje09 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 6:00 pm

Well, if Download_... should install version 3.X then something went horably wrong.

My running version is 2.11 simgear 2.11 OSG 3.1.2.

But I am surprised to see my previous test codings ? that should not be the case. ( fgplot )

Secondly, How can I test for the lines in positions.txt if fgcom can't find it.
Maby I did something ( very) wrong, this behaviour is strange too. some more lines the 4000 are alowed, then it fails.

Then , the docs about fgcom did not explain my issue with fgcom. I dont have version 3.X too.

I think to remove all flightgear stuff, and run it all over again... But that will take another download of all ....
But it might be the best choice, I ran in all sorts of problems. Only FG itself runs fine. Although sometimes the multiuser
facility breaks, then have to reconnect.
Atlas fails ( which is very handy and prefered ) fgcom fails , Map to generate maps fails and so on.

Which version of download_and_compile is the best to use? I have VERSION="1.9-14" now on my system.
kuifje09
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby Hooray » Mon Feb 03, 2014 6:06 pm

kuifje09 wrote in Mon Feb 03, 2014 6:00 pm:Well, if Download_... should install version 3.X then something went horably wrong.

there's a long-standing issue due to our way of using cmake that may result in the binary being the latest, but the embedded version number being wrong: Subject: "Base package check failed"

Hooray wrote:
TheTom wrote in Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:12 am:fg/sg next and fgdata master, all have 2.12 correctly set. For fg/sg running cmake and afterwards compiling and installing should normally be enough...


Okay, I think I have finally found out what's causing this and why so many people seem to be affected by it every once in a while: $SG/$FG_SRC/version is used by CMakeLists.txt, but touching/modifying it (git pull), does NOT result in a re-configuration - instead, the old contents are re-used from cmake cache.

To see for yourself: Go into your source tree, edit the version file - and switch back to your build tree: no reconfiguration taking place ... thus, you'll get a next/binary looking for 2.11 instead of 2.12, even though 2.12 is the string in all three version files
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11185
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!

Postby kuifje09 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 6:23 pm

Well I read the text following the links. That goes deep and not sure if I understand it well.
All I know download_and_compile version ...13 did the last build for me and downloaded a lot.
It created the 2.11 FG version. with some failures.

So I decided to get the newer version ...14 but that one gives even more errors ( looks like a download limit, or
some other download failure. )

I create a new directory and try to rebuild all with version downl...14
kuifje09
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: positions.txt ERROR during reading airports!  

Postby kuifje09 » Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:45 pm

I have now reinstalled all. Was not a one go, and at least 2 things are going wrong.
I've been using download_and_compile : VERSION="1.9-14"

In the first round, DATA was not got, had to try the other day twice !. But I finaly have it.

Then OSG is not moved to .../install/osg . But some source files are moved there.
The libs includes and bins are left in the build-dir !.
After moving them to .../install/osg I was able to run my new flightgear. Version 3.1 whith the buildin FGCOM

I have realy no slightest idea what has gone wrong before I got this version, very strange....

But I think I am glad again and can start flying with the new toy.
kuifje09
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 pm


Return to FGCom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest