Board index FlightGear Support Tools Atlas

Atlas-like application on Android

Atlas is an addon that lets FlightGear users display a real-time "moving-map" of their flight.

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby ludomotico » Fri Oct 04, 2013 1:24 pm

Oh, I see. Thanks for the video. I'm still not sure about what is causing this bug, but I have now some ideas.

Have you checked the file I posted before? Is it doing the same?
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby pommesschranke » Fri Oct 04, 2013 2:55 pm

ludomotico wrote in Fri Oct 04, 2013 1:24 pm:Have you checked the file I posted before? Is it doing the same?


yes, the same.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby ludomotico » Sun Oct 06, 2013 10:16 pm

pommesschranke, in the link of the previous message you'll find a new version I prepared to address your problem. There is a new option in settings: switch the "center instruments" option off. It is going to be active by default, but not centering the instruments may be more adequate for your device. Can you test and report if your problem is fixed?

Note you may have to uninstall the application before installing again!

Edit: checking again your video, there is a funny thing I didn't notice before: the bottom bar hides automatically. How do you do this? Is there some option in your Android system? If this is the case, which version of Android are you using? Is it some trick by a third party tool? The position of the surfaces on the screen is calculated according to the declared size of the application. I'm aware some third-party tools fool the system into believing they have a different screen size to hide the bottom bar. This is a clever trick, but can interfere with applications that check the screen size, as FlightGearMap does. Is it your case?

I will add in a minute a new option: "do not go fullscreen". Please, use this option and report the results.

Thanks!
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby welias » Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:21 am

ludomotico, I could not make it work. I have tried everything. I have installed google maps, google store, google services. But I keep getting the same error when trying to install FlightGearMaps. Any idea?
welias
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:16 pm

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby pommesschranke » Wed Oct 09, 2013 6:20 am

Turning off the Fullscreen Option fixes the problem.
(but title-bar and the bottom-bar stay on, so there is less space
left for the panel)

Turning off "Center the instruments" does not help.

The tablet has Android 4.0.3
Autohiding the bar when an app goes fullscreen is default and I can't find an option to turn that off.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby ludomotico » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:40 am

welias, I don't know what's happening. There is not any device filter or any special requirement (apart from the obvious "a wifi connection") I'm afraid I'd need physical access to your device to trace down the error. Do you have any programming skills? Can you install an Eclipse+Android SDK environment on your PC?

pommesschranke, an auto-hiding bottom bar was a long demanded feature in Android 4.x. As far as I know, it was not included on the base system as it is provided only by third party tools. On all my devices using 4.x, this bar does not auto-hide. The bar is never present on my devices using 2.3. I'm afraid I cannot reproduce this bug on my devices. At the time being, you'll have to use the application in non-fullscreen mode. I'm sorry :(
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby pommesschranke » Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:59 am

I recently discovered the radio-panel in your app - very nice !
I'd prefer, that a (standby) frequency gets deleted when I touch it,
so i can enter an new one witout the "C" Button - just a little convenience thing.

What I really really like to have - and maybe we can work together on that:
a PFD like Boing & Airbus have it.
I guess we can use some of the B747-400 canvas PFD graphic & code to get started.

another idea is a MCP (autopilot) settings screen similar to your radio-panel

are you interested ?
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby ludomotico » Sat Nov 30, 2013 1:32 pm

I agree with you, pommesschranke, it is better if the stb frequency is deleted when selected. It is already in the top ten list of the necessary changes.

I'm afraid a PFD for airliners is not going to be possible soon. In fact, most of the code is already there, half of the panel is coded (and working!) but it is not complete and hence it cannot be selected from the panel list. I'm afraid I don't have the time or interest to code a glass panel, since I only fly propeller aircrafts.

Autopilot for propellers is another feature for the next version. We had some discussions about how implement this (see the nasal sub-forum) At the time being, it is going to be possible to support one or two aircrafts but not all of them. I'm thinking about the B1900D and the SenecaII. The autopilot on the 337 is not the best and won't be implemented.

If you know how to code in Android, in github you can find the last version of the code. It includes a new panel for the B1900D, the first version of a PFD and some minor bug fixes.

At the end of the day, I always prefer flying and not coding!
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby pommesschranke » Sat Nov 30, 2013 2:48 pm

ludomotico wrote in Sat Nov 30, 2013 1:32 pm:In fact, most of the code is already there, half of the panel is coded (and working!)
...
If you know how to code in Android, in github you can find the last version of the code. It includes a new panel for the B1900D, the first version of a PFD and some minor bug fixes.


oh, that's interesting.
I'll have a look at it.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby wlbragg » Sat Dec 28, 2013 11:27 pm

I'm running FGRun 1.6.0 in Linux (Ubuntu 13.10) and in the "Generic" drop down under the Input/Output section of the Advanced button there is no andatlas selection. Is there a way to add that selection to the drop down population or another way to add the whole string to fgrun? Also where do you add the --telnet=9000?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby Gijs » Sun Dec 29, 2013 9:33 am

Follow the instructions at http://wiki.flightgear.org/FlightGearMap#Use (you need to download andatlas.xml;.see the.screenshot of FGRun on the right for the correct telnet settings).
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9304
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby wlbragg » Sun Dec 29, 2013 5:24 pm

Thanks for the reply Gijs. I did refer to the link prior to asking this question. I guess I didn't explain my question effectively.

The docs say
(when using FGRun, this can be set via Advanced > Input/Output. See figure.).

My version of FGRun on Ubuntu does not have the andatlas choice in the populated list of choices for Input/Output.
Also it doesn't state where to put the --telnet=9000 line, only to add it to the command line options, where?

I looked high and low as to how to do this and I came to the conclusion that in my case I either run from the command line startup using something like a .fgfsrc file (which I tried and fgfs failed to use those setting, I guess it didn't find them by default like it said it would). But I digress as I want to use FGRun to accomplish this task anyway as, according to the documentation, it should be able to do this. Is there a generic command line input field hidden somewhere in FGRun that you can add one or both of the above needed commands?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby ludomotico » Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:02 pm

wlbragg wrote in Sun Dec 29, 2013 5:24 pm:My version of FGRun on Ubuntu does not have the andatlas choice in the populated list of choices for Input/Output.


And it won't have the choice until you download andatlas.xml from the link in the article and save it in FG_ROOT/Protocols, as the article says :)

Also it doesn't state where to put the --telnet=9000 line, only to add it to the command line options, where?


You are right, --telnet=9000 is the option to add in the command line. In FGRun, you can use Advance Settings->Input/Output and enter the parameters as shown in the figure:

(Press "New" and then)
Protocol: telnet
Medium: socket
Direction: in
Hz: 5 (maybe 10 is a better option)
Hostname: (empty)
port: 9000
TCP

The final line must be, as shown in the figure, --telnet=socket,in,5,,9000,tcp This is completely equivalent to --telnet=9000

If you find the information in the article confusing, it is my fault. If the system finally works on your PC, please, feel free to improve the description for future users.
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby Gijs » Sun Dec 29, 2013 8:51 pm

And I apologise for not making it clear that I answered both your problems between the brackets ;-)
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9304
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Atlas-like application on Android

Postby wlbragg » Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:03 am

Geniuses, all of you!

My first mistake was I didn't catch the andatlas.xml in FG_ROOT/Protocols. I had it in FG_ROOT. Now I also know the Input/Output can be used for a very wide variety of "Input/Output".

It is working fine with the new Nexus7 (2013 ver). Very nice!

Thank you!
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

PreviousNext

Return to Atlas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests