Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

Multiple multiplayer aircraft set up ( fly 2 planes )

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Multiple multiplayer aircraft set up ( fly 2 planes )

Postby MinusMyX » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:48 pm

I was wondering how to run two separate aircraft on the same server at the same time.

This will allow me to run my codeshare flight, or to practice formation flying while one is on A/P

I currently use 3.4 for Mac and there is no way to configure the ports in settings

Any help will be much appreciated

Cheers
KIWI
MinusMyX
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2020 12:26 pm

Re: Multiple multiplayer aircraft set up ( fly 2 planes )

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:09 pm

FG v3.4 is really old and EoL for a while, now... it was released five years ago on February 17, 2015... you really should, if your machine can handle it, update to the latest release... being able to set the ports should then work for you in the built-in launcher's additional settings box...

it probably should also be mentioned that you will need to run two FGs... one for each craft... how to install two FGs in separate directories on a mac is something i personally have no idea about...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6143
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Multiple multiplayer aircraft set up ( fly 2 planes )

Postby Necolatis » Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:16 pm

No need for 2 Flightgear.
Just start FG 2 times with these options, should work even in 3.4:

Aircraft 1:
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000
--multiplay=in,10,,5000
--callsign=KIWI-1

Aircraft 2:
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000
--multiplay=in,10,,5001
--callsign=KIWI-2
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2077
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Multiple multiplayer aircraft set up ( fly 2 planes )

Postby sidi762 » Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:46 pm

Necolatis wrote in Wed Mar 04, 2020 2:16 pm:No need for 2 Flightgear.
Just start FG 2 times with these options, should work even in 3.4:

Aircraft 1:
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000
--multiplay=in,10,,5000
--callsign=KIWI-1

Aircraft 2:
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000
--multiplay=in,10,,5001
--callsign=KIWI-2


I‘m afraid you can't start FG multiple times in macOS. The system only allows an app to have one running instance.

how to install two FGs in separate directories on a mac is something i personally have no idea about...


Just simply place the app to another dictionary should work. But I've only tried with different versions, I'm not sure if two same versions of FG would work.

Kind regards,
Sidi
sidi762
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:15 am
Location: Beijing, China
Callsign: DAG0762
Version: 2018.3.4
OS: MacOS Mojave

Re: Multiple multiplayer aircraft set up ( fly 2 planes )

Postby drR0ckso » Tue Mar 31, 2020 9:25 pm

Not specific to the mac, but as long as rxPort is different, it should work. I always set the control port to a unique number and then limited the frame rate to 15 for a less active or small window flight (e.g.: 320x240) locked on a auto-pilot route list.
I speak only for myself.
drR0ckso
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:14 am

Re: Multiple multiplayer aircraft set up ( fly 2 planes )

Postby Hooray » Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:54 pm

Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11603
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am


Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest