Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

Multiplayer etiquette and effects on others  Topic is solved

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Multiplayer etiquette and effects on others

Postby phineaspgage » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:59 pm

I am new to FG (running on Ubuntu 18.04) and use multiplayer mode for the enhanced experience of seeing other aircraft, etc. However, I do not fully understand how my flights effect others, and I would like to understand the appropriate etiquette for sharing the multiplayer space without undermining the quality of others' experience. Specifically, I'm interested to know how my aircraft behaves when I:

1. Press pause and step away from the controls - (Does my aircraft hover in the air until I un-pause, or does it disappear, etc.?)
2. Land, park, and log out - (by default I return to my point of origin the next time I log in, but I wonder if I've left a model of an aircraft in somebody else's parking space).
3. Accelerate time to get to the most interesting part of a long flight - (I still see other flights, but wonder if I'm flying at supersonic speed or removed from other simulations?)

I have only been successful flying the Diamond Twin star (a low wing turbo prop), which makes me a potential obstacle to jet aircraft as I utilize the longer runways of major airports to accommodate my limited landing skills. (Even though its a sim, I don't like to crash).