Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

What is this robot ATC?

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

What is this robot ATC?

Postby it0uchpods » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:33 pm

I load in at EHAM, and connect MP, and suddenly some stupid ATC starts talking for about 3 mins, with no way to shut him up. Why is this happening?

It happens in some other airports too.

Kind Regards,
Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:53 pm

do you have AI enabled? also check your sound settings in the F10 menu...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4895
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby it0uchpods » Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:56 pm

All disabled.
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 8:28 pm

does it happen all the time or only on MP, for example?
is it only ATC or is ATIS also spoken?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4895
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby daweed » Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:20 am

it0uchpods wrote in Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:33 pm:I load in at EHAM, and connect MP, and suddenly some stupid ATC starts talking for about 3 mins, with no way to shut him up. Why is this happening?

It happens in some other airports too.

Kind Regards,
Josh


What currently your "stupid ATC" are saying ?
Linux Mint 18.3
AMD FX 4300 Quad-Core Black Edition|20 Go RAMGeForce GTX 750 Ti
FG Interface
Lyon Saint Exupery Scenery
daweed
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:45 am
Location: LFKP LFLL
Callsign: daweed
OS: Windows 10 Familly

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby it0uchpods » Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:21 pm

I'll get a picture later today.

It appears as a msg on screen, and this new FGFS likes to read every message out for some weird reason (why on earth was this implemented?)

Kind Regards,
Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby rustemy » Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:50 pm

Voice synthesis gets reset to default "On" after every new version I load... I don't think much of it either.

<File>
<Sound Configuration>
Un-check <Use voice synthesis for tutorials and comms (requires restart)>
rustemy
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 1:15 pm
Version: PPA-Edge
OS: Xbuntu 17.04

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby it0uchpods » Mon Jul 10, 2017 3:09 pm

Will try it.

Thx
Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:36 pm

it0uchpods wrote in Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:21 pm:and this new FGFS likes to read every message out for some weird reason (why on earth was this implemented?)

it was actually re-enabled plus a few minor adjustments to try to space things out and give a short pause between them... it still needs work, yes but it has been there for a while...

as for turning it off, this is why i asked to check your sounds settings... i thought that would be pointer enough to the "Use voice synthesis for tutorials and comms) option... uncheck it, close the dialog, properly exit flightgear and reload... it should now come up disabled and you won't have that problem any more...

@rustemy: it sounds like you are closing flightgear without properly exiting it... don't use the 'X' in the corner... use F10->File->Exit or ESC all the way to the exit dialog and hit the enter or space bar to press the 'YES' option... or click on it... settings can't be saved if flightgear is just slammed shut without allowing it to properly close things out and shut down in a controlled fashion...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4895
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby it0uchpods » Mon Jul 10, 2017 8:37 pm

I didn't know that is what it meant.. Sorry for waste your time.

Kind Regards,
Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby rustemy » Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:54 am

@wkitty42

Sorry for the confusion but <Use voice synthesis for tutorials> seems to get reset to "On" each time I upgrade FlightGear. I actually do use the menu to shutdown FlightGear.
rustemy
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 1:15 pm
Version: PPA-Edge
OS: Xbuntu 17.04

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby it0uchpods » Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:08 am

If you do File --> Exit it *should* save... Make sure press Apply

Kind Regards,
Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:46 am

it0uchpods wrote in Mon Jul 10, 2017 8:37 pm:I didn't know that is what it meant.. Sorry for waste your time.

you didn't waste my time, josh :)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4895
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:04 pm

rustemy wrote in Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:54 am:<Use voice synthesis for tutorials> seems to get reset to "On" each time I upgrade FlightGear.

ahhh... i missed that part...

yes, there's a lot of settings that get reset when you upgrade from one flightgear version to another... actually, they're not "reset" but they are simply not carried over and you are seeing the defaults each time... this is because flightgear doesn't know about the previous installation and doesn't make any attempt to carry your settings forward from one version to another...

i see it every time the repo branches for a new version and we start a new dev cycle... what i've done to handle this is to add those items to my startup config so that they are forced to the setting i want each time i start flightgear... something like
Code: Select all
--prop:/sim/sound/voices/enabled=false
may do what you want... put it in your .fgfsrc, fgfsrc or command line... i do this for my sound card, screen shot directory and several other settings...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4895
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: What is this robot ATC?

Postby Hooray » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:03 pm

wkitty42 wrote in Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:04 pm:
rustemy wrote in Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:54 am:<Use voice synthesis for tutorials> seems to get reset to "On" each time I upgrade FlightGear.

ahhh... i missed that part...

yes, there's a lot of settings that get reset when you upgrade from one flightgear version to another... actually, they're not "reset" but they are simply not carried over and you are seeing the defaults each time... this is because flightgear doesn't know about the previous installation and doesn't make any attempt to carry your settings forward from one version to another...


Actually, there is no technical hurdle to save such settings separately and to pick those up during/after an "upgrade" - setting the "userarchive" attribute may be all you need depending on what you have in mind.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11263
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Next

Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests