Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGCom

Would you like to have an integrated Mumble client in FGFS?

FGCom is a realtime voice communication system specially designed for FlightGear.

Would you like to have an integrated Mumble client in Flightgear?

Yes
56%
No
25%
I don't know
19%

Total votes : 16

Would you like to have an integrated Mumble client in FGFS?

Postby adrian » Fri Dec 13, 2013 3:48 pm

I'm working on a Mumble standalone library. Once ready, that could easily translate into an integrated Flighgear client, replacing Asterisk with murmur on the server side. Frequency tuning would be linked with the radios of course.
I'd like some feedback on this.
adrian

Re: Would you like to have an integrated Mumble client in FG

Postby ludomotico » Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:31 pm

Why does FG need this? As a user, I don't care if I'm using mumble or fgcom. As a server administrator, I find asterisk a pain in the ass to configure, but once configured it just work flawlessly. Which are the advantages of mumble over fgcom? Does murmur support frequencies and range?

In any case, thank you very much for your work. Murmur seems much easier to configure than Asterisk, and in this case enabling an ad-hoc server during some events may be easier.
ludomotico

Version: git

Postby Hooray » Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:36 pm

ludomotico wrote in Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:31 pm:In any case, thank you very much for your work. Murmur seems much easier to configure than Asterisk, and in this case enabling an ad-hoc server during some events may be easier.

At first, I only had to google mumble (not being into gaming) - and now I also need to google Murmur next, is that some fancy open source project of your's ludomotico ? :lol:
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray