Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

I can't see the other player's model

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby AndersG » Sun Aug 27, 2017 5:17 am

Note that you have "Models/738.xml" in there so there is at least one broken aircraft out there. (Not to mention "OpenRadar", but I guess the developer decided that being shown as a yellow glider was good enough.)
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2414
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Aug 27, 2017 1:06 pm

@AndersG: yup... absolutely... i can also confirm that at least the 738 (aka 737-800) is broken like this... i chased one across china just a little while ago and then discovered one at EHAM so i flew over there real quick and that one was also a glider...

i've the 737NG directory from both FGAddon and FGMembers and both exhibit the same problem... when i look at the -set files, i find this...
Code: Select all
    <model>
      <path>Models/738.xml</path>                     
    </model>   

but that should be
Code: Select all
    <model>
      <path>Aircraft/737NG/Models/738.xml</path>                     
    </model>   

shouldn't it? if this is the case, then the 737-600, -700, -800 and -900 are all broken in this same manner...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4890
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby AndersG » Sun Aug 27, 2017 1:10 pm

Yes, if its directory is 737NG that fix is correct.
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2414
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Aug 27, 2017 1:36 pm

thanks, AndersG... i'll bring this up elsewhere and se if we can get it fixed... at least for these craft... i might be able to run a grep over all of FGAddon and see if there are any others but that might get rather hairy if there's a lot of "<path>" tags...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4890
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby bugman » Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:56 pm

If you have pcregrep installed on your system, I'd recommend using that. You can do multi-line grep with that command which has really helped me with searching through all of FGAddon.

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:23 pm

i'll take a look for pcregrep, @bugman... i hate trying to do multiline grep... this might be the trick i've been looking for...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4890
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby Bulldog 1 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:55 am

Guys, I don't understand so much of what did you just said, I haven't got the 737, and the problem i think doesn't comes from the 737, it's that i can't see the other planes when my plane isn't it, EXAMPLE ME: A-10 FRIEND: A-10 /I CAN SEE HIM/
ME:A-10 FRIEND: a320-Family (Wich i have downloaded of course) /I CAN'T SEE HIM
Training on the ground, to flight on the skies.
Road to be a pilot
User avatar
Bulldog 1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby AndersG » Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:25 am

What happens if you swap aircraft? Can your friend see your A-10?

It is possible that the a320-Family has the same problem as the 737NG, I have not looked in its files.
If you have the aircraft running you can check for yourself via the property browser (in the debug menu, IIRC): just look at the value in the /sim/model/path property. If it doesn't start with "Aircraft/..." it is very likely that this is the problem.
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2414
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 4:42 pm

the FGAddon "A320-family" uses the full path...

and yes, that's a lowercase 'f' in "family"... in other words, it may be called "A320-Family" but the actual directory is "A320-family"...

FWIW: here's the "<path>" tags in all of the FGAddon A320-family xml files...
Code: Select all
myuser@mymachine:~/flightgear-dev/fgaddon-ng/Aircraft/A320-family$ egrep -ir -e "\<path\>" *.xml

A318-111-set.xml:                       <path>Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A318-111.xml</path>
A318-111-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="0">../Models/Liveries/A318-BAW.png</texture-path>
A318-111-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="1">../../Models/Liveries/A318-BAW.png</texture-path>
A319-111-set.xml:                       <path>Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A319-111.xml</path>
A319-111-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="0">../Models/Liveries/A319-NWA.png</texture-path>
A319-111-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="1">../../Models/Liveries/A319-NWA.png</texture-path>
A319-131-set.xml:                       <path>Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A319-131.xml</path>
A319-131-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="0">../Models/Liveries/A319-BAW.png</texture-path>
A319-131-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="1">../../Models/Liveries/A319-BAW.png</texture-path>
A320-111-set.xml:                       <path>Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A320-111.xml</path>
A320-111-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="0">../Models/Liveries/A320-Blank.png</texture-path>
A320-111-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="1">../../Models/Liveries/A320-Blank.png</texture-path>
A320-211-set.xml:                       <path>Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A320-211.xml</path>
A320-211-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="0">../Models/A321-AWE.png</texture-path>
A320-211-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="1">../../Models/A321-AWE.png</texture-path>
A320-231-set.xml:                       <path>Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A320-231.xml</path>
A320-231-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="0">../Models/Liveries/A320-Blank.png</texture-path>
A320-231-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="1">../../Models/Liveries/A320-Blank.png</texture-path>
A320-copilot-set.xml:                   <path>Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A320-copilot.xml</path>
A320-copilot-set.xml:                   <path>Aircraft/A320-family/A320-sound.xml</path>
A320-main.xml:                          <path></path>
A320-main.xml:                          <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Systems/a320-autopilot.xml</path>
A320-main.xml:                          <path>Aircraft/Generic/generic-autopilot-helper.xml</path>
A320-main.xml:                          <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Systems/a320-autobrake.xml</path>
A320-main.xml:                          <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Systems/a320-spoilers.xml</path>
A320-main.xml:                  <path>Aircraft/A320-family/A320-sound.xml</path>
A320-main.xml:                  <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Systems/instrumentation.xml</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/jet.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/starter_loop.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/whine.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/exhaust_loop.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/starter_loop.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/jet.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/starter_loop.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/whine.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/exhaust_loop.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/starter_loop.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/starter_loop.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/gear.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/gear-lck.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>/Aircraft/A320-family/Sounds/touchdown.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Sounds/flaps.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/wind.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>/Aircraft/A320-family/Sounds/stall.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Sounds/flaps.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/exhaust_loop.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/exhaust_loop.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Sounds/cabinalert.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Sounds/cabinalert.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Sounds/cabinalert.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Aircraft/A320-family/Sounds/cabinalert.wav</path>
A320-sound.xml:        <path>Sounds/overspeed2.wav</path>
A321-211-set.xml:                       <path>Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A321.xml</path>
A321-211-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="0">../Models/A321-House.png</texture-path>
A321-211-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="1">../../Models/A321-House.png</texture-path>
A321-231-set.xml:                       <path>Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A321-231.xml</path>
A321-231-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="0">../Models/A321-House.png</texture-path>
A321-231-set.xml:                               <texture-path n="1">../../Models/A321-House.png</texture-path>

but i do note that two paths in A320-sound.xml have leading '/' and probably shouldn't...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4890
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby wojtek20124 » Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:43 pm

Do you have the same version of FlightGear? Or the same version of A320? I remember that developers are updating airplanes every day.... and your root directory of A320 should be named as "IDG-A32X"
wojtek20124
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 7:06 am
Callsign: KLM451
Version: 2017.2
OS: WindowsXP Windows8.1

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby it0uchpods » Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:09 pm

@wojtek20124
Hi
The A320 will alert you on startup if it is out of date.

If it is my A32X, is should be named "IDG-A32X", as stated, but the old one is called "A320-family"

Here is the easiest way to find out of someone is using mine, or not.

Our A32X models are named in this way: TYPE-REV-ENG

For example, A320-200-IAE
A320 is type
-200 is the revision
-IAE is the engine type

The old A320-family uses the exact specifier of the plane.

Kind Regards,
Josh
IDG
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: I can't see the other player's model

Postby V12 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:55 am

I had that problem too. Solved it with adding standard airceraft dir to the list of custom hangars in the settings. Nasty, but functional.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Previous

Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest