Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

MP not working can't connect to any server

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby vi3da » Wed Jan 15, 2020 8:23 am

hello,
i'm little more than a newbie and i would like to start with multiplayer.
But i cannot connect to any server.
I tried using the option in the launcher, the command string (see below) and the option in Multiplayer Setting.
No results in the three cases, the server is always "not connected".
Of course, my internet is fast enough and working, no firewall or proxy active.

Below a couple of screenshots

https://ibb.co/2sdmpCM
https://ibb.co/CvYS9mD

--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000 --multiplay=in,10,,5000 --callsign=V-207

I'm using Win10 e Flightgear V2019.1.1


any suggestion or help?
thank you
Vi3da
vi3da
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Win10

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:04 pm

you should not need the --multiplay options at all...

on your first screen shot, did you click the [Connect] button? that is generally needed, AFAIK...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby vi3da » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:32 pm

hi,
click on the [Connect] button (after selecting the server) and no other option/string/whatever.... was my first attempt.
And it still doesn't work.

I tried then all other possibilities, looking for some workaound...unsuccessfully



p.s. How many time takes the connection to be established normally?
vi3da
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Win10

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby wlbragg » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:48 pm

Did you try a different port number?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5084
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 8:22 pm

i don't use any --multiplayer at all... simply turn on the "connect to multiplayer network" in the settings tab of the launcher... once you turn on the setting, you can enter a proper callsign and select a server but it should choose a server closest to you... if not, you can still select one... then click the [Fly!] button...

once i'm in the sim, i check the multiplayer settings and it tells me i'm connected to the chosen server from the launcher... if that one is not working well for me, then i click the [Disconnect] button, select a different server and click [Connect]...

NOTE: the multiplayer protocol is using UDP so traffic packets are not guaranteed to make it from the server to your machine or visa versa... check the MP maps to see if you are showing up... if you are not, then try another server and or check on some other MP maps... since the protocol is UDP, the servers may also miss traffic packets between themselves... UDP is used to lesson traffic congestion... TCP would be better but it brings a host of other things to be solved that are not worried about with UDP...

also do not expect to see other craft on the MP network until you are within 100nm of them...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby vi3da » Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:31 am

hi,
in the meantime i randomly found that using rxPort=5004 it works!
I see now your suggestion, good catch!

thank you
Vi3da
vi3da
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Win10

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:32 pm

@vi3da: where are you located and who is your ISP? perhaps they are blocking the default MP port? there is one known ISP that does exactly that...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby vi3da » Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:59 am

i'm from Italy, Milan area. I tried with both H3G and Fastweb. Same behavior.
vi3da
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Win10

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby V12 » Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:27 am

Are You using Kaspersky AV software ? This thing is too paranoic and in default settings blocked my wifi printer with scaner.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1637
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby vi3da » Sun Jan 19, 2020 10:31 am

no, i'm not using Kaspersky AV
vi3da
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Win10

Re: MP not working can't connect to any server

Postby slawekmikula » Sun Jan 19, 2020 10:47 am

If may I suggest, you have to find it by trial and error what is happening on your machine. Most (if not everyone) has got no problem with Multiplayer.

Some tasks which I may suggest:
- check different multiplayer servers
- disable antivirus and check MP connection
- disable firewall (totally) and check MP connection
- use other internet provider (e.g. via your phone hotspot)
- use another user account on the machine
- use another machine in the same network as you

of course if you find the reason enable everything back (AV, firewall) and configure it to work.
slawekmikula
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 9:31 am


Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest