Board index FlightGear Development Nasal

advantage of using nasal  Topic is solved

Nasal is the scripting language of FlightGear.

advantage of using nasal

Postby senia » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:08 am

Hey guys,
I'm new to these kinds of things and my question may seem simple so bear with me :)
I'm not very familiar with the core programming of flight gear but I was wondering why did you use Nasal and not python (or other well-known languages)?

and what is the point of using a scripting language for this project really? couldn't you use the c++ language for the whole project (performance-wise)?

I'm fascinated by the project and want to know more and of course, I search the forum before asking questions like a good student! :D
senia

Re: advantage of using nasal

Postby Thorsten » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:15 am

I'm not very familiar with the core programming of flight gear but I was wondering why did you use Nasal and not python (or other well-known languages)?

Please do a form search and you'll find long arguments exchanged back and forth on the relative merits of different scrpting languages.

I'm not really sure Python was widely known (or even available) when Nasal was added to FG - that's likely the reason why it was not used back then. As for why things aren't 'simply' changed - the downside of converting a few hundred thousand lines of code to a different language far outweighs any benefit.

Nasal does what it's supposed to, in the end it's as simple as that.
Thorsten

Postby Hooray » Wed Oct 17, 2018 4:55 pm

Hi & welcome,

I don't think there is a short answer that is "correct", other than encouraging you to search the forum and look up all the pros & cons stated in related discussions.