Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project News

FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

News from the ever evolving world of FlightGear.

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby StuartC » Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:13 pm

Clicking a tickbox in FG run is much simpler and for those of us who hate resorting to command line in an age of visual operating systems its just lunacy.

Bring back the console.

Quoe from the WiKi " The reason for changing to this system and getting rid of the old --console option, was to make the error reporting (STDERR) work properly"
Sorry but people are not going to bother doing that to get the error reporting working. For Joe Normal, its too much hastle or again, just " not normal" having to open a box and type stuff to get things to work.
StuartC
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Arse end of the Universe
Callsign: WF01
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: W10 64 bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Mike-G » Fri Sep 16, 2016 4:01 pm

Hi
downloaded today and installed
removed all ref to old install both in windows explorer and registry
installed no problem
reinstalled all the aircraft again and run
worked fine apart from crash when trying to tab out to adjust sound card settings
but that was mostly my fault i think
Mike-G
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:55 pm
Callsign: Mike-G
OS: Windows7/10

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby awall86 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:01 pm

D-ABBA wrote in Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:01 am:Hi
thanks for the new version...

I fetch the Rio Version 2016.3.1 and was suprised. I am able to install the new version (Parallel to version 2016.2.1).
After launch 2016.3.1 (using fgrun.exe, also fgfs.exe) I get the message "fgrun.exe no longer works" and FlightGear aborted. I am very disappointed.
In the past I have always installed the latest version next to the old version. No documentation responded to my problem.
Even the latest nightly 2016.4.0 behaves erratically.
I am very relieved that the version 2016.2.1 is still working.

All win10 user have some problems ????

Thanks for your responce and help.
Sincerly
D-ABBA

OS WIN10, 64bit, nvidea graficcard....


+1

Version 2016.2.1 works fine, but the new version 2016.3.1 returns the following error all the time:

Image

Launching fgfs.exe from command line as administrator or via launcher, the error is the same.

I try to solve this, reinstalling all Visual C++ redistributable packages, but did not work.

Intel Core i7
O.S. Windows 10 64 bits
Nvidia GeForce GT 520M

Thanks for your Help

Regards
awall86
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:28 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Version: 2017.2.0
OS: Windows 10

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby StuartC » Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:15 am

I tried installing both, it just didn't work at all.
Installed the latest one on it own and it worked just fine ( except the missing console issue ) with fgrun
StuartC
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Arse end of the Universe
Callsign: WF01
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: W10 64 bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby skelehat » Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:23 am

elgaton wrote in Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:55 am:There's another way - I think I can create a "bundle" of all objects that were changed


Thank you a lot really but if I can wait for a debian package then I'd do that because I don't have enough time at home nowadays to compile the game and such, so a binary thing I just install would be the best. Downloading is slow enough on my connection, thanks again though.
User avatar
skelehat
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:29 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Devuan GNU/Linux

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby D-ABBA » Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:23 pm

Hi for all Win10 users

Everything OK. Before I made a new installation
I have in the following directory C:\Users\...\AppData\Roaming
Files renamed:
flightgear.org --> OLD-flightgear.org
fltk.org --> OLD-fltk.org

This was FGFS-2016.2.1 quasi uninstalled and therefore unknown.

Installation of FGFS-2016.3.1 ...

Once new FGFS with Wizzard start in Rio.
Unfortunately, the opportunity is missed to make the activated "Show console"
(1st bug?). "Show console" I need for my airfield models to those with the UFO place
to. Some airfields were equipped by me (EDDW, EDWB, EDGS, EDXW, ...).
Would be a pity if I had to interrupt my activities in this regard.

Now I finish FGFS-2016.3.1. Have from the OLD-flightgear.org
Folder Input and files autosave_2016_2.xml, navdata_2016_2.cache
copied and pasted into the new folder flightgear.org.

Now I have started FGFS 2016.3.1. My individual settings in the Wizzard
set. Since everything runs smoothly.

FGFS 2016.2.1 can I use when I set in Wizzard (FGFS-2016.3.1) first page under
Program: C: / FlightGear 2016.2.1 / bin / fgfs.exe
FG_ROOT: C: / FlightGear 2016.2.1 / data the entries.

There is "Show console" for me available. Well, the console would be available
in a version 2016.3.2 to make available again?

For all that user with a valid Version 2016.2.1 on the computer is my procedure helpful.
New users can missing OpenAL sound machine !!! (2nd bug?).
The problem was solved by downloading oalinst.zip from
https://www.openal.org/downloads/
and installing oalinst.exe to his PC. (-->thanks for YOSHIMATSU Toshihide)

Excuse my broken English. But I think you understand my concern.

D-ABBA (Thomas Polzer)
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby bugman » Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:12 pm

D-ABBA wrote in Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:23 pm:Well, the console would be available in a version 2016.3.2 to make available again?


This would require finding a new C++ developer with a primary target machine of MS Windows. The pain of keeping the broken and hacky old console running, which I think died with the MSVC 2015 update, is not worth it for the current developers. This is because there is a simpler way that avoids the problems - simply run fgfs from the cmd or powershell. Also normal Windows users do not need such a developer-only feature, so it is a lot of work for not much gain.

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1667
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby StuartC » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:02 pm

" simply run fgfs from the cmd or powershell"

Simple for who?
StuartC
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Arse end of the Universe
Callsign: WF01
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: W10 64 bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby bugman » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:18 pm

For the non-existent MS Windows developer maintaining the hacky console ;)

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1667
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby wlbragg » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:33 pm

@StuartC have you tried running fgrun out of a batch file?

Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\FlightGear 2016.3.1\bin\fgrun.exe"

I don't know if that will work. I use

Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\FlightGear 2016.3.1\bin\fgfs.exe" --launcher

Like I said before, I was a fgrun user and balked at the launcher, but it does allow for everything I ever needed using fgrun, just a bit of a learning curve to set it up.
Last edited by wlbragg on Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4754
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Alant » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:58 pm

None of like change, but such is progress. Sometimes changes are necessary.

The old flightgear windows console does not provide features that are used for error reporting in the linux and macos command line window. The windows command window provides almost identical services to the linux/macos window.

Maintaining one common system and not having to do a major rewrite of the windows specific code to bring the old flightgear console in line with the linux/macos and windows command line windows must be a much better use of the main developer´s time.

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 877
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby awall86 » Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:37 pm

awall86 wrote in Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:01 pm:
D-ABBA wrote in Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:01 am:Hi
thanks for the new version...

I fetch the Rio Version 2016.3.1 and was suprised. I am able to install the new version (Parallel to version 2016.2.1).
After launch 2016.3.1 (using fgrun.exe, also fgfs.exe) I get the message "fgrun.exe no longer works" and FlightGear aborted. I am very disappointed.
In the past I have always installed the latest version next to the old version. No documentation responded to my problem.
Even the latest nightly 2016.4.0 behaves erratically.
I am very relieved that the version 2016.2.1 is still working.

All win10 user have some problems ????

Thanks for your responce and help.
Sincerly
D-ABBA

OS WIN10, 64bit, nvidea graficcard....


+1

Version 2016.2.1 works fine, but the new version 2016.3.1 returns the following error all the time:

Image

Launching fgfs.exe from command line as administrator or via launcher, the error is the same.

I try to solve this, reinstalling all Visual C++ redistributable packages, but did not work.

Intel Core i7
O.S. Windows 10 64 bits
Nvidia GeForce GT 520M

Thanks for your Help

Regards


SOLVED !! The cause of the problem, in my case, was because I had a incorrect version (x86 vs x64) of Visual C++ runtime libraries. Uninstall or reinstall libraries from Add or remove programs, does not work.

The final solution was start Windows in safe mode, and replace manually some .dll files in windows\system32 folder. At last, I reset saved data in ..Roaming\flightgear.org, and the new FG 2016.3.1 works fine.

Regards
awall86
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:28 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Version: 2017.2.0
OS: Windows 10

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby D-ABBA » Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:48 pm

Hi awall86,

looking four post´s before. My problem is solved. FGFS 2016.3.1 paralell to Version FGFS 2016.2.1.
FGFS 2016.3.1 run perfect. But no "Show console" available.

D-ABBA
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Richard » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:38 am

I appear to have volunteered to fix this; so this is what I'm currently trying to get working.

1) When started from the console use the console (when no --console)
2) When started from the GUI (with --console) open a new console window
3) When started from the Console (with --console) open a new console window
4) Ensure that IO redirection still works when started from the console

However to make the cmd prompt run fgfs synchronously (i.e. not to immediately return to the input prompt) is only something that can be done via "start /wait fgfs"
Richard
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby D-ABBA » Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:01 pm

Hi Richard,

I started with FGFS with fgrun !!
On the 4th page of wizard you select "Show console".
Start FlightGear and normaly (2016.2.1) you see three Windows:
1) FlightGear Wizard
2) Console (like the windows.cmd or GitBash window)
3) Flightgear Window

Start FlightGear with (2016.3.1) you see only two windows.
1) FlightGear Wizard
2) Flightgear Window

Select "Show console" you see --console on wizard page 4
"Commandline show" if you select that. But the console screen missed after starting FlightGear.
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

PreviousNext

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest