Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project News

FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

News from the ever evolving world of FlightGear.

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby ThorstenB » Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:57 am

Benji wrote in Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:39 am:Before, on 2.0.0, i edited preferences.xml for the screenshots go to a folder... But in preferences.xml of 2.4.0, I don't know how to do that... :(

We temporarily had a dialog to set the screenshot folder within fgfs - but it was dropped again. Since then, the screenshot folder is a "userarchived" setting. So "preferences.xml" only contains the initial default value. Actual value is stored in the "userarchive" (~/.fgfs/autosave.xml for Linux, or something with "Application Data.../autosave.xml" for Windows). You could also edit the path manually using the "property browser" (menu "Debug" => "Browse Properties" => click "/sim/paths/screenshot-dir", enter the path and hit ENTER). The setting is then stored in the userarchive. And not sure why the dialog was dropped - it was certainly more comfortable :).
User avatar
ThorstenB
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:49 am
Location: Germany
Callsign: D-TB7
Version: GIT
OS: openSUSE

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby ThorstenB » Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:03 am

scighera wrote in Sun Aug 21, 2011 6:36 am:But I do have a problem with the ILS of rwy 24R in EDDF Frankfurth ... the new map facility in FG2.4 shows the aircraft perfectly aligned ... the aircraft tend to land some 500-800 m north of the rwy on a gohst rwy, parallel to the "real" one.


I don't get the exact problem. When yo land 800m North of the runway, what scenery do you see? So, is the map (and ILS) generally misaligned with the scenery (but then it shouldn't matter if you're using an ILS at all, or exactly which ILS you're approaching), or does the ILS autopilot just not follow the 25R (there is no 24R at EDDF!) localizer correctly? And 25R / 109.5MHz works great for me with the 777 on FG2.4.
User avatar
ThorstenB
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:49 am
Location: Germany
Callsign: D-TB7
Version: GIT
OS: openSUSE

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby scighera » Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:16 am

I'll try to make my point clear (sorry for the typing error 24R > 25R).
I do use the ILS on the C2A, tuned to 109.5 MHz.
The ILS instrument (which I added to the C2A) show the aircraft is keeping the right head and glide.
The same shows the new Equipment/Map of FG 2.4: the aircraft in map appear perfectly aligned with the rwy (on the map)
But if I do look otside through the windshield, the rwy appears to be some 600-800m on the left !!!! It is like that the aircraft is following the right path, but shifted north some 600-800 m .... and eventually the aircraft land in the crops aside (north) of the EDDF teminal.

The ILS of rwy 07R works properly.

The iLS of 25R was performing fine with FG2.0 ...
:roll:
Callsign: I-SCIG
The hangar: http://digilander.libero.it/scighera_fg/index.html
The "happy motorbiker" - http://web.tiscali.it/kclub
User avatar
scighera
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:29 am
Location: LIME-Bergamo-Italy
Callsign: scighera
Version: 2dot6
OS: Windows 7

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby ThorstenB » Sun Aug 21, 2011 1:26 pm

I'm not seeing any issues with the ILS in FG2.4.0. Which scenery are you using? It seems your scenery data for EDDF that is mixed-up (navigation data doesn't match terrain/scenery). It certainly works when using the latest scenery available via TerraSync.
User avatar
ThorstenB
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:49 am
Location: Germany
Callsign: D-TB7
Version: GIT
OS: openSUSE

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby scighera » Sun Aug 21, 2011 2:31 pm

ThorstenB wrote in Sun Aug 21, 2011 1:26 pm:I'm not seeing any issues with the ILS in FG2.4.0. Which scenery are you using? It seems your scenery data for EDDF that is mixed-up (navigation data doesn't match terrain/scenery). It certainly works when using the latest scenery available via TerraSync.


It's true, Thorsten ... if I do use terrasync it works fine.
The scenery I use is the one I downloaded from the FG official site ... should be early 2010 !!
Buu the way what it sound strange is taht it worked up to 3 days ago with FG2.0 ...
Thanks anyhow
Paolo
Callsign: I-SCIG
The hangar: http://digilander.libero.it/scighera_fg/index.html
The "happy motorbiker" - http://web.tiscali.it/kclub
User avatar
scighera
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:29 am
Location: LIME-Bergamo-Italy
Callsign: scighera
Version: 2dot6
OS: Windows 7

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby Benji » Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:16 pm

ThorstenB wrote in Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:57 am:
Benji wrote in Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:39 am:Before, on 2.0.0, i edited preferences.xml for the screenshots go to a folder... But in preferences.xml of 2.4.0, I don't know how to do that... :(

We temporarily had a dialog to set the screenshot folder within fgfs - but it was dropped again. Since then, the screenshot folder is a "userarchived" setting. So "preferences.xml" only contains the initial default value. Actual value is stored in the "userarchive" (~/.fgfs/autosave.xml for Linux, or something with "Application Data.../autosave.xml" for Windows). You could also edit the path manually using the "property browser" (menu "Debug" => "Browse Properties" => click "/sim/paths/screenshot-dir", enter the path and hit ENTER). The setting is then stored in the userarchive. And not sure why the dialog was dropped - it was certainly more comfortable :).



Rgr, thanks, will try :D.
Benji
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:51 pm
Location: LFAD
Callsign: BENJI
Version: 280
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby Benji » Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:06 pm

For the screenshots, it's ok... But I have the urban effect problem. I don't know why but it doesn't work...
Benji
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:51 pm
Location: LFAD
Callsign: BENJI
Version: 280
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby Curtis » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:49 pm

Benji wrote in Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:06 pm:For the screenshots, it's ok... But I have the urban effect problem. I don't know why but it doesn't work...


"urban effect" will work if you set the "performance vs quality" option to "2.0" :

Image
Curtis
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:09 pm
OS: archlinux 64 bits

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby Benji » Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:09 pm

ThorstenB wrote in Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:57 am:but it was dropped again. Since then, the screenshot folder is a "userarchived" setting. So "preferences.xml" only contains the initial default value. Actual value is stored in the "userarchive" (~/.fgfs/autosave.xml for Linux, or something with "Application Data.../autosave.xml" for Windows).



I don't find it... :'(.
Benji
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:51 pm
Location: LFAD
Callsign: BENJI
Version: 280
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby Benji » Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:11 pm

Benji
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:51 pm
Location: LFAD
Callsign: BENJI
Version: 280
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby Curtis » Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:25 pm

have you tried my tip ? ( set the "performance vs quality" option to 2.0 )
Curtis
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:09 pm
OS: archlinux 64 bits

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby johku » Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:35 pm



Same issue as here?

The urban effect does not work for me either: it always turns brown or to the city ground texture, but no effect appears. The video card of my laptop is ATI Mobility Radeon HD4600.
Last edited by johku on Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
johku
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:07 pm

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby Curtis » Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:37 pm

I have also an ati video card ( radeon HD4650 ) and the "urban effect" works,

maybe it's a driver issue, you should try to update your graphics driver,

I use an old catalyst version under windows xp ( catalyst 10.9, september 2010 )
Curtis
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:09 pm
OS: archlinux 64 bits

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby Benji » Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:05 am

johku wrote in Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:35 pm:


Same issue as here?

The urban effect does not work for me either: it always turns brown or to the city ground texture, but no effect appears. The video card of my laptop is ATI Mobility Radeon HD4600.



Yes, I've the same... :'(
Benji
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:51 pm
Location: LFAD
Callsign: BENJI
Version: 280
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear 2.4.0 is released

Postby Benji » Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:10 am

Is it the Graphic Card ??? :shock: :shock:
Benji
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:51 pm
Location: LFAD
Callsign: BENJI
Version: 280
OS: Windows Vista

PreviousNext

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest