Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project News

FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

News from the ever evolving world of FlightGear.

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:55 am

IIRC, the capabilities of FGAdmin, downloading and installing scenery, are built into the new launcher... i'm not sure on the status of that, though, as i already have the entire world and maintain it via terrasync.py... one could search the dev list archives for "fgadmin"... i count an even dozen articles in 2016 with 8 of them being in June... basically it goes back to the problem of FGRun and the ancient FLTK library that both apparently needed for operation...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Clive2670 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:18 pm

Torsten wrote in Wed Nov 23, 2016 5:05 pm:Everybody experiencing crashes, especially on OSX, please go to
https://sourceforge.net/projects/flight ... candidate/
and download the release candidate for 2016.4.2
Please report if the bug has been fixed.

Thanks
Torsten

I've just downloaded and installed, It is coming up with an error for the 777-200 (This is the 777 on the official flightgear site that I've installed) and 4.2 will not even start hope this helps?
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby dark7string » Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:22 am

I just installed it and then noticed that when I tried to launch it, i get a message that says "Unkown variant org.flightgear.official.da42 in package da42"

is anyone else having this issue?

Windows 7 Pro.
dark7string
 

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Parnikkapore » Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:38 am

So to say, EVERYONE is having the "Unknown variant" error on Windows rigs.

This is caused by a last-minute patch.
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:12 pm

see this topic for a/the solution for the variant problem for now... Fatal Exception with New Launcher and Piper Seneca
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Yakabuki » Tue Nov 29, 2016 6:41 pm

StuartC wrote in Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:06 pm:But using a commandline every time I wat to run FG isn't very effective or efficient.


If nobody's mentioned it yet, you can put the command line in a .bat file, and run it by clicking on the .bat file's icon. That's for windows. In Linux, it's the same deal, except you say 'shell script' instead of 'batch file'.

I'm stuck with windows 7 for now, (no drivers for my video card with Linux) but used to fly with Ubuntu, and that's what I did. I would prefer it this way, because you can pre-design very specific scenarios and re-use them easily. I never liked how long it took to load all the airports in fgrun.
Yakabuki
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 1:36 am

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Maarten » Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:23 pm

Just downloaded 2016.4.2, Windows 7 X64 and it always crashes on startup. When I run fgfs.exe without the launcher it comes to the splash screen with a Cessna 172P and then crashes, when I use --launcher it just crashes. It always gives Sqlite API abuse messages, don't know it that's significant:
Code: Select all
NavCache at:Path "C:/Users/Maarten/AppData/Roaming/flightgear.org/navdata_2016_4.cache"
Sqlite API abuse
NavCache: init failed:Sqlite error:Sqlite API abuse (attempt 0)
NavCache at:Path "C:/Users/Maarten/AppData/Roaming/flightgear.org/navdata_2016_4.cache"
Sqlite API abuse
NavCache: init failed:Sqlite error:Sqlite API abuse (attempt 1)
NavCache at:Path "C:/Users/Maarten/AppData/Roaming/flightgear.org/navdata_2016_4.cache"
Sqlite API abuse
NavCache: init failed:Sqlite error:Sqlite API abuse (attempt 2)
Maarten
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:24 pm
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Windows 7 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Octal450 » Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:23 pm

Delete navdata_2016_4.cache

It will regen next FGFS launch
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Yakabuki » Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:09 am

Parnikkapore wrote in Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:38 am:So to say, EVERYONE is having the "Unknown variant" error on Windows rigs.

This is caused by a last-minute patch.


Not "everyone". Maybe I haven't gotten far enough. I get "this program can not start because api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this error

Not sure if I want to do this. If it didn't have it the first time, why would it have it the second time I try and install it?

<sigh>
Yakabuki
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 1:36 am

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Parnikkapore » Wed Nov 30, 2016 10:24 am

Oh, okay...
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby PINTO » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:05 pm

I'm not getting the variant error, but I'm also not using the default launcher. ;)
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (github repo) (forum thread) (dev discord) (fg wiki)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:56 pm

i'm not getting the error and i am using the default launcher... i am not, however, downloading the craft via the launcher because i already have all of FGAddon pulled and maintained by git ;) since i have not added any additional hangers, i have nothing to download to be able to see the fault...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Maarten » Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:08 pm

it0uchpods wrote in Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:23 pm:Delete navdata_2016_4.cache

It will regen next FGFS launch

There is no navdata_2016_4.cache. I have one for 2016_2, 2016_3 and 3_4 but not for 2016_4.
Maarten
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:24 pm
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Windows 7 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby PINTO » Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:29 pm

Delete those then.
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (github repo) (forum thread) (dev discord) (fg wiki)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Dec 01, 2016 5:45 pm

if you don't have navdata_2016_4.cache, that means that the sim has not gotten far enough in the startup procedures to create the database... the other cache files, while not being used by or affecting the current version of FGFS you have installed, are just using drive space... they can be deleted or left alone...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

PreviousNext

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest