Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project News

FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

News from the ever evolving world of FlightGear.

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:34 pm

as noted previously, the --console option has been removed or disabled because of the problems specifically with winwhatever... don't try to use --console until there's a new release with it available again... FGRun is obsolete and no longer maintained so don't expect it to keep up with FGFS and its available options...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5636
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Clive2670 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 6:45 pm

Just downloaded and installed 2016.3.1....had a quick look and a swift go...as more pressing things to do on PC tonight............DOH :cry: Seems to work OK for me..nice to see I have METAR back and functioning on this release and no bugs that I've found (yet) shhhhhh don't speak too soon Clive! Will try my "normal" hop from EGKK to LEMG tomorrow night and give it a full run. But all looks good at the moment, Well done all involved with this release and the hard work everyone does, and thanks for such a great simulator :P :D
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby D-ABBA » Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:36 am

Hi wlbragg,

You are absolutely right. Fgrun is very important to read the settings to understand and make sense to provide the launcher with options. Each build an airplane and incorporate models in the scenery will get instructions to error limit.

Consequently, the option "Show console" should must be available again. To build a batch file to a console to have may be only an aid. :(

Newcomers learn best by fgrun Wizard. :)

So we need an updated release (eg. 2016.3.2). With aviable --console. :D

Sincerly
D-ABBA
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Alant » Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:43 am

In the meantime start Fgrun (or Flightgear itself) from the command line. It will do everything that you want.

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby D-ABBA » Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:53 am

Hi Alant,

You are right too.
But the .cmd (.bat) start FGFS is specialist knowledge. Dying from these specialists? So what? How is the procedure detailed in the Documentation?
Questions and answers that do not exist when --console is available as usual again.

D-ABBA
Last edited by D-ABBA on Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Alant » Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:19 am

Alant
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby D-ABBA » Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:27 am

Hey Alant,

I do it so. Is Okay but this is a wiki page.
Seriously this information is too complex for a novice with FlightGear.

D-ABBA
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Thorsten » Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:33 am

Seriously this information is too complex for a novice with FlightGear.


Why would a novice need the console? It's useful for developing, but as a developer you should not fear commandlines...
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10965
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby D-ABBA » Tue Sep 20, 2016 4:07 pm

Okay Okay.

Do what ever you want. :D Console exist since 2008. Helpful for me to create buildings and changes about the positions of buildings if airportslayout changed. :D
I use in future --console with commandline operation. http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Showin ... on_Windows

Thanks
D-ABBA
Thomas Polzer
https://scenery.flightgear.org/app.php? ... view&id=93

"Dem einen sin Uhl ist dem anderen sin Nachtigall" :D
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby statto » Thu Sep 22, 2016 10:53 pm

What does the scenery consist of?
Custom Scenery available from http://www.stattosoftware.com/flightgear
statto
 
Posts: 2110
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Clive2670 » Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:44 am

Statto, I have just downloaded "London" scenery from your website, Where do I extract the zip folder to please
Last edited by Johan G on Sun Sep 25, 2016 3:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No need to quote the entire preceding post
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:02 pm

you should be able to extract to where ever you want and then simply add that directory to your --fg-scenery line where you have your custom scenery directories listed...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5636
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby jaxsin » Mon Sep 26, 2016 1:06 am



It's been reinstated thanks to Richard Harrison, --console switch always forces a new console window. You can still start from a parent console with no --console flag and get debug output that way.
File redirection now works w/ --console flag (according to Richard.) I have not tested though.
jaxsin
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Sep 27, 2016 5:29 pm

wkitty42 wrote in Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:02 pm:you should be able to extract to where ever you want and then simply add that directory to your --fg-scenery line where you have your custom scenery directories listed...

Thanks wkitty42 have added to the data-scenery folder within main program
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Previous

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests