Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project News

FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

News from the ever evolving world of FlightGear.

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Octal450 » Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:27 pm

But FGrun is simpler. And faster for me. For example,
when I make nasal scripts, I often need to relaunch FGFS many times. FGrun says open when FGFS launches, therefore, I just pushe run and it opens again!

I will not be upgrading unless I can get the console window open. That is BS! Why would you remove this!
Octal450

Lead Programmer, IDG (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Hooray » Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:30 pm

I think Nasal scripts should meanwhile reload during reset - so that may be much easier than actually exiting/restarting fgfs.
If in doubt, file a feature request to expose this as a fgcommand/menubar item, i.e. something like "reload scripts"
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11317
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Octal450 » Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:49 pm

Or a *reaload nasal* button under Debug. It's the one thing you can't reload. (besides textures)

I still need the console to find problems!
Octal450

Lead Programmer, IDG (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby PINTO » Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:59 pm

For reals, if you were using FGRun, use FFGo. The console is persistent between restarts.
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (link to repo) (link to thread)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Octal450 » Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:35 pm

No cannot use FFGo.

Python never works for me.
I don't want to open commandline to start FFGo, too long of the time.

I want the reason for console removal pls! @Torsten

Josh
Octal450

Lead Programmer, IDG (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby CaptB » Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:23 pm

Just tested today, FGFS works like a charm, a big thanks to the team!

I am a little bit disappointed that the windows installer still does not give an option to choose the TerraSync and friends directories and just assumes the default location, which is not the best idea since it's the same drive where the system lives and I for instance would prefer to have it on a separate partition or drive. The qt launcher layout and organization continues to be a bit counter intuitive, Add-ons tab especially.
CaptB
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:36 pm
Callsign: EKCH_AP
IRC name: CAPTB
Version: 2018.1
OS: Xubuntu, Win7 64

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby skelehat » Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:36 am

When will be debian packages available? I'd compile it myself but the data download always gets stuck. Can't wait to try!
User avatar
skelehat
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:29 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Devuan GNU/Linux

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby elgaton » Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:34 pm

Usually, the PPA is updated a few days after the release (it is managed by a single developer, who needs to build and test the packages manually).

A tip for the data download: instead of downloading the fgdata repository from Git, you can get this boilerplate download, which contains just the .git directory (ready to be checked out). Being this a plain HTTP download, you should be able to resume it, and it should not get stuck.

After downloading the file, you should be able to perform the checkout as follows:
Code: Select all
mkdir fgdata
tar xvf ../fgdata-ng-boilerplate.git.tar
git pull
git checkout -- .
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby CaptB » Wed Sep 14, 2016 9:14 pm

I just noticed that in the windows qt launcher no aircraft images are displayed. As I hover the path separator for all aircraft paths is the *nix type, maybe that is the problem?
CaptB
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:36 pm
Callsign: EKCH_AP
IRC name: CAPTB
Version: 2018.1
OS: Xubuntu, Win7 64

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby skelehat » Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:32 pm

elgaton wrote in Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:34 pm:After downloading the file, you should be able to perform the checkout as follows:
Code: Select all
mkdir fgdata
tar xvf ../fgdata-ng-boilerplate.git.tar
git pull
git checkout -- .


I tried this but at git pull I get stuck at:
Receiving objects: 72% (4726/6477), 584.93 MiB | 157.00 KiB/s

So I'll just wait for that package I guess.
User avatar
skelehat
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:29 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Devuan GNU/Linux

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby elgaton » Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:55 am

There's another way - I think I can create a "bundle" of all objects that were changed between the latest revision in the boilerplate and now and put in on Dropbox, or, alternatively, ask the developers on the -devel mailing list to create an updated boilerplate (that would be even better).

Let me know which solution would be best for you.
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby ctesc356 » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:09 am

it0uchpods wrote in Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:49 pm:I still need the console to find problems!

Hello,
see: http://wiki.flightgear.org/FlightGear_Qt_launcher
Enabling console display on Windows systems
To enable console display on Windows, right-click on the FlightGear shortcut on the Desktop and click Properties. In the Target box under the Shortcut tab, add --console at the end and click OK.
ctesc356
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:20 am

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Octal450 » Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:21 am

The --console tag was removed. So this won't work.
Octal450

Lead Programmer, IDG (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby D-ABBA » Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:01 am

Hi
thanks for the new version...

I fetch the Rio Version 2016.3.1 and was suprised. I am able to install the new version (Parallel to version 2016.2.1).
After launch 2016.3.1 (using fgrun.exe, also fgfs.exe) I get the message "fgrun.exe no longer works" and FlightGear aborted. I am very disappointed.
In the past I have always installed the latest version next to the old version. No documentation responded to my problem.
Even the latest nightly 2016.4.0 behaves erratically.
I am very relieved that the version 2016.2.1 is still working.

All win10 user have some problems ????

Thanks for your responce and help.
Sincerly
D-ABBA

OS WIN10, 64bit, nvidea graficcard....
Last edited by D-ABBA on Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
D-ABBA
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: W.-Germany Bad Nauheim near Frankfurt Main
Callsign: D-ABBA
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.3.1 "Rio de Janeiro" released

Postby Alant » Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:58 am

it0uchpods wrote in Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:21 am:The --console tag was removed. So this won't work.


See http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Showing_the_FlightGear_console_on_Windows
Alant
 
Posts: 877
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

PreviousNext

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest